We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (3,171)
Filter reviews
2,803 results
Traveler rating
2,501
258
40
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,501
258
40
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wall street neoprene socks walking stick water shoes the river rented shoes zion outfitters dry bag orderville canyon mid thigh ankle support water depth special shoes waterproof camera your feet unique hike slippery rocks
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,803 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

I and my wife did this on Nov8th, 2018. We rented the neoprene sock, waterproof shoes, walking stick and wetsuit/dry pants. I would recommend renting these proper gear in order to have a wonderful experience and doesn't feel cold. The hiking stick was helpful a lot in order to maintain balance and does not fall in the river while hiking. 
The Wall Street is just after the Orderville canyon(this comes on the right as you hike) where you see two can big canyons getting very narrow. It took around 5 hours round trip for us(we hiked until Wall street). The distance is 2.5 miles one way from Temple of Sinnawana(the place where we start the hike to narrows) to Orderville canyon and wall street.

1  Thank sandeepkumarn2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

The Narrows is the best hike ever! I’ve done it 3 times. Twice in the summer months, June and July. This last time was in October, we rented water boots and dry pants and a hiking stick.
The day was beautiful, sunny and in the high 60 s. If you go to ZION this hike is a must do!

Thank Cheri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Notes:
- the water level was very low, highest points were at mid-thigh
- the entire hike is downhill

The recommended hiking time for this hike is 12 hours, my husband and I were able to complete it in 8 1/2. Awesome hike!! This time of year I would only recommend for the highly determined, as we started the morning with ice along the river and air temperatures about 20 degrees. It’s about a 90 minute drive (take the shuttle) on very rough dirt roads to the private land trailhead.

We rented dry suits from the Zion Adventure Company, worth every penny! Your feet still get wet though, so the first two hours or so were a bit of torture with how cold the water was. After that it began to warm a bit and then it was tolerable.

Hike the first 6 miles as fast as you can, as the terrain is easier. Further south the water is deeper and the rocks are larger, both of which slow you down. The green algae on the sunny sections is wicked slippery! With only ten hours of daylight in November, you have to move quickly.

Remember that a top-down hike requires a wilderness permit applied for in advance, if you are considering this trek.

The Narrows section up north is just as if not more spectacular than the more visited southern section, and few get to see it.

Great adventure to add to the conquered list.

Thank 487melissah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

My husband and I hiked the Narrows late November last year and it was one of the breathtaking hikes we have ever had. We felt like we were in a different world altogether. We hiked for about 6 hours round trip and the narrowed section of canyons were amazing. Rent your gear from Zion Adventure company and start the hike as early in the morning as possible to beat the crowds and return by sunset. Take your every step with caution as some small rocks may be slippery. Use the pole to check for potholes before placing your foot.

Thank Aarthi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Outfitted with canyoneering boots, wet socks, dry pull up bibs and sticks, two sixty year olds made the 10 mile round trip AND LOVED IT! Took four hours upstream and three back but we actually got to campsite number twelve before turning back.

The experience was unique, hard but so worthwhile..... we spent half our time in the water at 42 degrees and air 45. We had long underwear on bottom under the dry pants and were never cold! Three thin layers on top plus gloves and a hat can allow you to have this unbelievable experience. We set off on the second bus and were in the water from 0800 until 1500 with a couple additional miles to get to the put in....

Beautiful colors, spectacular vistas and because we went early, had the place mostly to ourselves, except on returning....

Be properly prepared and this experience helps you understand why it’s a top ten hike in the US.

Thank Chicagonative_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We tackled this hike in the beginning of November. It was pleasantly warm out, although chilly water temperatures made us turn back before the Wall, as water was waist deep from that point forward. The hike was fun, and getting to explore a slot canyon was exciting. Definitely on the bucket list to come back and complete this hike in warmer weather. Being more prepared (shoes, dry trousers, pole) would have been useful. An absolute must if in Zion.

Thank shaunan2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We hiked this in early November, and it is definitely not for the faint of heart! Temperatures were in the 30s, which meant the water was even colder.

We brought our own equipment, all of which were very much needed — trekking poles, hat, gloves, waterproof jacket, thermal clothing, wool socks, neoprene socks, Merrell shoes (all out blaze aero), and wetsuit pants. Make sure you check the weather before attempting this hike and layer up!

The trickiest parts were navigating the water rocks, which were slippery, and walking against the current. In both cases, having the trekking poles came especially in handy.

The actual hike itself was beautiful. We didn’t make it to the end due to time constraints, but it is definitely a hike I would do again. Doing this hike in early November also meant that we beat the crowds — only a handful of people were doing this hike at the same time we were.

This is a must-do when visiting Zion; it’s a unique experience you won’t find anywhere else. Just make sure you’re prepared for the weather conditions!

Thank nailapants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Walked the Virgin River "Narrows" on 11/6/18 from 8 AM to 4 PM. Rented the night before specially designed river hiking boots, neoprene booties, walking stick, and waterproof waders that come up to your upper waist for $50 each from Adventure Tours; great service. Your feet get wet and sometimes cold, but you're dry from your ankles up. Water temp was 48 degrees and air temp about the same; flow was 46 cubic feet per second in areas where it was 18 inches deep, which is moderately difficult to walk through. Walking on slippery rocks that you sometimes cannot see is very challenging; nobody in our group fell in the water but we went pretty slow...about half as fast as a normal slow walk on flat ground. From the last park tram stop (Temple of Sinawava) to the start of the Virgin River Narrows is 1 mile on flat wide paved Riverwalk trail. You leave the Trail and walk right into the river...a wild experience. We walked past "floating rock" and almost to the end of the river section called "wall street"; about 2.5 miles each way; our total trail and river hike distance was 7 miles. We took day packs and had lunch at the halfway point. There are no bathrooms or water on the Narrows, so be prepared. We wore winter weight jackets; it is colder in the narrows than on the Riverwalk trail leading to the Narrows. The dramatically vertical 1,000 ft high rock walls on either side of the 20 - 60 ft yard wide river were spectacular; sunlight reflects on the walls. When we finished we were all exhausted but loved the challenge.

1  Thank jim727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic hiking experience. Was the highlight of our 5 day hiking trip. We rented the Dry Pant Package from Zion Outfitters and it was worth the extra expense. The hike was not crowded at all and we went to Wall Street and back in about 5 hours. We started around 11am. Stopped to eat lunch and took lots of pictures. If you go to Zion, put this hike on your list. Absolutely stunning!

Thank Kristine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have been to Zion, National Park numerous times, but but this was my first time to hike the Narrows. Wore rubber water shoes to protect my feet from the rocky river bottom. The 1.5-mile walk from the bus stop to the river was beautiful. The Virgin river meandering between boulders and trees was a sight to behold. The water was cold as I plunged into it. It was ankle deep at the start. After a half hour the water was up to my waist. The narrowing canyon walls and the force of riverflow against my legs we daunting but magnificent. It was thrilling.

I highly recommend hoking the narrows at Zion, National Park

Thank K28_AM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews