We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Meringa Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meringa Springs
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We (family of 5 adults) only had two nights here during a 4 week trip which was a pity because this was more than a luxury hotel it was a 5 star experience . Paul and his family have created an exclusive house party atmosphere . The lodges had everything ;space, beautifully appointed , fantastic views. Dinner (cooked by Paul ) was perfect . They thoughtfully suggested an outing to mackenzie falls ,dropping off our vehicle in a car park and giving us a lift to the top so that we could enjoy the walk down . We all voted meringa springs the high spot of the holiday

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 74 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

The Widmers are doing a wonderful job: you see it in the bathroom where the floor of the shower is not slippery like most of them, but where there are small stones inlaid, and the beds are a dream. Paul said that he had been in so many hotels all around the world that he knew what was wrong and wanted to improve those issues at his lodge.The view of the roos in the afternoon and morning is so relaxing, their food is good home-cooked meals and all the three of them (Paul, Gail and Barbara) are such nice hosts.One of the best places we've been.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the most expensive chalet, it's def worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suesli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

If you are looking for a base to relax in deluxe facilities then this is it

We had a small luxury lodge. But I am not certain if the definition of small actually fits. It had everything and more.

The views from the veranda were superb and because of the grassy fields all the kangaroo's appeared at dusk and left at sunlight. But they were so fascinating to watch and just went on with their lives as long as you did not approach them.

J&D

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The best accommodation in our 6 week Australian adventure. We stayed in a villa, beautifully appointed with large sitting room and open fireplace, wet bar, bedroom with 2 queen beds, plus dressing area with plenty of storage ( although I would have liked a bit more hanging space)and bathroom with double shower, and jacuzzi bath. Best of all was the view from the floor to ceiling windows and patio doors over meadows where a mob of kangaroos came to graze at dusk and dawn, to the mountains. Lying in bed in the morning gazing at that was magical. Also had the same view from the infinity pool
Food was excellent, with 2 choices for each course, which we gave at breakfast.
Well placed for exploring the beautiful Grampians, and we were provided with maps and advice by the delightful owners. They also provide free wifi in the bar area
Wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have now been back to this delightful resort in winter and spring on several occasions. it is a best kept secret. sparklingly clean, comfortable, owners are friendly and go out of their way to make your experience restful and truly enjoyable. Everything there is tasteful, highest quality, beautifully designed and thoughtful, and designed to captivate the beautiful, inspiring vistas of the Grampians and facilitate an appreciate of the National Parks wildlife and bird life.

Room Tip: Villa unit was beautiful, with beautiful peaceful Grampians outlook. I have been back to stay there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Salli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We used the Grampians as a handy stop over between the Great Ocean Road and the Barossa valley- and I am so glad our agent suggested a 2 night stay. The scenery was stunning and there were lots of walks, waterfalls and lookout points- our only regret was that we could not explore the unsealed roads because of our hire car contract. Meringa Springs is a gorgeous boutique hotel- family owned and run. The rooms in the main building are very large and beautifully furnished and equipped- the bed was particularly comfortable and the room has full glass doors so we could sit and have our morning cup of tea with fresh air and a lovely view of a mob of Kangaroos.
There are also villas with a living room as well as a bedroom- but given how nice the main house rooms are I don't know if you need to pay the extra!
There is a beautiful infinity pool with sun loungers - water was fresh in May but swim able.
The restaurant was a highlight with all food prepared to order by mine host. Because this is a small hotel the choice was between 2 starters, 2 mains and 2 deserts rather than full a la carte .Great wine list and the food was very well presented.
Nothing was too much trouble for the owners- they were a mine of information on where to go,and lovely people to chat to over a glass or two after dinner!

Room Tip: All lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Parslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This is most perfect boutique luxury accommodation in the Grampians and if not the region. I was one of I believe only 2 people able to get married there and my 2009 wedding was amazing, with guests constantly commenting on it being such a stunning outlook.

I will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schmenz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meringa Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meringa Springs

Address: 2974 Northern Grampians Rd | Wartook Valley, Wartook, Victoria 3401, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Wartook
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Wartook
Price Range: $359 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meringa Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meringa Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing