We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Well-worth the drive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kolob Canyon Road

Kolob Canyon Road
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A five mile scenic drive with incredible canyons and cliffs.
Claremont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
520 reviews
247 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Well-worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

It's very close to I-15 and I was glad I took the time to drive through. It was an excellent introduction to Zion.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dnumme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    35
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not a must do.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We took a drive here in the late afternoon. The terrain differs a bit from Zion and at the end of the route there was a lake. We did a lot of driving this vacation, so in retrospect I didn't think it was worth spending more time in the car to do this route. ( Hiking here might be better, rather than our drive by.) We tried taking the lava route with our rental car, but had to turn around because the dirt road was rutted and started to have a steep incline where driving conditions looked worse. You probably need a SUV to drive this section..

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2opinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
177 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A quieter side of Zion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

If you don't want to brave the crowds, or just want to bite off a smaller piece of the park for a day, enter through the northern Kolob Canyon and take the 5 mile drive. Maybe not as varied as views in the main canyon, but still pretty awesome. Plenty of trailheads originate here too. Tiny visitor center and bathrooms at the entrance. No other services along the way.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ARL2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Amazingly beautiful Drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We did not hike the trails. We drove and stopped for pictures 3 times on the road. The views from the road are amazing. We almost didn't go in because there is nothing impressive at the entrance of the park. Once you drive up the canyon and around the bend. Wow! We did this on the way home after a great day of hiking the main part of zion's park.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ay_tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

More beautiful Zion roads! Different landscape than the southern part of the park. Great train at the end.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank swimmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kolob Canyon Road also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Kolob Canyon Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing