We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Variety in trail levels - beautiful all around”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Emerald Pools

Emerald Pools
Book In Advance
More Info
$629.99*
and up
3-Day National Parks Camping Tour: Zion, Bryce Canyon, Monument Valley and...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A one-mile hike will bring you to this area of pools and waterfalls.
lillesommerfugl
Level Contributor
117 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Variety in trail levels - beautiful all around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

You can choose to take the trail to the lower, middle or upper pools - we went to all of the above. They are all quite easy trails, although not all are wheelchair or stroller friendly. Great to get to the upper pools in its sort of hidden away spot. Well worth the little hike up.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lillesommerfugl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    403
    236
    53
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
814 reviews
400 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
“Not bad if you make it to the top”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This trails starts pretty easy but get a bit more difficult later on. It is not very difficult as there were many very young kids. Some parts are interesting but it is overall so-so. The "pond" at the top is not impressive. The trail is quite busy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JPDeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Lower Pool Walk just Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We only had time to walk to the lower pool. The best part about the walk was much of it was in shade and so cooler on a hot day and the views across to Angels Landing plus other rock faces were very picturesque. However the destination was a disappointment with the pool really only a muddy puddle and the waterfall a mere trickle. There was certainly no emerald colour evident.

Helpful?
Thank Kiwidreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Easy hiking for senior citizens.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

I don't spend a lot of time walking on a regular basis as I should so I wondered if I would be up to this 1.2 mile hike and I took the chance. So glad I did. It was easy walking and the views along the way were awesome. I'm glad I did it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gingerop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, IL
Level Contributor
246 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Walk Behind a Waterfall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had planned on making a loop of this but one section was closed when we were there. Being there in October there wasn't a lot of water in the pools. We didn't expect a lot of water in the fall so weren't disappointed. At the lower pool you can walk behind the waterfall. There was a little coming down so we got the feel for it. The climb to the middle pool has a lot of stairs cut into the rock. There wasn't much water in it, just enough to feed the trickle falling over the edge. We did take the Kayenta trail back to the Grotto so we didn't go back the way we came.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank FrontierLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerald Pools also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Emerald Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing