We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Adventure with a big payoff”

Canyon Overlook Trail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This one-mile hiking trail starts just outside the east entrance to the Zion-Mt Carmel Tunnel, and leads to a dramatic observation point that provides impressive views of Zion's rugged landscape.
Santa Ana, California
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A little Adventure with a big payoff”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Parking roadside and taking this short excursion (about 2 miles round trip) will reward the adventurous with a beautiful westward view of Zion. The trail along the cliffside will elevate the heart rate of the acrophobic but going all the way to the end will reward you with a beautiful panorama, the stark blue of the Utah sky cut through with the rich reds of the canyon walls, highlighted by lush pockets of green vegetation make this a photographer's dream and perhaps THE best spot to take a group photo-you know, the one you'll use as your cover photo until next summer?

A wonderful hike, with a touch of adventure and the payoff of an incredible view and sense of scale. One of several highlights in Zion and should not be skipped.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jhstoneca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    101
    12
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“nice suprise”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

stopped en route out of zion thinking wed have a short easy walk (my goodness it was hot that day...) and a picnic. The most beautiful little spot with the most awesome view for a picnic

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel83_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
586 reviews
287 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“quick and easy”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is one of those little hikes you just do once a year while your passing through. I typically do this hike if I have little time and want to get out of the car.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Canyon Overlook Trail with Young Children”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I took our 3 and 4 year old on their first hike ever here on July 4, 2014, and we are so glad we did. We took 1.5 hours total, moving at the kids' pace and taking time to look around and explore. In addition, we spent some time listening to a Navajo family chanting prayers in a cave. There are rails and fences in all the right places, although much of the hike is along cliff sides with no railing, which requires parents with kids to hold hands and keep children near the inside wall while walking. The hardest part of the trail for the kids was the steep steps at the beginning. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GarrisonDoreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa, fl
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Still a great hike”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Did this trail 10 yrs ago and it was awesome back then and still is today. It's a very short and relatively easy trail to this overlook off the side of the main Zion canyon. The view is just remarkable and even on a busy day there is enough room to spread out and not feel crowded. One word of caution though, if the wind is blowing even a little you need to hold on to anything that could be picked up and blown over the railing (small kids included). The wind can really whip as it gets squeezed through the narrow walls and can pack a good punch and leave you with a face full of sand. Enjoy the view and take time to just sit and contemplate nature's artwork i front of you.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank chuckd21x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyon Overlook Trail also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Canyon Overlook Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing