We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful drive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kolob Terrace Road

Kolob Terrace Road
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A winding road that climbs to a high elevation with beautiful scenery and very few visitors
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful drive on a well paved road. Turning onto Lava Point Road there were some pot holes but we were in a Toyota Corolla and had no problem. Gorgeous view from the top of lava point. Worth the drive.

Helpful?
1 Thank lantanaranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    14
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
351 reviews
207 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“road all to myself, too bad for the rest of you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

no one else in sight, which suits me fine... the snow showers and fog served to enhance the incredible beauty to be found along this road, which is easily accessible... past trips with my daughter, we camped here, rewarded with clear sky filled with stars, even a few meteors... even then, very few others were on road, so do not think it was weather keeping folks away, people just do not realize what they are missing

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank uckbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not Quite Zion”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We arrived in Las Vegas for a long planned bucket-list trip to the national parks the night before the government shutdown. Thank you Congress! Thank goodness for the NV, UT, CO, AZ state parks and Native American tourist sites. Just to the west of Zion National Park is a very small town called Virgin and a road leading north called Kolob Reservoir Road. In part it skirts the western edge of the park and provides access to several of the park’s trails. For our purpose it served as an alternative for exploring the Kolob Canyon area while the park was closed. Those portions of the road that are not in park land provide some interesting sights. Our favorite was Lambs Knoll. Park on teh dirt road and follow the hiking trail to the base of the mountain and you will find a slot canyon – not for the claustrophobic. Of course this pales in comparison to Zion itself but if you want a diversion into some of the back country, it is an interesting ride.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TS26_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Drove up in the dark...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

and pitched our camp at Lava Point. We awoke to find wonderful scenery, beautiful aspen trees and and breathtaking overlooks near the campground. But, the real prize was the drive back down Kolob Terrace. Road. Every turn will amaze you, and leave you speechless with the beauty of the scenery. It's about a 25 miles drive up from Virgin UT, but don't miss it. Even if you do not camp or explore the Kolob Reservoir, the scenery from the road makes it a side trip worth exploring.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CindyPendley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
173 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice uncrowded views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Accessed in Virgin, UT (about 13 miles outside of Zion's west entrance). This is a narrow paved and curvy road that winds its way up to a reservoir and then you come down again. The views are great and not many other vehicles encountered, even in the height of the season. There are some trail heads along the way but I believe they may require a permit. Peaceful and a worthwhile drive if you have the time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Meezermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kolob Terrace Road also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Kolob Terrace Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing