We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice, Easy Hike” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pa'rus Trail

Pa'rus Trail
Certificate of Excellence
Utah
Level Contributor
129 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nice, Easy Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

This is perhaps the easiest of all the hikes in Zion - bikes and dogs are allowed. Please note that technically, this is the only trail in Zion that allows dogs! It's a very easy path from the Visitor's Center to the confluence of roads at the mouth of Zion Canyon, and there is a shuttle stop at the end, so no worries. There is also a spur trail if you want to go to the museum while walking this trail.

If you've got a party member with mobility issues, there should be no problem with taking them on this trail - it is paved.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    38
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice starter trail”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We drove out from Vegas and arrived to our hotel 5 min from Zion at 2:30. Headed over to Zion and took the shuttle to the trail start. It was a perfect introduction to the Park - all level, paved, beautiful views, saw a black & white king snake. It's a nice walk, not a "hike". Our 10 & 12 year old boys loved going into the water - there were HUGE boulders to play on. Could probably do in 1 hour but took us 2.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank KingMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Scenic and simple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Pa’rus is a great trail for a walk with the kids or leisurely stroll with the dog—it’s as easy as ambling through the neighborhood, only the brick houses of the suburbs don’t surround you, the giant towers of Zion do--unreal views in every direction.

But even if you’re a hardcore hiker, the Pa’rus can be a thrill. I certainly found it so. Perhaps this was because it was the first hike I took in Zion, as I got there late in the day and didn’t have much time to do anything else. However, turns out it’s just as great seeing Zion Canyon from the canyon floor as it is from the summits of the more popular trails. It’s a good introduction to the park. And you’ll have companions, too. Finches and a few woodpeckers hopped around the trees, and near a road crossing a mule deer buck appeared from behind the brush and stared me down.

There are better trails in Zion, sure, but not one step of the Pa’rus Trail is wasted time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
1,181 reviews
778 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,343 helpful votes
“The Watchman at Sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Pa’rus Trail is a paved trial about 1 ¾ mi (2.8 km) long, one-way, that follows the Virgin River from the South Campground to Canyon junction. Not only is this trial handicapped accessible, it is also the only trail in Zion that allows bikes and dogs. While this is not really our type of trail, it does offer wonderful views and photographic opportunities of the Watchman and the Virgin River at sunset from the Canyon Junction end of the trail. If you prefer the views and photography without hiking this busy, paved trail, Canyon Junction is accessible by car year-round; however, parking is very limited and I noticed tickets were being given to illegally parked cars so you may wish to take the shuttle which stops here as well. The best view and shooting location is from the edge of the vehicle bridge that crosses the Virgin River; be sure to look behind you in the other direction as a good view and shot of the sandstone walls lit with the warm colors of the setting sun often occurs as well. My high rating is due much more to this beautiful, iconic view of the Watchman from the end of the trail than the trail itself.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
167 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Best trail with a dog, but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We hiked this trail because we were taking a dog from the Best Friends Animal Sanctuary on an outing and this is one of the few trails in the surrounding national parks that allows dogs.

The trail leaves from the Visitor Center which is one of the shuttle stops, but if you're coming to the park with a dog you can't use the shuttle. You have to park at the Visitor Center parking lot which is a challenge during summer afternoons. Cars were lined up in aisles waiting for spaces to open. We were very lucky because a space opened up near us after only about 5 minutes of waiting.

It is a heavily used paved trail that has both walkers and bikers so it is not a peaceful stroll in the woods, but if you're looking for a walk with a dog it is a decent choice (your only choice). There are many access points that let you go down to the Virgin River to enjoy the cool shade and sound of the river which was greatly appreciated on the hot afternoon we were hiking.

The views along the trail are of course quite striking with the tall cliffs and there are plenty of little critters to keep a dog interested in exploring, but it is a bit disappointing to be on such a busy trail.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2snorkel61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pa'rus Trail also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Pa'rus Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing