We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appearances can be Deceiving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zion Mountain Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Kind of hard to pin this place down. Rented a family cabin. Looked pretty from the outside but after staying there for two days noted very shoddy craftsmanship throughout the whole cabin. Floors not level, had air conditioning that froze us out in the upstairs bathroom, handle falling off shower, etc.. Checked and noticed many of the air vents painted closed downstairs except for the one on the stairs that blasted anyone sitting at the dining room table with full force. Not convenient for eating. Restaurant wanted reservations even though it was never full. Expensive menu. Ate at the pizza place down the road or drove to the junction. TV reception was terrible. Cell phone service even worse if at all. Not many options available on this side of Zion. So beware of the ZMR. Not cheap either.

Room Tip: Many more options on the other side of Zion National Park.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Native_Hoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,028)
There are newer reviews for Zion Mountain Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 1,028 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed in a champagne suite with the best view of the open field and the buffalo (158). The cabin had an amazing bed, and jacuzzi tub. Very nicely furnished. It is about a 15 minute drive to the visitors center from the ranch, but the drive does have amazing views of the park. If you want to be as close to the actual shuttles in zion as possible then I would suggest you stay in springfeild instead, but this wasnt a problem for us. Staff was very friendly and restaurant on premice was amazing. It is slightly rustic but extremely enjoyable, highly reccomended

Room Tip: cabin 158 was right against the field which the best views of the buffalo
Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Elena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in cabins that are really relaxing and are much better than staying in the middle of the crowds in Zion at their lodge. They have a very good restaurant that serves some of the buffalo that they grow on the ranch, and while the service is slow, it's a place to relax and enjoy the area. It's on the east side of Zion and only about an hour from Bryce, so you can stay here and see both places.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaTraveler7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Zion Mountain Ranch is located approximately 1/2 hour drive east from the town of Springdale on 6000 acres, with a herd of 50 buffalo (we asked when we took our horseback riding trip. thank you cowboy Sid). We have stayed in Springdale at least 6 times in the past. This time, we decided to stay on this side of the park and absolutely loved our experience. We had a Meadow View (2 king beds) cabin. These cabins are located across the highway from the registration building, restaurant, horse corral and other cabins. Our cabin was adequate, one large room for my husband and son (15 years old) with a beautiful view of the ranch and surrounding hills/mountains. The cabin is not fancy, but clean (we had a few spiders) and a nice porch with swing that we could sit outside and enjoy the view. There is a small gas fireplace along with microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. There are other cabins on the ranch, with different views, sizes and rates. We drove through the loop where these cabins are located, and depending on cost, we may try a different cabin type next time. However, the views are not as nice and expansive as the meadow view cabins (except for maybe a few). The east side of the park is very different than staying in Springdale. Springdale has a line of hotel and restaurants and more people but you are in the heart of the Beautiful Zion scenery. On the east side of the park, at ZMR, we felt like we were really "away" from everything. We could see a million stars and the milky way at night, beautiful morning sunrises and evening sunsets.We were able to sit by the fire that they make every night (outside the registration building). We felt like this was a true Western experience versus being with the hoards of other tourists. We did not eat in the restaurant, as it was a little pricey for us. We brought our own food, and had a nice dinner in our room overlooking the whole ranch with the sun going down..We drank our morning coffee and ate our breakfast outside on our cabin's porch..We didn't use their wifi as I have internet on my phone and we had no problems getting TV stations during our visit. The pros to this property: Expansive Beautiful views, great Western experience, quiet, clean accomodations, horseback riding on property with beautiful and well taken care of horses, buffalo herd and other animals, gourmet restaurant offerings, large ranch setting, laid back experience. The cons: Meadow view cabins about 200 yards from the road (can hear some traffic), 1/2 drive (but beautiful) if you want to get back into Springdale, not many activities for those who are used to having lots of things to do; would be nice if each cabin had its own fire ring to make your own fire (but know there are dangers with that!!)

Room Tip: Ask whether the cabin has a view and what type of view. Some of the cabins we saw overlooked the roo...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed at ZMR during a recent trip to visit Zion and Bryce. It's a great location at the east entrance to Zion, with buffalo preserve nearby, and a very comfortable spot to return to after a long day of park visiting/hiking. We stocked up on food items in Springdale (by other Zion Park entrance) and used the fridge/microwave in the rom for breakfasts and dinners. Service was good, though a bit casual at times. We did have an issue with the jetted tub in our cabin not working, which was a disappointment, but they did credit us (charged for a lower-rate room) at the end of our stay. Buffalo Grill/Chez Bison was excellent, though perhaps a bit pricey - but the best (and possibly only) fine dining option in the area. All in all, a convenient and relaxing location that afforded great access to both parks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

From check-in to check-out, our service was excellent. The staff was very attentative to our needs, park info , guest services, or local attractions, no matter, they were extremely helpful. The restaurant had a creative menu and all that we tried was great. We took an evening horseback ride and riding where the buffalo roam as the sun set was quite special. The cabin was clean and the bedrooms and bathrooms exceeded expectations. We'll be back !

Room Tip: It's a great way to see Zion and Bryce without all the crowds.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreyPony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great place to stay outside of Zion. We had a 2 bedroom cabin that was very clean. The beds were very comfortable although the futon in the living room was not! There was a nice back and front porch although not enough seating. When I inquired about laundry facilities I was told there was a washer and dryer - there was not, and the front desk's reply was that person no longer works there! The kitchen was workable, allow needed more glassware.
Would I stay there again? Definitely!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion National Park
11.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
8.6 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#4 of 16 in Springdale
1,926 reviews
11.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
10.9 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Mountain Ranch

Address: 9065 East Highway 9, Zion National Park, UT
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Zion National Park
Price Range: $137 - $665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zion Mountain Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Zion Mountain Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Mountain Ranch Hotel Zion National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing