We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, pricey restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zion Mountain Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Riverside, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good hotel, pricey restaurant”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I love the hotel. They have bungalows which oversee the meadow with buffaloes roaming and all kinds of other animals. The older bungalows are actually better because they are on a hillside and you have miles of visibility. Hughes beds, clean place. The only complaint I have is that the restaurant is very pricey. They take advantage of the fact that there is nothing else around. The server for breakfast was very unfriendly and we actually walked out after waiting 30 min without being able to actually order something. There were only 3 other couples in that restaurant at that time.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Steffen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    285
    120
    62
    32
See reviews for
359
453
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were staying as a couple for 3 nights in Canyon Rim Cabin Suite. We booked this place just before we arrived (around several days before) for our Zion National Park experience, that is why it was kind of expensive price. But everything was perfect out there. This Canyon Rim Cabin is a kind of private place (we even spent some time to find it at night time!), with no any noises around and very fresh air - this two things that you really need to feel if you live in a big city, especially in Asia. Just amazing.
It was clean cabin with nice bathroom, bedroom and comfy big room with fireplace. It was enough towels for 3 nights so we did not asked to changed it. Staff was friendly and helpful. Restaurant is expensive but they really cook very good! In our home city such kind of restaurant will cost us much more. Steak and salads are just fantastic - all food is very fresh - that was what we need.
At the first morning we saw a family of antelopes (I'm not sure about exactly name of species) - they were just staying at our backyard for some time, we got this moment on our video. Small rabbit came to our place often, it was so nice to feel all this nature and to breath all this air.
When I read previous negative reviews I can say the only thing: do not expect resort, this is ranch, this is not actually resort. It's about nature and quite, there is no telephone inside. And yes, there is no Wi-fi in cabins, only around main lounge and restaurant. But we did not need internet in such quite place - so nice chance to switch off from our work! It's not about changing your towels every moment... If you need fresh towels, just ask staff to bring it in, they will do when they clean your cabin. By the way, they even clean your dishes, if you leave any...
For us it's not that hard to take care of ourself, so, we got what we expected, and even more. It was wonderful and adventurous experience for us!

Room Tip: If you want really quite and private cabin - choose canyon rim cabin suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The cabin we had was on the other side of the road. Although we could not see the mountains, the view of grazing bizon was amazing. The cabin itself had an enormous and comfortable bed, a sitting area, a fridge, shower and a jacuzzi. Unfortunately, we had no toaster so we could not toast our bread.
The steakhouse looked very nice from the inside; Ranch style. We liked the food, especially the buffalo filet. It is indeed a bit pricey, but worthwhile. The site is situated a couple of miles from the east entrence of Zion NP and 13 miles from Springdale. If you want more activity, i recommend you to find a hotel in Sprindale. If you want to stay somewhere quiet, then Zion Mountain Ranch is the place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LetschertB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Not sure why there are bad reviews. The staff was very friendly. The restaurant was excellent! The cabins were rustic on the outside yet very nicely appointed on the inside. We stayed only one night because of the govt. shutdown. We had a great stay!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you want to be on the East End of Zion (closer to Bryce, Vermillion Cliffs, and Kanab) this is a great location. Very good restaurant. Comfortable Cabin Suites, although there is no Internet access (and minimal cell reception) at this property. Kitchenette is pushing it; bring a camp stove, and make sure to confirm the refrigerator doesn't freeze everything you have solid. TV is limited to what is available over the air waves. But that's not why you are in Zion, right? Views are great, staff is uniformly friendly and helpful, and it is nice to be on a working ranch.

Room Tip: Booked the Canyon Rim Suite for a really comfortable and beautiful experience. Don't know about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maximumvaluegroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We came here after travelling to Utah for a funeral, so we were looking for somewhere to relax before returning to the UK. I booked to stay in meadow view, which was advertised as having a view of the buffalo. what we actually got was a view of a small meadow then the main road into Zion's national park then some horse fields before we you could see the buffalo. The accommodation itself was acceptable though not worth the money we paid.

We then ate in the restuarant. Which I highly recommend is avoided like the plague. It cost a small fortune and the food was mediocre at best. I had a bottle of red wine from cedar creek which was full of sediment. When I complained I was told that the wine from Cedar creek is always full of sediment. I couldn't be bothered to argue.

Also our daughter went horse riding for which the applied a tax charge (We discovered that Utah Law regarding a service that you pay for is supposed to have tax included in the price) So we felt that adding tax to this was a complete rip off.

I would never stay here again and I would NOT recommend anyone else doing so

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!!! There is a small town before the road into Zion's stay there!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The cottage we stayed in has the basics in place - great location near the buffalo preserve, view of Zion, and solid structure. What was missing was some of the details like: clean windows to see the view, blinds that worked, clean interior log walls, and a working hot tub. The kitchen had a dirty hotplate and dirty pan with a fly swatter on the counter near the toaster. It needs some sprucing up for sure. FYI - there is also some room for negotiating price if they have open rooms.

Room Tip: Choose one right next to the buffalo preserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion National Park
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
11.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
8.6 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,856 reviews
11.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
10.9 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Mountain Ranch

Property: Zion Mountain Ranch
Address: 9065 East Highway 9, Zion National Park, UT
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Zion National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Zion Mountain Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TravelClick so you can book your Zion Mountain Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Mountain Ranch Hotel Zion National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing