We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Paradise”
Review of Zion's Main Canyon

Zion's Main Canyon
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$227.99*
and up
Bryce Canyon National Park Small-Group Tour from Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The most popular route through Zion, which includes the famous top-to-bottom Narrows Hike, Weeping Rock, Emerald Pools, and Hidden Canyon.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Red Paradise”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This park is highly attended because of its location.

There are all kinds of trails that will fit every schedule you have for the park.

The main road also offers amazing views. If you are lucky, you'll be able to spot some wildlife.

In summer they have a free shuttle service that is mandatory for reaching certain places.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChipoChipolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,058
    149
    26
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bothell, WA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was my second trip to Zion; first time was back in 1996 and we didn't have the chance to spend much time in the park. This time my husband and I had the opportunity to spend several days camping just outside of the park so we were able to spend time exploring Zion. We participated in three modest hikes which offered some breathtaking views of the canyon. The shuttle service was fabulous and made it easy for us to get around the park. You must see Zion at least once in your lifetime!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tabbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, California
Level Contributor
410 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Snow Added to the Beauty”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Even if it is too cold for a hike, Zion's is worth a drive. The views are beautiful, even from the car. It had snowed the night before we went and the contrast of the white snow and red rock was beautiful. Wild turkey and deer were out everywhere. Even saw quite a few buck. It is $25 per car to get in.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank theheatonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, Utah
Level Contributor
246 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Worth a trip from anywhere, great views great hiking”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I have been coming to Zion since 2004. We've done all of the canyon and most of the back country hikes and never get tired of the views and hikes. We are day hikers so we can't comment on camping in Zion but so far we haven't found a bad day hike. Hikes can range from easy walks(Par'us TRAIL 1.5 mi. paved and flat with great views) to very strenuous hikes (West Rim Lava Point to the Grottoo 17 mi), so there is something for all skill levels. If you are a seriuos hiker there are many canyoneering and climbing options. .in addition to the main canyon it is worth a trip up to Lava Point (and hiking down the west rim to the canyon is spectacular), a trip to the Kolob section (where a hike to Kolob arch is well worth the effort and continuing on the Bear Trap falls is sublime ) and a drive through the tunnel to the east side of the park (consider a hike to Deertrap mountain or Cable mountain for spectacular views) .
We'd suggest staying in Springdale or on the west side of the canyon as it's closer to the buses and main canyon. If you stay of the east side expect it to take about 30 minutes to get from the park entrance to the visitors center.
While you are hiking be sure and carry lots of water (about 2 x what you think you'll need), most first time visitors don't and end up slightly dehydrated.
Expect temp's in the 100 degrees June through August and 80's to 90's May and June, Aprilmay , Sept. and Oct. are comfortable. The winter (November through March are less crowded but you may lose the upper hikes due to snow (unless you like to hike in the snow).
A visit to Zion is something that should be on everyones bucket list.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keosauqua, Iowa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Zion's”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Zion's is amazing. If given the opportunity hike Angel's Landing. It is a fairly strenuous hike, so allow sufficient time, and take water. If you have difficulty with "heights" I would recommend that you not do go.,, some of the drop offs fall, what appears to be, a thousand feet or more. That said, if you make it to the top you will have a great vista and well earned bragging rights.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zion's Main Canyon also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Zion's Main Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing