We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view at the end - worth the hike in !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canyon Overlook Trail

Canyon Overlook Trail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This one-mile hiking trail starts just outside the east entrance to the Zion-Mt Carmel Tunnel, and leads to a dramatic observation point that provides impressive views of Zion's rugged landscape.
SoCal
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great view at the end - worth the hike in !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Not a whole lot of up and down, but interesting trail with assorted views of canyons and rock formations. Best part is at the end with the stunning views. Took us about a half hour to get there. Bring a camera!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank monarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    93
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amesbury, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“See Zion Park!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We loved the entire park! The only caution is driving into the canyon on Rt. 9. My husband, who did the driving, and I were very nervous on the steep, narrow, winding road with treacherous drop offs and no guardrail. But once we were in, we were fine.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RBHodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice but Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I read reviews of people distraught they couldn't do this trail due to lack of parking. We managed to grab a spot that wasn't a true parking space to do this trail and while we enjoyed it we didn't find it or the view at the end as spectacular as expected. We had just been in Bryce Canyon and also visited Monument Valley, Grand Canyon and Yosemite on this trip so maybe this had something to do with it.

My advice is if there is a parking spot, stop and do the trail, if not don't fret. Just stop at one of the pull outs on the switchbacks on the other side of the tunnel and you'll still get a great view of the canyon.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwidreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great hike with stunning vistas! Look across the road for Bighorn Sheep. Not for those afraid of heights.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 767driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, Utah
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Breath Taking View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Not a better spot to view the lower portion of the wonders of Zion National Park. Parking can be a bit of a problem here at the East end of the Zion Tunnel, but more than well worth the effort.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SandFlogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyon Overlook Trail also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Canyon Overlook Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing