We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zion Mountain Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Pros- The cabin we had #159 was right next to the fence and enjoyed seeing the Bison 20 feet away. Nice Cabin, very clean, modern. Good TV and decent Wi-Fi. Very close to the west entrance to Zion, but you have to travel thru the tunnel to get to the tourist area. The nightly campfire was nice and got to meet some of the other quests and swap stories.
Cons- Not communication with the lodge (no phones in cabin and bad AT&T cell service). Restaurant a little pricey. Three nights and we didn't once get maid service before we returned at the end of the day(around 5pm). Had to find cleaning person to exchange out towels.

Room Tip: Ask for one near the eastern fence if you want a Bison experience. If you have heavy luggage, some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerrypag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    279
    118
    60
    32
See reviews for
346
452
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here on our visit to Bryce/Zion. If you are only doing 1 day at Bryce, I would stay here, as it it 1 1/2 hours from Bryce. If you are visiting 2 days, stay closer to Bryce. Not the best spot for Zion, as you have to drive all thru the park each day to get to the shuttle; I recommend Cable Mountain Ranch for that. But this place is peaceful and very very relaxing, wonderful after a day of hiking. They light a campfire each night which is great for meeting other guests and getting tips on what to do in the area. Restaurant staff was great for that also. Ask for a cabin right along the fence line. Very fun to see the buffalo. Cabin was cute, not really good for preparing meals though. We used their laundry facilities at the campgrounds and it was clean and efficient. Close to the Pink Sandunes, those were worth the visit. Restaurant good for breakfast, a bit pricey for dinner, but not much else around.

Room Tip: Ask for one right along the fenceline. We were in 152 and this was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingmomhhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

So we booked a romantic getaway all inclusive package in March. For three nights and the cheapest cabin, it should have been $345. We paid our "Deposit" which should have been one night at $115 but we were charged the full $315 (with military discount). Oops, is what they said. So we check in, and are given a business card with $300 written on the back. They told us to use this for dinner, that for our 3 night stay we get a $100 food credit to use at the restaurant. So the first two nights the waiter charged our bill to our room. The third night, when handed the business card, the waitress just deducted the dinner amt from the $300 and gave us the card back. Upon check out, we asked why we were charged another $325. Gene, the manager, assured us that this is a booking issue and to give it a few days, and all should be cleared up and we would not be charged for that. And Gene also commented on how they messed up initially in the booking and charged us the full amount for the deposit.

About 1 week later, my husband had already deployed to the Middle East. Our money was not returned. I called ZMR and was pretty much told by a rude lady that I didn't know what I was talking about and that the package total was over $600. I asked for her to have Gene call me. I called at least 2 more times and no response from Gene or any other employee.

So I went to my bank and filed a dispute against ZMR. This was in the beginning/middle of April. We just now got a response via the bank from ZMR trying to dispute our claim.

The funny part.....you go to their website and in plain English.....it states our claim to the package.

What a horrible post-vacation experience. And as mentioned before...the accommodations are shabby and not worth the cost. The food was good, but way over priced. Their prices are comparable to Park City, UT prices (where we live) and if we had not had the food credit, we would not have eaten there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcskigirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Zion Mountain Ranch looks fantastic and a great use of over $200 a night from the website. However, upon arrival, my husband and I realized that the accommodations and amenities were only average. To help you make a decision, here's our feedback on the buffalo view 1 bedroom suite:

1) Accommodations: Very nice bed, comfortable. The kitchenette was average at best, with a micro fridge, microwave, toaster and coffee maker. Missing was some way to use the pots/pans that were provided with the room (very strange). The living room was great - very nice for spending evenings. The deck needed a new coat of paint/sanding - my husband got several splinters the first night we were there that we then had to figure out how to remove so we could go hiking the next day :(

2) Cleanliness/Housekeeping: The bathroom was clean enough, but the inside bowl of the toilet had residue (probably hard water stains) that didn't look like removal had been attempted. We stayed for 4 nights and, while the towels and bedding were changed when requested, it didn't appear as though the sink was cleaned once (not a big deal but kind of surprising).

3) Views: Fantastic views of the stars, buffalo herd, and the plateau east of ZNP (cabins are ~ 3 miles away though from the park entrance itself).

4) Activities: the campfire that is advertised on the website is nice, but s'mores are not included. In order to partake of this, you have to go buy a whole bag of marshmallows, a whole box of graham crackers, and a big chocolate bar. For any group less than 5 or so staying for multiple nights, this is a complete rip-off. At over 200 dollars a night, you'd think they could provide this for free to guests.

5) Connectivity to the world: The wi-fi is almost non-existent, going up and down every 3-5 minutes. The TVs turned on in our room, but the cable didn't work at all, not a single channel. We only wanted to watch TV one night after being super tired/sore from hiking the Narrows, and were super disappointed to find out the cable didn't work. Luckily our AT&T iPhones had 1 bar in case we needed to look something up in a pinch.

6) Closeness to local activities/restaurants: There really is nothing out here except the two restaurants run by the ranch. We packed breakfast/lunch from home which helped, but we did dinner in Springdale nightly, just on the edge of the other entrance to the park, ~ 30 minutes away from the Ranch via Route 9.

7) Staff: Staff were friendly at check-in and check-out. No issues there!

Overall: This place had great views but some quirks with the accommodations and benefits, as described above. If we had it to do over, given we spent so much time in Springdale and found the town to be quite delightful, we'd stay on that side of the park. The hotel rates are similar but the money we spent on gas driving back/forth would have made up the difference. There are several options in Springdale that we didn't know existed before traveling, even chains such as La Quinta and Hampton Inn, as well as >10 bed and breakfasts. Do some careful research from making a decision for your travel.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the road (e.g., not the meadow view cabins across the street from the regist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicinmybrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a lovely cabin-based ranch overlooking a buffalo ranch. Cabins are new, clean, gorgeous. Bathrooms modern with a huge jetted tub. Lovely porches with a swing to watch the stars at night. Restaurant is good, excellent beef and bison. The entertainment was watching the horses, ponies, buffalo, herding dogs, and lone cow through the large windows. Only thing missing was a pool- that would have been a nice addition in this hot climate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here last year with our kids and I never wrote a review at the time but a friend of mine just asked me for a recommendation at Zion and I highly recommended Zion Mountain Ranch. I saw some great reviews here and a few bad ones and I thought I should share our experience. We checked in around 6pm. They sent us to a single room cabin with two huge beds. It was the room we had booked and was true to the photos we had seen ahead of time but there was a problem. It smelled terrible. I have a feeling something happened with the pipes. Regardless, we told them that the room smelled badly and they went right into action on getting us into a new room so we could be comfortable for the night. We were quickly moved to a two story, two bedroom, 2 full bathroom house with a living room and full kitchen. It was lovely and so comfortable. If I had known how nice these big cabins were, I would have splurged in the first place. When we woke up the next morning, we sat on the big balcony and enjoyed the beautiful view with acres of wilderness. It was truly a treat. I felt like they had terrific service and they made us feel welcome. I would definitely recommend this place and if it's in your budget, go for the house :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jb1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed three nights with small children and had a fabulous time. The cabins were wonderful. The food in the restaurant was excellent. The horseback rides were really great. Their wrangler - Joan - is a treasure. She took us on some unforgettable rides, accompanied by historic stories, sitings...full of amazing local information and views. The buffalo vistas are outstanding, and the kids loved the small domestic animals. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion National Park
8.6 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
1,947 reviews
11.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
11.0 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,839 reviews
10.9 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Mountain Ranch

Property: Zion Mountain Ranch
Address: 9065 East Highway 9, Zion National Park, UT
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Zion National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Zion Mountain Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick and Priceline so you can book your Zion Mountain Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Mountain Ranch Hotel Zion National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing