We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I guess it depends on the time of the year”
Review of Emerald Pools

Emerald Pools
Book In Advance
More Info
$629.99*
and up
3-Day National Parks Camping Tour: Zion, Bryce Canyon, Monument Valley and...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A one-mile hike will bring you to this area of pools and waterfalls.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“I guess it depends on the time of the year”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife and I were so looking forward to this short trail having done our research first. There are three stages to this walk, the first pool is 0.6 miles from the Zion Lodge Bus stop along a very mild undulating pathway. Under foot is very good and the path is well maintained. The second pool is another 0.3 mile further on but when we were there it was closed to the public. The third tier was another 0.9 miles further on and in the heat of the day it was a step too far for us.
The waterfall at the first poll was quite good but what it poured into was hardly scenic and where the emerald comes in we are not too sure. What I also found disappointing was that the first message about the second tier being closed was only at the first pool and not at the beginning of the walk - but only a small gripe. We would have still done the first walk/ I guess the waterfall would be far more spectacular after rainfall but then we were still in a desert!
However, the highlight was on the walk back when in the undergrowth we heard rustling and there were three deers. Oblivious to the humans walking no more that three feet from them as they foraged. Once we had stopped a crowd soon gathered and we stood for 15 minutes just watching nature. Wonderful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Weekend_Roamer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    435
    255
    54
    6
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
1,323 reviews
887 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,728 helpful votes
“Better When Combined with the Kayenta Trail”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The trailhead for the Lower Emerald Pool trail is across the road from the Zion Lodge shuttle stop and over the foot bridge that crosses the Virgin River. This is an easy paved, flat trail only 0.6mi (1k) each way that follows along a ridgeline of a side canyon providing some nice views. The highlight of this trail is probably the water cascading lightly over the trail from the sandstone above rather than the pool itself as it tends to have little water and lots of people during the busy summer season. One can now visit the middle and upper pools via the 0.5mi (0.8k) Upper Emerald Pool Trail which is more challenging and fun as this portion is not paved and climbs 200ft (61m). Although less crowded, this trail and these pools still attract a lot of people. When done visiting the pools one can either return they way they came, covering the same crowded ground as before or, alternatively, one can take the excellent Kayenta Trail back to the scenic road. The Kayenta Trail connects at the end of the Lower Emerald Pool Trail and follows a ridgeline of the side canyon across from the Lower Emerald Pool trail and then along a ridgeline in the Kayenta sandstone layer high above Zion’s main canyon overlooking cottonwoods and the Virgin River below returning to the scenic drive at the next shuttle stop upstream of the Zion Lodge. While this trail is longer at 1mi (1.6k) and a little more difficult, it was the best part of our Emerald Pools Trail as it is far less crowded and offers the best views along the way. Without this option, I would have rated our experience of the Emerald Pools lower with no real need to spend the time at this attraction.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“a beauty”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Walk was fantastic. Views unbelievable. Path not difficult. Loved it. Also so close to Zion lodge. So convenient

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank howard_dorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“More than a Leisurely Hike - to be Average”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Scenery was very nice en route to the pools (very small waterfall from an overhanging rock) but the pools were a touch disappointing but not so much we would not do it again. We enjoyed the hike up to the pools but there were a lot of people (and it was Memorial Weekend) and it was rather hot. Recommended if you want the scenery and the slightly challenging walk/hike but would be nicer if less people. People were quite disrespectful regarding getting into the water as the signs posted requested to not get into the water. The area did provide a nice shaded escape from the walk/hike up.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank aswilkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Small brown ponds”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Lots of people, not much water in June, and very ordinary looking ponds of water. The first pond has a nice overhanging rock wall with waterfalls you can walk behind, but there needs to be more water flowing than I saw on 2nd June to be really attractive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rdk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerald Pools also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Emerald Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing