We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great hike” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Canyon

Hidden Canyon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A narrow side ravine that joins Zion Canyon and offers scenic hiking trails.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“great hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

did this as an aside after observation point, so didnt go too far, but you could explore for miles and miles. the chained route up is not for the faint hearted, but views are awesome

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travel83_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    50
    9
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sandy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Don't recommend if you just got done doing observation point. Lots of sand and never ending slippery rocks. You won't miss it

Helpful?
2 Thank totterd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Totally pleasant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Cool off with the drops of water that weep from the rocks! The view is great too! It's an uphill climb the whole way up... Just go slow and enjoy!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
158 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Excellent fun hike with great views and a natural arch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Zion is one of the most beautiful national parks we've ever been too, coming in 2nd to Yosemite.
We had around a full day and a half in the park and wanted to see as much as possible.
We did the Canyon overlook trail, Emerald pools lower, middle and upper trails, weeping rock, Riverside walk trail and our final one was Hidden canyon.
If we ever visit again we will make sure to be ready and prepared and have enough time for the Narrows and Angels landing.
Out of all the trails we did Hidden Canyon was our favorite.
If you have to take the shuttle stop at the Weeping rock stop, you'll see the signs for hidden canyon along with a few others.
The trail is 2.2 miles round trip but add maybe an extra mile round trip if you scramble the canyon to the arch.
It was uphill switchbacks pretty much the whole way, but with beautiful views of Angels landing
Once you get closer to the canyon you have a few areas with chains, but it is nothing too scary and I'm not really good with heights.
Then once you reach the canyon you have the choice of going on or turning back, I would say go on and see the natural arch, there is a little bit of scrambling required but that adds to the fun.
The arch is very pretty and there are some other great things to see going into the canyon.
The trip down is going to be easier and faster just because it's downhill the whole way.
This is a definitely must do hike for Zion, do not miss it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Jade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
166 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

If you (like us) can't get to observation point, this is a good compromise. It's a workout not impossible, lots of good views. Clamber over the rock at the entrance to the " hidden canyon" for a short walk through a narrow canyon. (not really a slot canyon since there's no river in it) .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank allisonodenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hidden Canyon also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Hidden Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing