We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed, but with one exception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My friends and I found the Ponderosa ranch through a park ranger reference. The haphazard find was welcomed. The first thing we all said to each other was, "are we only going to stay here one night?" The facility has swimming pool, hot showers, spa treatments, various nightly events, fooz-ball, basketball courts, and etc. The modern facilities are supplemented, or complemented, depending on how you see it, by events like rodeo. All of these things were included in our $10 a person charge to pitch the tent.

Our only and major complaint is that we had a very prolonged disturbance by a group of rowdy campers. The management was seen earlier on their ATVs, but never saw them address the issue. We had to wake-up at five in the morning and the group continued their festivities until midnight; of course, we are all a little grumpy in the morning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yousuf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 964 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here for Memorial Day Weekend and had a great time. The resort is pretty close to Zion National Park, which was beautiful. We are glad we stayed at Ponderosa because they were very accommodating, they have lots of fun activities, a pool, hot showers and options to stay in lodges, cabins, covered wagon wheels, or just plain camping. They also have a restaurant and my friends and I loved our weekend here!! Highly recommended and the General Manager Michael was very nice and let us stay in our campsite the third night even when our reservation wasn't guaranteed!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triplover4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were promised a clean room, queen size bed, instead, we got a bunk bed cabin like room, not clean, and with tons of bugs. The shower was so intimating to walk into, as the bugs were all over.
When we asked why we did not get the room that we were promised, the front desk lady brushed us off. There is nothing romantic about this place, if anything, you will end up arguing about whose idea it was to go there. A bust!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAM90277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZionPonderosa, Public Relations Manager at Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

We are sorry that we could not have provided a better experience for this customer. You will see by our consistently higher ratings that we normally provide an excellent experience for our guests, and so many of our guests thoroughly enjoy their visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed here 3 days with my family. Very peaceful and clean place with lot of activities and fun. Everybody was nice and polite. My kids loved the pool , zip-lining, mini-golf, tennis ... We stayed at Cowboy cabin. It was very clean. Nice to see that every cabin has it's own grill. There are lot of pillows, and towels. You can wash your laundry for only $1. Overall - very nice resort.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FxMikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We tent camped here one night during a 10 day, 300 mile, self-supported bicycle ride in and around Zion. It was really great. The showers/restroom facilities were spacious and clean. We soaked in the jacuzzi before going for dinner. Dinner was really very good with large portions, although I have to admit that we took advantage of the all you can eat soup and salad choice. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plilikoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed one night in a 2 bedroom condo at Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort. We had a beautiful view and it was quite comfortable.
When we went to the restaurant in the lodge, it was quite empty; which made us wonder if the food was any good.
Much to our surprise, we were quite pleased with all our entrees (4 dinners & appetizers). We enjoyed meeting the chef, Francesca, and loved her delicous dishes she created.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

It was do awesome we came back a second time to camp.

They were able to cook me gluten free breakfast (with GF toast) and dinner. The cook and servers understood cross-contamination! And the food was really good and not over priced.

The camp sites were clean, not too close, by the fantastic bath&shower facility and had grills for charcoal/wood cooking.

Showers&bath facility couldn't have been better. It was very clean.

Mike, the GM, was friendly and wonderful. He showed is to our tent site the first night and took very good care of my husband and I.

I would recommend camping here to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjhath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion National Park
4.7 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 1 in Zion National Park
2,044 reviews
8.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
8.1 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#3 of 17 in Springdale
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
8.2 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#4 of 17 in Springdale
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort

Address: Twin Knolls Road, PO Box 5547, Zion National Park, UT 84755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Zion National Park
Price Range: $74 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the top of Zion National Park amidst a forest of Ponderosa pine trees, Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort offers great lodging options; Vacation Homes, Cabins Suites, Cowboy Cabins, Western Wagons, and RV / Tent Campground. We offer excellent dining services at our Blue Belly Grill and Gus & Rosey's restaurants. We offer more activities on-property than any resort in the region, including horseback riding, jeep tours, zip line, climbing wall, canyoneering / hiking excursions, ATV tours, miniature golf, paint ball, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Hotel Zion National Park
Zion Ponderosa Hotel
Zion Ponderosa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing