We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rebuilt lodge , after the original burnt down beautiful in the middle of the park.”
Review of Zion Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zion Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Zion national park is majestic. Good stewarding of this land one can only tour now by bus. Every seven minutes approximately the busses stop on the tours to take in sights that circle the park. One of these stops which one can get on or off at any given time is the
Lodge. It is an unforgettable experience spending the night.
It is the ultimate in the tour of this area. The lobby has gift store and other amenities restaurants. Pack layers of clothing the altitudes and the sun going down make several different temperatures sometimes very rapidly. Watch professional rock climbers scale chimney rock to the very top! Walking sticks are used by many seasoned back country mountaineers.
Unforgettable and a must do, at least once. This is a very special place, and to have this lodge, and so well placed wow!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,049)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,123 - 1,129 of 2,049 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

Although this park lodge is not in the same catagory of coolness as the park lodges in Yosimite and Yellowstone and driving is not as big a deal, I would still recommend staying here and being in the park. The room was Ok, the resturant was actually pretty decent and there was a little karma of staying in the park.
We spent 3 nights and were very active, hiked the Narrows first, then Angels landing on day 2, then the Subway on day 3 in mid June. Wore Keen sandals and had trekking poles for the Narrows which was perfect. It is a must do. We hiked for 8 hours of incredible. Angels Landing was so different, don't chicken out and start early before extreme heat. We had to apply early for the Subway permit, a much harder hike but very rewarding. They only allow a small number in so it is very different than the other places we went which were full of people.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolynschut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a cabin at Zion Lodge. It was very basic for $250 a night! The drain plug didn't work in the tub and the sink drained slowly. The furnishings were ok. I didn't expect the Ritz, but I did expect something in better shape. The location is great, but I was not impressed with our cabin.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marmc60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Zion Lodge is without doubt in the best location for exploring the park. It's right in the middle of the park in the midst of all the hiking trails.

However the accommodation is pricey for what you get - a lot of what you pay for is the location (which to some degree is fair enough). We stayed in a 2 Double Cabin, which are the little huts to the right of the actual lodge. If you're thinking of booking one of these then be prepared for rustic charm, not luxury! There's no TV, no iPod dock, no air con or fancy bathroom. If you want this then you might be better looking at their hotel rooms. The cabins are also a LOT smaller than they look in the clever photos online. The sleeping part of the cabin itself, although pretty small, is actually quite charming - once you realise the significance of what you're staying in. The hotel does a poor job of explaining this on their website, but the cabins actually date back to 1927 and are on the US National Registry of Historic Places. Although they were renovated in 2010 the cabins have been fitted out in a historical fashion; for example the light fittings are hand forged in a Utah studio as per the original designs, curtains and blankets custom designed upon the original Indian blanket seen in old photos, and furniture is produced in Indiana as per the original period dresser and chair with the same wood and handles. If you appreciate this then you'll be better placed to enjoy the cabins (we did after reading this info in the cabin booklet). Bear in mind though that as these cabins are so old, sound insulation is non-existent! I am quite deaf, but can hear people talking and moving around in adjacent cabins.

One really cool thing you get in the cabin is your own large, remote controlled gas fire. You also get a decent safe to secure belongings. On the downside, the bathroom - no matter how 'original' they allegedly are - is awful. The bath (described in a misleading way on the lodge website as full bath) is tiny and the shower over is absolutely rubbish. In fact the bathroom reminds me of hostels I stayed in 10 years ago! For the price they should be much better, regardless of the history (which I think is an excuse for a cheap bathroom in this instance). I also think the whole place could be cleaner, for sure the housekeeping staff did not clean the bathroom or floor after our first night's stay, or empty the bins. In my opinion, when paying $200+ per night this should be a given.

There are 2 places you can buy food at Zion Lodge. The main restaurant, the Red Rock Grill, is fabulous. Dinner is reasonably priced and very high quality with good service. You can also order sack lunches from here for less than $10 to pick up the next day and take on a hike, which were pretty good. The Castle Dome Cafe on the other hand is awful, very cheap fast food with nowhere to sit inside if it's a bit chilly like first thing in the morning.

As I said initially though, the location is spot on. You can walk straight out of your cabin and do the Emerald Pool trails, or take the shuttle bus down one stop to the Grotto to do the epic trail up to Scouts Lookout, and onto Angels Landing if you're feeling brave (we decided it was too dangerous for us!).

Overall glad we stayed here, but feel the price is too high for what you get, despite the excellent location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in a standard lodge room in one of the buildings adjacent to the 'main' lodge and couldn't have been happier. The room was average and clean, albeit a bit dated.

We asked for a room on the 'front' of the lodge, which I'd strongly recommend as the 'rear' rooms have no view in comparison to the front.

We spent countless hours on our balcony which, although on the ground floor, was still fairly private, and marveled at the scenery of staying on the canyon floor and the abundant wildlife.

We noted that the cabins had significantly less outdoor/sitting space, which would've been an issue for us.

The beds were comfortable and the building was quiet at night, allowing for peaceful sleeping.

Although the town of Springdale is just outside one of the entrances, this park, more than the others we visited, seemed more remote. We were thankful that we brought adult beverages and snacks with us so that we didn't have to make the trek out for necessaries. Although there wasn't a refrigerator (in a $200/night room, that's pretty unacceptable!) there was an ice machine down the hall.

The 'main' lodge has a gift shop (with a very interesting section of 'pawned' Indian jewelry), seating and the dining room, which is one story up (with an elevator for those with difficulties climbing stairs.) We ate a few meals in the dining room and enjoyed the level of service, the food, and the views.

There is something truly magical about Zion National Park, and being able to stay within it was a real treat that we'd do again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BusinessTraveler04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Staying inside the park was the best - this is some statement because the town is also totally charming - when you stay inside the park you get to wake up to the most spectacular views, go for a hike before breakfast and lounge when you want. Plus the breakfast was incredible with delightful service!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at the Lodge in Zion National Park and had a wonderful experience. We had a suite that allowed me to roam around in the morning without waking my husband, and I enjoyed my early morning coffee on our balcony and had a spectacular! view of the mountain in front of us. Deer and their fauns, as well as wild turkeys, entertained us within feet of the lodge. The Red Rocks restaurant at the Lodge had a wonderful and varied menu, and if the weather is nice, you can sit on the deck to enjoy the views. I highly recommend both the Lodge for accommodations and the restaurant for dinner.

Room Tip: Try to book a room/suite in the Lodge. Our fellow travelers thought the cabins were a bit primitive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion National Park
4 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#3 of 17 in Springdale
1,203 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#4 of 17 in Springdale
1,952 reviews
5.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Springdale Zion National Park
4.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Lodge

Address: PO Box 925, Zion National Park, UT 84767-0925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zion National Park
Price Range: $161 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zion Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zion Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Hotel Zion National Park
Zion Hotel Springdale
Zion Lodge Utah
Zion Utah
Lodge National Park Zion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing