We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quick little hike”

Canyon Overlook Trail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This one-mile hiking trail starts just outside the east entrance to the Zion-Mt Carmel Tunnel, and leads to a dramatic observation point that provides impressive views of Zion's rugged landscape.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great quick little hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Advertised as a one hour hike, the canyon overlook trail can be done in 20 minutes or less for the more fit person. Amazing at sunrise!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TJDowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    98
    12
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth the hot walk up hill (take water)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

On a hot day, with a lot of driving to do out of Zion NP, we contemplated not doing this walk even though people said it was great. But knowing we'd probably never visit again, we grabbed a water bottle each and headed up the steep roadside track.

The walk was worth it - the view at the top is amazing, and the scenery along the way is beautiful too. The drops aren't TOO sheer (except the one right at the end of course) but there is a freaky little wooden walkway that you have to walk on to go around a corner. For some reason this freaked me out more than the sloping stone parts of the walkway, but it is over and done with in about five seconds. And on the other side is a great surprise!

Also, we saw a hummingbird and a chipmunk. Yay!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireNZ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This isn't one of the main trails, and most people don't find out about it until they have been to Zion. It is right after the tunnel exiting Zion/ at the East Entrance. Really a great short hike (2mi?) that gives dramatic views at sunset and has plenty of exciting portions to keep kids entertained. (caves to duck into, rocks to scramble on, etc)
It does have a number of stairs - and some narrow/sheer drop areas. Recommend hiking shoes.
We didn't have time or desire for Angel's Landing - and this supposedly gives a better view and is the best place to see sunset. It was one of the best views we saw in Zion and it shouldn't be missed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank reenamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great stops and views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Loved this trail. It has a very cool over hang as well as many other beautiful views. I did it with my 66 yr old mother and once we were up the steep stairs, it was no problem. Just took the stairs slow (she also has asthma). Make sure you go to the end for a spectacular view into the canyon where you will see the winding rode you took the get there. Just be aware if you get nervous that there are spots with no railing that, although I never felt unsafe, could make some rather uncomfortable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank emiwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
315 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Don't overlook the east side of the park including this excellent trail!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Most visitors to Zion come in through the Spingdale side of the park and don't see the significant and unique differences through the tunnel and on the east side of the park. This is a unique and different area of the park and this trail (about a mile) isn't tough or long, but provides some stunning views. When you're done with the hikes and shuttle stops in the "main" part of the park, drive over to the east side and check this out. We saw pronghorn sheep and great overlooks on the valley and greatly enjoyed the diversity of this hike. Very worth making the extra effort to do it. The trailhead is on the east end of the tunnel, immediately after you exit it on the left.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyon Overlook Trail also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Canyon Overlook Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing