We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, don't bother with the river sites though”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zion National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Watchman Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in our tent. Unfortunately we booked so late we had to book 2 different sites and move our tent (not recommended!).

First night was in Loop C. Absolutely no privacy between sites, we had friendly neighbours so that was okay. There is a large field in the middle of the campsites - good for kids to run around/play ball.

Second night we stayed in the riverside site, this had power so the area was mostly RV's with a few tents. No problem with noise, but you couldn't actually see the river as there is a large mound of dirt all along. You have to climb up the mound to see the river, then you can walk along this, or go down the other side to have a swim. Didn't feel the extra money was worth it for a river site.

No showers as the NPS reservation site says. Most people seemed to just have a dip in the Virgin River. Mightly cold but was bearable in June. You can also bring a tube or hire one from Springdale and float down the river - this was great fun for us and the kids.

Location is superb, close to everything, beautiful scenery, saw deer/squirrels everywhere which kids loved.

Not my favourite US campground, mainly due to lack of showers and privacy, but was fine for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TheAussieBeachBums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 333 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2009

We had a very good site, on the outside of the first loop. So we had no problems with noise or RV generators. Great views of the surrounding canyon walls. We liked that it was a 5 minute walk to the visitor center and 10 minutes to the big store in Springdale -- it was great for getting ice and supplies without having to drive anywhere. The shuttle worked out great.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Intheshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

This was the first of 5 campgrounds we stayed at over a ten day period and we were pleased we stayed here first, as this was only beaten by Grand Canyon Trailer park for lack of everything, no full hook up no pull thru, just tired and needing TLC. However if the emphasis is on back to nature and maintaining the 'earthiness' of the area, then I feel this is a poor excuse. However the views of the Watchman were unbeatable and the rest of the trip just got better and better. We stayed here 2 nites out of Vegas and were glad that is all. These NP just seem to have no competition and we're just glad they cant arrange the views...........

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrincessCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

My husband and I camped at Watchman Campground a few weeks ago. Out of the many NPS campgrounds that we've stayed in, this was BY FAR our least favorite. The noise within the campground was ridiculous. There was zero enforcement of the 10PM to 6 AM rule. We woke up multiple times between midnight and dawn due to car alarms going off, people shining their headlights on our tent at 2 AM so that they could find a suitable spot for their tent in the site next to us, drunken yelling at the site across from us, and the blowing up of air mattresses in both sites surrounding our tent. The noise lasted all night and we both were not able to get more than 2 hours of sleep. If you enjoy camping in a quiet place, then this is not the campground to book. If in the past you've enjoyed a good night of sleep on the floor of your local fraternity house, then this is the place for you.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
4  Thank mandj1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

the view is spectacular. The downside is that it's crowded which made it a bit loud. The sites were not private. I would have wished that the rules were enforced more such as not washing dishes or bathing at the spigot. There were no showers but the bathrooms had flush toilets and campfires were allowed. The ground is very hard for driving in tent stakes so bring a good mallet.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deevah77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

First off I went through the government website to select a place to camp, I choose one that said "Full Shade" which turned out to be "Full Sun". We were number 61 I think and it was right next to the group campsite which was noisy all night. There was a stream in the parking spot my car barely crossed. Other than those it was nice, peaceful and close to the action. Almost everynight the rangers do some kind of learning experience, ours was the night sky. It was our least favorite campsite in all the national parks, not what we asked for and no privacy at all.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank plastic_hippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Could have stayed home to hear the constant hum of the A/C units on the motor homes day and night as well as the construction noise going on across the river beginning at 7 am and continuing all day. Campsites were too close together offering no privacy and no shade. All vegetation and trees are blocked off, you are only able to use the small graveled areas that are infested with ants. Not just a minor ant infestation but an epic infestation, they were in everything, on everything and biting everyone. Miserable.
I felt that the rangers I spoke with were abrupt and unfriendly when asked a question. If you are planning a trip to Zion, I recommend that you do not take pets (even though the campground allows them) unless you are planning on spending your entire trip in your campground as pets are not allowed in the park and should not be left in the campground unattended unless you would like to be cited by the local police. I would not stay at the Watchman campground again and do not recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank HJMSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion National Park
3.9 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 1 in Zion National Park
2,045 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#3 of 17 in Springdale
1,202 reviews
8.0 mi away
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
#3 of 5 in Zion National Park
964 reviews
10.7 mi away
Zion Mountain Ranch
Zion Mountain Ranch
#1 of 5 in Zion National Park
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watchman Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watchman Campground

Address: Watchman Campground Highway 89, C Loop, Zion National Park, UT 84737
Location: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Zion National Park
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consists of 228 campsites with restrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Watchman Campground Hotel Zion National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing