We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Outdoor Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Provo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Outdoor Getaway”
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Here, you have the option to "rough it" or not, and can have a camping experience that accomodates your needs. We cooked our own dinner, but ate breakfast at the buffet. We slept in our tent, but were close to full-service, clean restrooms. What impressed us the most was the exceptional customer service. The General Manager offered to personally escort us, at 6AM, to the entrance to one of his favorite trails. He also (without us asking) brought a table up the mountain to our campsite to offer us a flat surface to eat on. The staff is also very knowledgeable about local hikes, Zion's National Park, and other local attractions. It was a very family-friendly place as well, with endless free or inexpensive activities for all, our favorites of which were the infinity pool with slide, the rodeo, and the rec room. This camping site, though surrounded with people, never felt crowded, and therefore we felt we had a serene, safe, private, camping experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouLiz36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    260
    105
    71
    47
See reviews for
406
234
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

I've camped all over the U.S., but have never enjoyed it quite as much as this place. From the horseback riding to the hot showers, this is the way to go! I've come to this ranch four times and never get bored! The sparkling pools and recreational activites have something for everyone. I used to plan on cooking when I went camping, but after eating in the lodge, there is no other way to go! There are no sirens and city rush to this place. I couldn't ask for a better atmosphere for me and my family.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mail4cindyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2009

We were pleasantly surprised with Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort. It's just close enough to Zions Natl. Park, but secluded enough to be quiet and quaint. Our kids loved the zip line, pool, ATVs, horseback riding, and bungee trampoline. The cabin was clean and comfortable. No TV, which I thought was a bonus, my husband didn't like. One tip...make sure to buy meal plans up front so you have no surprises. Paying $5.95 for a child to have cold cereal at the all-you-can-eat buffet is painful.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler111Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2009

I will make this short and sweet....go to Springdale
Food sucked.... staff sucked.... cabins...you guessed it sucked
spend your money elsewhere

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank silky64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Having never stayed at this type of resort we were a bit nervous. We tend to prefer to stay at relatively high end places and we knew going in that we'd be roughing it a bit. All in all though this turned out to be great for our family vacation. The break from TV and cell phone (they do have wifi, so I could check email and surf my iPhone) was welcome and really we didn't miss it much at all.

We stayed in a cabin. It was small. I had to squeeze past the bedpost and air conditioner to get out of bed, but the three of us fit fairly well. The toiletries were nice as were the towels. Because the weather was cool we only had to use the AC one night which was great. We liked the bunnies and wildflowers around our cabin as well. The campsite behind the cabin sometimes made things a bit noisy, but most people quieted down at a reasonable hour.

Recreation wise we really enjoyed the feeling that you could get as much or as little as you wanted. We did a great trail ride. We canyoneered. We put our son in day camp which gave us all a welcome break. The pool and hot tub area were great. The one complaint I would have was that once a large camping group arrived (60 or more boys) getting any time in the recreation barn for ping pong, etc. was out the window as they sucked up all the tables.

Food wise the resort was okay. We ate one dinner and two breakfasts. Mostly we ate out somewhere in our day of sightseeing, or we ate sandwiches and pop tarts that we'd gathered ourselves. They can't sell beer or wine in their camp store, so you should be aware of that if it's important to you. Same for most grocery items. Stock up while you're out.

Some reviews have complained about location, and while the five miles off Highway 9 sometimes got old, all in all we loved the location. We were secluded, but not so much that we couldn't easily get to what we wanted to do any given day. In the week we were there we went into Zion/Springdale 3 days, to Grand Canyon one day, to Bryce and Grand Staircase 2 days. I really liked being on the East side of Zion. If we'd been in Springdale we almost certainly would not have gone to Grand Staircase given the extra 30 minutes of driving to get through Zion.

One final note - if this had been just me and my husband I probably would not have enjoyed this place as much, but with kids it's nice to have all the recreation options right there as opposed to being stuck in a Best Western motel room.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H0lli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

The location is rustic but the amenities, like the quality of the soaps was high (the resort does not cut corners). The cabins are simple but fine (there is a wide variety of "room" options". There are a lot of good family-oriented activities available. The food at the main restaurant is wholesome and a cut above standard hotel food. The "fine dining" option, established last year, is exceptional and better than anything available in Springdale.

Location provides easy access to Zion and is only an hour and a half from Bryce Canyon. We now use this facility for access to Bryce instead of staying in Brice Canyon.

This is our fourth stay at this resort.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2009

Zion Ponderosa Ranch is an amazing place. If you are looking for fun and adventure you really should go there. They have everything there you could want- horseback ridding, ATVing, Jeeps, hiking, activities for kids, and much more! We had so much fun there.
The staff was so friendly and if we asked them something that they did not know they actually took the time to go find out.
The buffet was great but the sit down restaurant they have on site was incredible!
The rooms were well kept and private/secluded from others.
It's relaxing environment really helped me finally unwind and just enjoy the panoramic views the resort has to offer- forget about going in to Zion Park . . . this place has everything. After we got home, we could not stop talking about the friendly staff, the pool and all the activities! Canyoneering was our favorite and their guides take you to secluded places- very personal and affordable!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBinSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion National Park
4.7 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
1,950 reviews
8.2 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,841 reviews
8.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
9.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
8.1 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort

Property: Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Address: Twin Knolls Road, PO Box 5547, Zion National Park, UT 84755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zion National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the top of Zion National Park amidst a forest of Ponderosa pine trees, Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort offers great lodging options; Vacation Homes, Cabins Suites, Cowboy Cabins, Western Wagons, and RV / Tent Campground. We offer excellent dining services at our Blue Belly Grill and Gus & Rosey's restaurants. We offer more activities on-property than any resort in the region, including horseback riding, jeep tours, zip line, climbing wall, canyoneering / hiking excursions, ATV tours, miniature golf, paint ball, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Hotel Zion National Park
Zion Ponderosa Hotel
Zion Ponderosa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing