We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool drive”

Zion-Mt. Carmel Tunnel
Book In Advance
More Info
$699.50*
and up
Zion National Park Flight and Ground Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A spectacular entry into Zion National Park that consists of a 1.1-mile long tunnel and a highway that slowly winds down from a high plateau.
Hartford, Ar
Level Contributor
169 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“cool drive”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

this is such a spectacular drive, we came in from the east and drove west thru the tunnels, it was cool

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    142
    62
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very scenic drive”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a winding road that enters Zion and allows for a sneak peak of what is to come in Zion. The wait for the tunnel did not take too long, however it was not a busy time when we went. The tunnel itself is long and if people do not turn on their headlights it is too dark and a bit nerve wracking. However there are areas where the tunnel has a quick opening and you can get a glimpse of Zion. The road seemed well maintained and had no major issues. Just make sure to turn on your headlights!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus, GA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cool!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We left Zion to head for Cedar City so had to go through the tunnel. Loved the views - even though I was driving. I would recommend that any visitor to Zion take this beautiful winding drive.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jmlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
159 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Over a mile long!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

An incredible engineering project from our parents' generation. When the tour buses are present (which is most of the time) it is a one way tunnel, but the wait for your way is never very long. (The tour buses have to drive in the middle to keep from scraping the sides!)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cjdesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
Level Contributor
339 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Canyon Overlook Review”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is called a "moderate" hike and does take an hour, as said. The climb is not so much difficult as not ideal for those who don't like narrow ledges that are unfenced here and there. I wore substantial but not hiking shoes and my feet slipped at times. Once on the top, the view was tremendous, but the thought of the decent was always on my mind. Would I do it again, no. If heights don't bother you and you are sure footed, would I recommend it - yes.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JstarkScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zion-Mt. Carmel Tunnel also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Zion-Mt. Carmel Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing