We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Horse and Hiking Trail”
Review of Kolob Canyons

Kolob Canyons
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Scenic canyons located on the northwest section of Zion offer scenic overlooks onto natural arches, waterfalls, and the myriad colors of this popular National Park.
St. George, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Horse and Hiking Trail”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

The Lee's Pass trail is awesome for horse riding or for hiking. The trail is well marked and well structured and will handle both hikers and horses. With a horse, you can ride all the way to Hop Valley (my personal favorite place to ride in the world!) or you can just go up the canyon and enjoy LaVerkin creek and go to the Kolob Arch (a MUST). You never know what wildlife you will see. Make sure you head out early in the morning from May through September because it does get HOT in the canyon, and bring plenty of water and snacks. There is the natural water supply for horses, the creek. For parking with a rig, go past the trail head to where the road opens up more and turn around and park up there, a bit past the trail head. There is plenty of room for several rigs. Remember the 12 heart-beat rule and make sure you pack OUT what you pack IN!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    120
    14
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“3 day 2 night hike to Kolob Arch and Beartrap Falls-awesome”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

A lot of reviews here seem to come from people in their cars which is an odd way to review a Canyon, but to each their own. A group of 3 of us hiked in at Lee Pass and spent 2 nights camping along the La Verkin Creek Trail at designated campsites. The sights we hiked to off the main trail were just phenomenal--the Kolob Arch and Beartrap Falls. We are used to strenuous multi day hikes so this isn't for everyone but if you're looking for a challenge I cannot recommend it enough. You avoid the crowds of the main canyon in Zion and the campsites are clean and comfortable with views you can't beat. Again, not for everybody, but a day hike to the Kolob Arch is doable for most hikers---go for it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank scarymary73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rattle snake and Bambi!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This was our first hike of the trip and we saw a rattle snake on our way in, and a deer and its baby on the way out! A lovely hike (Taylor Creek Fork) crossing and re-crossing the creek multiple times, passing some charming old cabins and ending up in a beautiful double arch. Uncrowded and peaceful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsDon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“May not be worth going out of way”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We drove through this northwest area of Zion on our way headed south, before entering from the west. We were in a bit of a hurry so just did the relatively short drive from that visitor's center. Can't comment on hiking there, scenery was pretty, but I think the main canyon and entry from the east part of the park is more scenic.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LMom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debary, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great views!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We went there to do some hiking and look for birds. Saw a few birds, but the hike was great also.Very hot there in August, take plenty of water.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kolob Canyons also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Kolob Canyons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing