We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't waste your money. It was terrible!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money. It was terrible!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

If you plan to visit Zion National Park this resort is 17 miles from the visitors center. On the opposite side of the main entrance. You have to drive through the entire park till you get to the visitor centers for the buses to take you to the trails. The food was terrible. We had planned on staying three nights and left after the first night. Couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teach4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    247
    93
    67
    44
See reviews for
374
214
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

Our family group of 6 rented a home here for 3 days. The home was beautiful and fully supplied with everything we needed, linens, kitchenware, fluffly towels. Traveled back and forth to both Zion Park and Bryce Park. Convenient to both park,s but you need to plan ahead and buy groceries, drinks, etc. Ranch is in beautiful, quiet location.
When we were leaving, part of our party had some serious auto problems and the staff drove them to the Las Vegas airport (over a 2 hour drive )at the very last minute and were so very accomodating about the whole situation.
We would recommend staying here to any family group who loves the outdoors. You will treated well.

)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cattailbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLORADO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2009

My husband and myself booked a four day stay at the resort for a RV site, because all the cabins were booked during the time frame. We arrived as schedules to find we were up on the mesa, appoximately 40 minutes back to canyon junction (Zion NP the first place tin park and take the shuttle). I understand that the resort is boardering Zion NP, and the website does say they are 5 miles from HWY 9. What it does not say that you have a very long drive bothway to the park, fuel can only be obtained in Springdale on the far side of the national park. So if Zion NP is the focus of your trip you may want to review the cancelation policy very closely. It is costly if you change you mind after you get there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoradoKip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntington beach
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

We just went to Zion Ponderosa Resort for 3 nights. We stayed in a cabin suite which was perfect for our 3 young kids and my wife and i. The pool is great (my kids liked the small slides they had), my 6 and 8 year old loved the zipline, they had a small playground and my kids also did some horseback rides. The area around the ranch is nice but don't expect to see anything similar to what you see in Zion National Park. However, it is only a 5 to 10 minute drive to the east gate of Zion National Park. The people that work at Zion Ponderosa Resort are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dilly4j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, Ca
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed in the Rustic Paradise home with another family for 4 nights. Although the location of the resort is a bit out of the way (5 miles off the main road), it allowed us to stay in one place and spend a day at Bryce (1 1/2 hour away on an easy to drive road) and another day at Zion (45 minutes to the visitors center). While we were at the resort, all of the 6 kids in our group (and adults!) were kept busy ATV'ing, zip-lining, horseback riding, swimming, etc. We really appreciated how the recreation staff made the experiences fun and safe for the kids. The staff at the front desk was as nice in person as they were over the phone (thank you to Robyn for lending us her coffee grinder!). We look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BethTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

We stayed in a large house for a family reunion at Zion/Bryce. Our house was very new with nice accommodations and a beautiful giant kitchen. The activities and staff were terrific. I just wish we had more time to enjoy the pool! Buffet dinner was not very tasty but dutch oven dinner was better. Internet was very slow.
Zion was nearby. Bryce was a longer drive. Buy groceries in St. George. And buy alcohol in Arizona.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcholv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

We couldn't have been happier with our experience at Zion Ponderosa Ranch. All the employees, without fail, were friendly, warm and accommodating. They were particularly great with the kids in our family, boys and girls ranging in age from 10 to 18. Our extended family rented a vacation home nearby and used Zion Ponderosa Ranch as a fun place for the kids on the days when we weren't hiking or visiting the nearby national parks (Zion and Bryce Parks). This dude ranch had a little of everything--horseback riding, mini-ATV rides, zip-lining, paintball, a fine pool, good food, even a nice souvenir shop with the coolest T-shirts in the region. When there was one slight snafu--a horseback ride left without one member of our party, who was running late because of having fun at paintball--the manager said, "We'll make it right," and got the tardy family member caught up and connected with the horseback ride by using a golf cart. This ranch is also a godsend for kids on rainy days. Could not recommend more highly.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chitown57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion National Park
4.7 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
8.1 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
8.2 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#12 of 16 in Springdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
8.4 mi away
Flanigan's Inn
Flanigan's Inn
#5 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort

Property: Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Address: Twin Knolls Road, PO Box 5547, Zion National Park, UT 84755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zion National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the top of Zion National Park amidst a forest of Ponderosa pine trees, Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort offers great lodging options; Vacation Homes, Cabins Suites, Cowboy Cabins, Western Wagons, and RV / Tent Campground. We offer excellent dining services at our Blue Belly Grill and Gus & Rosey's restaurants. We offer more activities on-property than any resort in the region, including horseback riding, jeep tours, zip line, climbing wall, canyoneering / hiking excursions, ATV tours, miniature golf, paint ball, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Hotel Zion National Park
Zion Ponderosa Hotel
Zion Ponderosa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing