We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ranch that is full of fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Rock Spring, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Ranch that is full of fun!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Ou stay was in June, 2013. We thoroughly enjoyed it! We stayed in a covered wagon & LOVED it. The cost was reasonable. The pool was excellent. We enjoyed a 4x4 guided tour of the property that was spectacular. The staff are exceptionally friendly. I would definitely recommend this as a destination!

Room Tip: Stay in a covered wagon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fgrayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    260
    105
    71
    47
See reviews for
405
234
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We really loved our brief stay at Zion Ponderosa Ranch. We were tenting, which made the price very reasonable, but we were still able to enjoy the amenities. The pool and restaurant were wonderful, especially the pool in the 100+ degree heat! Our camp site was small and pretty close to other sites and very close to the bathrooms which had very bright lights - a little disturbing when trying to sleep. If we go again, we will definitely try to get a cabin - they looked adorable. The facilities were clean most of the time, though the bathrooms were used heavily and by some disturbingly messy people at times. They were cleaned quickly, though, so no complaints. We arrived well after dark and the drive (through Zion National Park) to the resort was terrifying - especially because we weren't sure we could trust the GPS and thought we had gotten lost - but the proximity to the park was a huge plus once the sun rose.

Room Tip: If tenting, ask for a site away fromt he bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica_Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort is a wonderful place to take your family or even just go by yourself. They have something for everyone. The cabin suites are so comfortable, and the 5 star touches provided by Nesha and her staff, make you feel like your comfort is really important.
Blue Belly Grill serves up top notch food, and plenty of it! You won't ever walk away from there feeling hungry.
The staff they hire are top choice. They are so friendly and helpful. You are guaranteed a smile and warm greeting.
I would not hesitate to go there again. Well worth every single penny!!
Thank you to everyone who had a part in making us feel special and cared for.
N. Bohan

Room Tip: The suites cost more, but they are worth it. On hot summer days, it is great to have the air conditi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nedra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This year's hiking adventure took us to Utah - we split our time at Bryce, Zion, and Arches. Zion, as it's name implies is majestic and our stay at ZPR was our favorite. Our friendly check in guy, I'm so sorry I can't remember his name, told us about how to get to Observation Point from the ranch. We drove to this place and wondered of we'd ever see our rental car again (no worries, we did). This takes to a flat, wildflower filled 2 mile hike, then a challenging but quick ascent to Observation Point. Doing it this way, we met the early hikers and avoided crowds. Once seeing the switchbacks, we had to do the whole thing, so we started down and experienced the beauty of the mountains and colors and views while we were rested AND we knew what to expect own our way back up. We took the shuttle, watched the movie, momentarily experienced the crowds and started back up. We met with hikers we saw on their way up, a couple stopped to chat. Beautiful, exhausting, breathtaking - with privacy that let us enjoy the beauty of Zion. The last jaunt home was refreshing - perfect. We loved the meals - reasonable (but remember that everything tastes better after a 13 mile hike)! We stayed in one of the cottages - loved the bunkbeds - made me feel like a camper, when I'm not. Prices were fair, people were nice, food was good. Definitely a highlight if the trip. Now don't get the idea that I hate people, but this was the way to see Zion on a busy day, and feel like you had the mountains and your fellow hiker all to yourself!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZionPonderosa, Public Relations Manager at Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
This response captures the essence of how to experience Zion National Park from the top down. Visitors who stay with us are on top of the plateau above Zion National Park, and have the opportunity to walk across the plateau and look down into the park. We very much appreciate these comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampthill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Duplex Cabin accomodation was excellent and good value for money. Bed could have been better but overall no real complaints. Location fantastic. Nice & quiet. Everyone very friendly and helpful. The resort property is large and spacious with a decent pool. Easy to find.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acsaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Wished we would have read comments before staying here. This place is so neglected it was so upsetting when we arrived in our RV. Parts of it looked like a scene from Deliverance. Do not depend on their website for accurate pictorials of what you will find. The roads in the park are full of potholes. Best bring a spare tire just in case. Do not rent a cabin as you will be smothered in dust from the dirt road every time someone drives by. We are experienced RVers and every campground we go to has guest rules. Expect to see deplorable tents, laundry hanging, uhaul trucks, weeds in the common areas like the putt putt area, dirty showers. I read these glamorous reviews and all I can say is that we must not have stayed at the same place. We did not go to restaurant based on reviews and had a wonderful meal right outside the park in Springdale. I rented a movie since we were going to be holed up in our clean RV and it was full of scratches and when we returned it and complained no apologies or refunds. Ever heard of Blockbuster? Our RV site did have a decent pad and utilities worked fine. But our view was of another RV with all the junk outside. Be aware that this place is cheap for young adults and you will see that here with a lot of partying. Did not go inside the pool area because it was full of teens which is fine for a family vacation. I did check out the spa. I have no idea why they charge so much for services when the place is primitive looking and not luxurious as the website portrays. There are plenty of other places to stay. Be sure you do your homework. Wish we had.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank texcyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZionPonderosa, Public Relations Manager at Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We do get busy in the summer time at Zion Ponderosa, and it is not possible to control everything that comes from other guests, but we do make an effort to provide a quality experience for all of our guests. If you go through our reviews you'll see excellent comments from very many guests who have used our campground to their great satisfaction. We are concerned when a guest doesn't have the experience they hoped for, and when a guest approaches our management with a concern, we do make every effort to find a remedy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have stayed at the Zion Ponderosa for the past 3 years. First year was great - the staff was very eager to please and accommodating. We were also satisfied with our stay last year. This year, we booked our normal 3 night stay in May 2013 for June 2013. We wanted a particular RV spot and booked our entire trip according to when that spot was available. We paid for our stay in full 30 days out which is required. We get to the "resort" at about 6:15PM on 6/22 to be told that the spot we had reserved had been given to a walk-in guest an hour or two prior to our arrival. We were not pleased and the Resort Manager, Erin was called to assist us. She proceeded to have a staring contest with me and advised us that 2 other spots were available. She never apologized and disappeared without telling us where she was going. We waited so long for Erin that our dinner was ruined. We did not get settled into another spot until 9:30PM and fed our children popcorn because it was too late to eat and we were exhausted. Noticed there was fecal matter all over one toilet in the bath house that was still there some 12 hours later! The pool was over-crowded with no life guard on duty. Teenagers were jumping from the higher pool into the lower pool, going down the slides backwards and doing cannonballs over the heads of much smaller children. The staff did nothing to supervise this dangerous behavior. The covers were missing from the skimmer baskets posing a serious health hazard and there was trash and debris in the jacuzzi's and pools. HUGE potholes (at least 3 feet wide) were on the main road into the "resort". The staff complained that they were understaffed and our rv site still had a trashcan full from the previous guest. My husband and I also had to move an extra picnic table that belonged to another campsite as it was in our area. A very disappointing trip to say the least. Wrote a letter to the Resort General Manager Michael Kane detailing our problems and still have not heard from him. Will not be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion National Park
4.7 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
1,948 reviews
8.2 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,840 reviews
8.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
9.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
8.1 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort

Property: Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Address: Twin Knolls Road, PO Box 5547, Zion National Park, UT 84755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zion National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the top of Zion National Park amidst a forest of Ponderosa pine trees, Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort offers great lodging options; Vacation Homes, Cabins Suites, Cowboy Cabins, Western Wagons, and RV / Tent Campground. We offer excellent dining services at our Blue Belly Grill and Gus & Rosey's restaurants. We offer more activities on-property than any resort in the region, including horseback riding, jeep tours, zip line, climbing wall, canyoneering / hiking excursions, ATV tours, miniature golf, paint ball, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Hotel Zion National Park
Zion Ponderosa Hotel
Zion Ponderosa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing