We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should have stayed home.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Watchman Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zion National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Watchman Campground
Certificate of Excellence
SLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Should have stayed home.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

Could have stayed home to hear the constant hum of the A/C units on the motor homes day and night as well as the construction noise going on across the river beginning at 7 am and continuing all day. Campsites were too close together offering no privacy and no shade. All vegetation and trees are blocked off, you are only able to use the small graveled areas that are infested with ants. Not just a minor ant infestation but an epic infestation, they were in everything, on everything and biting everyone. Miserable.
I felt that the rangers I spoke with were abrupt and unfriendly when asked a question. If you are planning a trip to Zion, I recommend that you do not take pets (even though the campground allows them) unless you are planning on spending your entire trip in your campground as pets are not allowed in the park and should not be left in the campground unattended unless you would like to be cited by the local police. I would not stay at the Watchman campground again and do not recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HJMSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    126
    34
    7
    4
See reviews for
97
107
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmdale, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2009

Some of the reviews here are way off base. This is a National Park campground and there are limited services. Two loops have electrical. There are clean restrooms, wash room for dishes and potable water faucets at the restroom location. There are no showers. A dump station is available.

We stayed 6 nights during spring break. Our site was right next to the Virgin River. Sites were very large, large enough for a 36 foot 5th wheeler, my tow vehicle and room for more. There was plenty of space between sites. The campground is located within a short walk from the visitor center and Springdale. The views are incredible as you are on the canyon floor. The nights were very peaceful.

If you are expecting a full service, full hook-up parking lot with WI-FI, then this is not for you. You want a very nice National Park Camp with a view...then book a site.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RaiseDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2008

The Park Service partly misinforms: Watchman has no showers, and the access to showers is far more limited than suggested by the Park literature and signage. The east shower facility (in Mt. Carmel Junction) is hardly accessible, given the distance (hydrocarbon tax) and high probability of delays in the long tunnel (coming and going).

This means all of Zion camping is served by a single (yes 1) shower in Springdale. Contrary to the Park's signage, the shower time is limited to 10 minutes. Furthermore, being a private facility not intended for high traffic, users are recommended to wait "around 10 minutes" between showers so that the water heater can deliver more than tepid water.

The park shuttle does not stop at the hiker outfitter offering the shower. Shuttles are frequent, however, and the hike back to the shower is about 2 city blocks.

The shower is dirty 15 minutes after its opening at 9:00 a.m. The floor is wet.

  • Disliked — no easily accessible clean shower
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
9 Thank paboulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2008

only just discovered the reveiws of this campground and had i read them i probably woudn't have booked it - what a mistake that would have been. from arrival to departure it was all smooth. quiet peaceful campsite with big sites and hookups(good when you are RV'ing for the first time!) and didn't feel partularly overlooked. spacious site compared with some on this trip.clean toilet facilities. views are spectacular. bus system quick and easy to use going into the town of springdale or up into the national park. would i recommend it? yes. most definately. a real back to nature place with beautiful views night and day. even saw a mountain lion (as we were stumbling back from eating out one eve at about 11pm hubby thought it was a fox i thought it was a coyote- only realised that when we saw a stuffed one at GC later in our trip). i would most definately go again.no hesitation.

  • Liked — fantastic location
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank linksmanmischief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
728 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2008

Stayed 3 nights at Watchman campground in Zion NP. We had site 22 and it was a large pull through with no sites behind and wonderful views!!! The sites are quite close together and the campground is very busy at night. That being said, you are in a National Park and at least for us, we were out hiking all day and spent very little time at the campground other than at night. You can't beat the locatiion, within walking distance of the visitor center, a market and the shuttle stop. Our only disappointment was no campfires due to the high fire danger. If we return to Zion, would definitely stay here again!!

  • Liked — location and views
  • Disliked — spacing of sites
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2008

We camped here for 2 nights near the end of June. The campground was not very secluded or private, however there were some that were private in Loop D in the 20 range. We were in 10 or 11. The bathrooms were clean and they offered water used for dishes and/or drinking. This campground is close to the visitor center and the Virgin River, you can easily walk to both. If we were to come to Zion again, we would stay outside of the park and just take the shuttle in or drive in. Almost everywhere in the park can only be accessed by the shuttle.

  • Disliked — Not Very Private
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank DillyDally84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2008

We hit Zion's Watchman Campground after camping at the Grand Canyon. Although both parks offer shuttles, GC does not restrict cars so there's a lot of traffic and no sidewalks to get to shuttle stops. At Zion, only shuttles are allowed to the lookout points and hiking trails, making everything pedestrian friendly. Also, at the GC, our camp site backed into the park's main road so you could see cars through the trees,hear them at night, and see headlights reflecting inside your tent. At Zion, anywhere you turn, you are surrounded by gorgeous mountains. The stars at night are spectacular because it is dark like a camp site should be! There is a river that runs along the camp so we spent hot afternoons cooling off in the water. You can walk into town from the campground so one night my son and I splurged on dinner and a movie. They offered a Jr. Ranger program for my son so my friend and I were able to squeeze in a short adult hike. There is no shower at this site but there are pumps in front of the bathrooms that we used to rinse off or wash our hair. There are paid showers in a nearby town that you can get to via the park's shuttle but it wasn't necessary because we ended up sweaty and wet by the end of the day anyway. My son did get a heat rash but a helpful couple who was camping nearby, turned us on to the wonders of Gold's medicated powder. It cleared up his rash over night. If you're reading this - dude with the ice cooler and his pharmacist girlfriend, mucho gracias!

The River Walk/Narrows was a great river hike that my son and I did a couple of times. Awesome! If you are wearing sneakers, keep them on during this water hike, it took me a few mintutes to figure this out and it cleaned my shoes of UT dust! The only downside is that campfires were not allowed when we were there. Try to find a shady site. It gets hot, but at night it gets breezy and cool. This place is not to be missed!

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
7 Thank artcentric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion National Park
0.3 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#12 of 16 in Springdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flanigan's Inn
Flanigan's Inn
#5 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watchman Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watchman Campground

Property: Watchman Campground
Address: Watchman Campground Highway 89, C Loop, Zion National Park, UT 84737
Location: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Zion National Park
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consists of 228 campsites with restrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Watchman Campground Hotel Zion National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing