We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing- lovely setting but not comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Meringa Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Meringa Springs
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Disappointing- lovely setting but not comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

This hotel is set in the Grampian mountains. Unfortunately when we went the National Park was closed. This necessitated driving an extra 2 hours to get to hotel as we could not drive across the park. When we finally arrived we were starving but were told lunch is not served and we would have to go to the local town. After some persuasion we were offered a plate of cheese and crackers - for $18. The rooms are very large and well designed with spectacular views across the park. However they felt cold and there were few soft touches to make one feel welcome. The pillows were so hard and uncomfortable that I ended up sleeping without one and then awoke the next day with a neck ache! Dinner in the evening was well prepared and the staff were helpful. However we left a day early, partly because of the closed park and partly because the bed and pillows were so uncomfortable that I could not take another night there! This hotel is expensive and I did not feel it was good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonTraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
61
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

Meringa Springs is amazing - almost! The setting is stunning, the rooms beautiful (if a little soul-less for my taste), and the staff generally pleasant. The peace and quiet is great, and the infinity pool a wonderful experience in the midst of such heat. And the variety of wildlife right outside your window is amazing. My only slight quibble is that meal service is S-L-O-W. I guess this is because they cook everything to order, but a 45 minute wait for dessert after a main course is a bit over the top. Also, breakfasts are slightly mean - nothing cooked was offered, and for the price you pay, I don't think that's too much to expect. Again, there were no 'freebies' in the room - no fruit, biscuits or chocolate, which would have just been a finishing touch that would have led to a 5 star rating for this place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarefootReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

My husband and I stayed here two nights and enjoyed every minute. Amazing views from our private balcony of the Grampian Mountains in the distance and scores of kangaroos in the nearby fields. Our dinner and breakfast was prepared by the owner/chef with very close attention to our personal preferences.
Our room was huge, large living area with fireplace, large comfortable bedroom with king sized bed. Huge bathroom, walk-in shower, whirlpool tub, separate toilet area.
The lodge has a small infinity pool in the common area off of the dining room. You have access to WiFi in the lobby/reception area. Meals prepared for guests only, not really an onsite restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

You'll love this place! Fantastic food, friendly people and amazing views of wildlife and the mountains. Perfect getaway place, and difficult to leave!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnJTravelnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

It's very rare that you find such a special establishment. Meringa Springs offers a truly unique stay consistent with the highest European standards. There is no surprise that each time we have stayed that other guests are international. Hosts are genuinely lovely people with an attention to detail that is sadly to often missing in other rural retreats throughout Australia. Meringa Springs is the closest accommodation you will find to a New Zealand Lodge but at a fraction of the price. The meals served are honest and delicious. Having travelled to many locations throughout the world Meringa Springs sets the benchmark for cleanliness. If you are clean freaks like us this is your kind of place. If only it was closer to Melbourne we'd stay far more frequently. Definitely for the discerning.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpfrontAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2007

We live in Melbourne and regularly have weekends away. I came across this place and sent it to my boyfriend as one of our must-go-to places (it was a bit expensive for us at that point!). I forgot it about until a couple of months later when my boyfriend surprised me with a night away here! I didn't know the destination until we arrived and was gobsmacked when we pulled into the drive. The place is just beautiful, and is situated in the most amazing location. A truly Australian, bush experience (without having to stay in the bush itself of course!).

We checked in and then someone took our bags for us to our lodge which was only a few metres from the main lodge, where the bar, restaurant and reception is. I could not get over the size and luxury of the place! The place is amazing! And one wall of the villa was completely glass, which covered the lounge and the bedroom. There was also a gorgeous deck where the only view was the Grampian mountains, a small lake and (although we didn't see them until sunset) loads of kangaroos bouncing around! There was a "bar area" with a small fridge and a small sink, loads of glasses, etc. The sound system was wired to every room in the villa, so we could listen to it in the shower! The bedroom was HUGE and as I say, one wall was purely glass so the views were just out of this world. There shower was massive and had two shower heads so was made for two people and there was, of course, a 2 person spa in the bathroom. All toiletries were luxury and there were lovely fluffy robes too, hairdryers.... Basically all the little things were thought of There was also a plasma TV and dvd player, not that we used it.

Later that evening (after a day of horse-riding organised by Meringa Springs).... my boyfriend proposed!! It was seriously the best day of my life and made all the better by the completely perfect surroundings we were in. The sun was setting, we had chilled champagne and kangaroos were everywhere. Perfect.

We then had a fantastic dinner in the restaurant (which you pre-order when you arrive). We got a nice cheer when we arrived (as my boyfriend had told them what he was doing!) and got some champers to celebrate. The staff were as helpful as could be without being annoying - top notch. Breakfast the next morning was fantastic as well. Loads of food and pretty much any type of cooked breakfast you could want.

We were VERY sad to have to leave and cannot wait to go again this year!! Cannot recommend it highly enough!!

  • Liked — The amazing location and the fact all the little things were thought of
  • Disliked — Having to leave it!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksneddon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wartook
11.8 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
12.0 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
10.3 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Asses Ears Wilderness Lodge
10.1 mi away
Marwood Villas
Marwood Villas
#8 of 42 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
11.4 mi away
DULC Cabins
DULC Cabins
#5 of 42 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meringa Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meringa Springs

Property: Meringa Springs
Address: 2974 Northern Grampians Rd | Wartook Valley, Wartook, Victoria 3401, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Wartook
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Wartook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meringa Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meringa Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing