We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little House on the Prairie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zion Mountain Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Little House on the Prairie”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

After driving through Monument Valley and across Arizona, I arrived at Zion Mountain Ranch exhausted from the long drive. I had no idea that such a picturesque and comfortable log cabin was waiting for me. The location could not be better. In addition to Zion and Bryce national parks, there are other memorable sites nearby such as the Coral Pink Sand Dunes. It is hard to understand why some reviewers wrote negative comments. They could not have stayed at the same place! Their restaurant is a must. Fine dining, warm ambience, and a picture-perfect view. Pictures uploaded here--taken with my iPhone--almost tempt me to pretend to be a professional photographer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victorinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    279
    119
    61
    32
See reviews for
348
452
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This "ranch" is comprised of small cabins, poorly furnished without any outstanding views. In fact, the Ranch is a few miles east of Zion not convenient to restaurants or shops in Springdale on the other side of the park. They have a buffalo herd which is an attraction. But, you can stop along the highway (that runs through the Ranch) and see all the buffalo you want for free. It would be easy to confuse the Ranch with the Lodge in the Park due to similar names. They are not the same or even simklar. If we go back we will stay in Springdale, a cute town with lots of restaurants, shops, galleries and places to stay.

Room Tip: If you stay at the ZMR, ask for a cabin away from the highway with a view of the prairie where the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stillwater_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a Champagne King Cabin. the friendly staff at the front desk was welcoming and knowledgeable when asked questions. The room was marvelous. It featured a king bed, bubbling claw-foot tub, stone and tile dual head shower, small gas fireplace, patio, refrigerator, microwave and dining table. The cabin set 10 feet from the fence that marked the Bison Preserve area. We saw the bison heard every day and beautiful sky full of stars every night. This was an incredibly relaxing location. Also the Bison Grill restaurant is a gem in the wilderness with some amazing menu choices as well as a respectable beer and wine list (no hard liquor).
The entire experience could have been made better by 2 things, no television in the room. That's not why I came here and found its very presence distracting, and a shuttle bus to run into the park. The drive through the park to the Visitors Center can be trying, especially mid day on a weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room bordering directly on the preserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvnota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afrikanmusikana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at Zion Mountain Ranch for 3 nights recently and had a wonderful experience. We had a double king room, which was very comfortable for 4 adults, and had a little fridge, microwave, coffee maker and fireplace. There is also a TV in the room, although we hardly used this. The room has a little patio and looks out the main store/restaurant and a small portion of the Bison preserve. If you are used to internet, be warned that this is not a provision here. We had some internet in our cabin, number 177, however it was not very good signal and did cut in and out. Closer to the main store and restaurant internet was slightly better, but again you had to be in that vicinity to use it. We did not mind too much, but just a heads up for those of you that may need it.

The restaurant on site is now the Buffalo Grill, but used to be Chez Bison. We had dinner here and it was fantastic. The waiter told us they try to use something from their garden in every meal. We started out with the shishito peppers, garlic shrimp, beet salad and a sunchoke soup. For main meals we had the Buffalo filet and trout, and everything was delicious. Dessert was a creme brulee and a fruit plate with berries and rambutan! While eating dinner, the sun was setting, and the bison were coming in to feed, which was a lovely sight! To end the great night we were able to sit out and enjoy the bonfire, and the store does have provisions for smores if that's something you like.

After a great dinner we decided to try the breakfast buffet the next day (runs from 7am-11am), which is $12/person. However when we got the bill we realized tea, coffee and orange juice was not included as part of the buffet, but this was not mentioned to us by the waitress. It would have been nice to know ahead of time. Most breakfast buffets we have been to always include at least coffee and orange juice as part of it. The food was average, they had cereals, 2 yogurts, granola and a fruit plate. For hot items there were pancakes, french toast, eggs, biscuit, sausage, bacon and gravy. When we got there (~9am), the yogurts had run out, the fruit needed to be replenished, as did some of the hot items, but there was only one person who seemed to be attending to the guests and taking care of re-filling the buffet, so we ended up waiting a while for this.

They have horseback riding on site, unfortunately we did not get time to do this!

All in all our stay was great and I would definitely recommend staying here. Also just to keep in mind, the ranch is on the East side of Zion National Park, so dining options are somewhat limited on this side, but on the South side near Springdale (~30-35 minutes from the lodge) there are several great places to eat! We did try Thunderbird Cafe about 10 minutes from the lodge, and the food was decent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afrikanmusikana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

What an amazing place to stay! Not only are the grounds spectacular, the rooms superb, the food delicious...the staff who run the Zion Mountain Ranch are some of the most kind and gracious people I have met while traveling! From the moment we set foot on the property I knew we chose the perfect place to stay for our trip to Zion.

We arrived at around dinner time and as we were checking in the front desk told us that there would be a campfire later that night. How great is that! We were able to meet some of the other guests who were staying there and were able to share experiences and advice on where to go and what to see while in Zion. Completely unexpected.

Dinner at Chez Bison was delicious. I was very excited to try the Bison that night and I was not disappointed! The beet salad was great too, along with the brownie and vanilla bean ice cream for dessert. In fact all of the meals are great there. In the morning for breakfast they have a buffet spread with everything you could want to have for breakfast and the lunch menu is very good too!

We stayed in a Buffalo Vista Cabin with 2 king beds which were so very comfortable. I slept great and it was really quiet at night given that you are staying in a free standing cabin. The cabin had a porch swing overlooking the Buffalo Reserve and Zion National Park. Simply breathtaking.

Let's put it this way...we weren't even home yet from our vacation and I was already planning my next trip back. See you soon Zion Mountain Ranch! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife reserved a Buffalo Vista Honeymoon Suite as a surprise for my birthday. Unfortunately, the surprise wasn't one of joy after spending a night in this overpriced time-worn sloppily managed facility. Both of us envisioned some degree of sophistication based on the professional photos and embellished descriptions of the resort. We were sorely disappointed. In fact,my wife woke up crying knowing she wasted almost three days' pay to vacation here.
I travel a lot and don't mind overlooking minor aesthetic deficiencies in lodging, but when you pay over $200 a night, you don't expect 1) the hot tub to not fill up with enough hot water to even sit in, due to an undersized water heater, 2) clay-like debris to stream from the hot tub jets, 3) loose nails in the outdoor deck, 4) light fixtures with no covers 5) broken window screens, 6) a broken TV remote control, 7) broken door handles on both exterior doors, 8) the constant noise of plastic blowing in the wind from underneath the deck and 9) overall poor grounds maintenance around the cabin (parking barriers falling over, no landscaping, and loose chickens coming into the cabin seeking food).
Oh, it gets even worse: We were told to make reservations at the resort's restaurant, which we did for 7:30 pm. Upon arrival we were told a large party had come in and that service was behind. We said it was OK, and would just have some drinks until they were ready. They could not accommodate us so we left and came back at 8:00 pm. We asked the hostess for a window table but she declined saying it was for a party of five. She sat us next to a door that was blowing open and closed from the wind and promptly sat a party of two at the table we asked for. By 8:20 pm we had been staring reluctantly at the menu with $42 steaks and $30 bottles of bottom shelf wine, and still hadn't even been given water. So we walked out and drove to a pizzeria west of the lodge for dinner. Ironically, the owner of ZMR also owns this place and found out about our awful restaurant experience and kindly paid for our pizza.
The front desk personnel are on par with postal service workers - aloof, indifferent, and uncaring. We brought up the hot tub situation with them and they said just to wait until there was more hot water. On checkout, neither of the staff asked how our stay was. My wife expressed her disappointment and the young woman replied "OK." This was about the time I was ready to have her call the owner, but I felt this review would be more appropriate.
I generally like to say something nice about any place I stay so here goes: The housekeeper was courteous and smiled, which could be a lesson to the remainder of the staff.
A final note: The name is a misnomer - although it is a ranch, it is about 5 miles east of Zion's boundaries on a windy plain where silhouettes of Zion's mountains can be seen in the distance, but don't expect to see any red rock.

Room Tip: Don't expect to enjoy the hot tub in cabin 176 unless you can bring your own hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xorreaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had the best time! We arrived at the ranch and within minutes were enjoying the sweeping vistas and buffalo herd, right outside our cabins. The kids had a blast! The beds were comfortable and there is a fireplace inside the room, which thanks to great spring weather, we only needed for ambiance. The ranch is super close to Zion National Park. The evening campfires were a hit with everyone; just watch out for the very friendly shetland ponies, they will try to eat your s'mores! Wish we had had enough time to take a horseback ride, definitely a must do for next time. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Every cabin is great!! You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank All60fUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion National Park
8.6 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
1,948 reviews
11.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
11.0 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,840 reviews
10.9 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Mountain Ranch

Property: Zion Mountain Ranch
Address: 9065 East Highway 9, Zion National Park, UT
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Zion National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Zion Mountain Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TravelClick, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Zion Mountain Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Mountain Ranch Hotel Zion National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing