We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Michael made our stay special” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Michael made our stay special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Zion Ponderosa was a great place to stay. We were tent camping, but the cabins looked really nice too. They had a great pool, miniature golf, and clean bathrooms with many showers. When we arrived Michael (the manager) immediately asked if we were interested in hiking and showed us the way to a back trail that leads to Observation point in zion. It was such a great hike. The food at their restaraunt was very good, but the waitress seemed indifferent to the customers, not very friendly. That was our only complaint.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    247
    93
    67
    44
See reviews for
374
214
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

La Mesa is an amazing cabin to stay at! It is spacious, clean and has all the amenities you can ask for. Space and cleanliness are huge for me so I really appreciated that. There is so much room to hang out with family and friends. It is a perfect location and has an awesome jacuzzi. I will definitely stay there again!

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura60097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Zions national park is one of my favorite places in the world. Zion Ponderosa is located a few miles east of Zions. My family had one of the best vacations ever here. All in a weekend we were able to go hiking, Jeep Trail, Shoot Clay pigeons, go down a zip line, and go horse back riding. Our favorite was going swimming everyday. It was a super relaxing vacation for us. It was a lot of fun!! It was like camping with out camping.
The restaurant was a waste of money. The server he acted as if he did not want to be there. I would recommend taking your own food or going into town to a restaurant.
My family is planning on going here at least once a year. It was fantastic!! I would advise people to buy the voucher package. I think it was around $109 for 10 vouchers it made it a lot more affordable for the activities.

Room Tip: The cowboy cabins was nice. It is close to camping with a bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bkwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Zion Ponderosa is an all encompasing resort in the wilderness. It is on the North Side of the Park and has an awesome pool, spa, and activities for everyone!. We stayed in one of the Cabin Homes called La Mesa! It was perfect and has a horseshoe pit, jacuzzi under the stars and plenty of living space. We dined on the huge deck overlooking the mountains. This resort is only about 10 minutes from the park which is an excellent location. I would highly recommend this mountain cabin home for anyone looking for upscale accomodations visiting the park.

Room Tip: Rent the La Mesa mountain home! It was perfect and felt like home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I rented one of the cowboy cabins with three family members. It was very clean but I was really disappointed that there was absolutely no privacy. The cabins are located on the main road going into the resort. About 30 feet behind the cabin, there was a tent camper. The only restaurants nearby (other than at the Ranch was closed at 11 am) is to go through Zion National Park to Springdale. The little cabin does not have a stove only a microwave. All of the employees were very friendly. But next time, I would stay in Springdale but this was my first visit to the area and that would be my suggestion.

Room Tip: Either rent one of the larger cabins with a full kitchen or stay in Springdale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patstnt0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

The campground in Zion NP was full, so we camped 2 nights at Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort. On the surface, the resort looks good as you are driving in. After a few days, you realize that they have not spent a dime on the upkeep of the resort since it has been open. One of the hot tubs was cold, the showers needed repair, the campground is nothing more than a few areas of "almost level" ground. Why can't the resort invest in laying out parcels of level ground covered with loose gravel? I tell you why this was a problem; we needed to move our tents after dark because we camped in the "wrong" campsite. We believed we were in the correct campsite, but the map we were provided was incorrect! Beware of campsite #9!! The maps shows them in the usual 8-9-10 order, but in reality they are ordered 8-10-9!! What do you think the odds are of finding a level piece of ground in the dark to pitch your tent? Of course, all of the campsites are more or less the same, so why we needed to move at all was a mystery! As advised by another reviewer, you will be asked to make a reservation at the restaurant for dinner. Don't call the restaurant to change your reservation time. The guy that answers the phone will think you are crazy! Needless to say, I doubt they care when you show up since the restaurant was never busy. Although their service seems to be hectic, they do serve some good food fairly quickly. If I had paid more than the $8/person/night camping fee, I would only give this resort a rating of 2. I doubt I will stay there again. It is not that quiet either. The manager likes to run around on his motorcycle making sure things are in order. Heaven forbid someone camps in the wrong campsite.....ANARCHY!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

When we first booked our stay here I admit we were apprehensive at first and thought it would be a little cheesy and boring.
We stayed in cabin suite #16 which is away from the other cabins to the west. The cabin was amazing, clean, and exceeded our expectations. A charcoal BBQ is outside for you to cook your own meals and there is a micro fridge and a sink and microwave to cover the rest of the meal and clean up. We brought our own cooler to meet our needs and were fine.
Cabin suites have heat and AC and the bathroom was fine. Queen sized bunk beds in the bedroom were huge and the pull out bed in the main room was a full size.
We did not eat at the restaurants so I can't comment on those but they did have a wait on Friday and they were not open for lunch. (Brown Bags were offered)
The activities were great for our 4 year old but will be even better when she is older. She enjoyed the pool with two water slides and two hot tubs (both were working), climbing wall, horse and mule rides, and the bungee trampoline. We didn't get a chance to try the mini golf or the ATV's or the zip line but they had a lot of takers. There are several jeep and ATV trails around the ranch that we took our FJ out on by ourselves.
We definitely plan to go back when she can do more of the activities, they even have a kids club that you can drop the kids off with and enjoy the park or the Spa.
All of the staff and the activity hosts were excellent.

Room Tip: Cabins away from the pool will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdotchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion National Park
4.7 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
8.1 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
8.2 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#12 of 16 in Springdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
8.4 mi away
Flanigan's Inn
Flanigan's Inn
#5 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort

Property: Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Address: Twin Knolls Road, PO Box 5547, Zion National Park, UT 84755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zion National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the top of Zion National Park amidst a forest of Ponderosa pine trees, Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort offers great lodging options; Vacation Homes, Cabins Suites, Cowboy Cabins, Western Wagons, and RV / Tent Campground. We offer excellent dining services at our Blue Belly Grill and Gus & Rosey's restaurants. We offer more activities on-property than any resort in the region, including horseback riding, jeep tours, zip line, climbing wall, canyoneering / hiking excursions, ATV tours, miniature golf, paint ball, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Hotel Zion National Park
Zion Ponderosa Hotel
Zion Ponderosa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing