We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hike To Hidden Canyon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zion's Main Canyon

Zion's Main Canyon
Book In Advance
More Info
$629.99*
and up
3-Day National Parks Camping Tour: Zion, Bryce Canyon, Monument Valley and...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The most popular route through Zion, which includes the famous top-to-bottom Narrows Hike, Weeping Rock, Emerald Pools, and Hidden Canyon.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Hike To Hidden Canyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

It's almost ALL UP HILL.....but then most hikes are either up or down. We started early. We took the first bus out to be ahead of the crowds and be in shade for the hike. There was still traffic on the trail. A big Mulie Buck and 2 Doe. Late October is rut for deer so they can be a tad protective and could charge. The trail is paved most of the way but is narrow. The views are spectacular and worth the hike. If you are out of shape just take it easy and be sure to carry water and a camera. You'll need it. The colors are just unbelievable. Again early in the day the sun won't bother you. Go as fair as you feel comfortable......it's the journey not the destination.
On your trip back down go to your right and stop at the Grotto (Hanging Gardens). It's worth the short detour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,041
    146
    25
    12
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Tomas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“THIS IS THE SUBWAY. A WORLD CLASS HIKE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

One could not find a better photo to sample the beauty of Zions. Zion
Canyon is up-close and intimate. It is a totally different experience from looking into the Grand Canyon where miles and miles of "down there" remove your breath. Zion is like a close friend.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank milomccowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papaikou, Hawaii
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hiking galore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I keep returning to Zion National Park,wonderful hiking,viewing wildlife,great photography,end of October is great time to visit,less crowds an you can drive into resort.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mkualoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Loved it. Fabulous scenery in this park. Shuttle makes it very easy to get around. Weeping rock is a must see. Lots to see for all levels of fitness. Red rocks are amazing. Lots of deer.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dianaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I can’t say that I have ever been to a National Park that I have not been impressed with, and Zion is no exception. The reds are spectacular and the shuttle bus is informative and makes getting around the park a breeze! There are a few good hikes that are short and sweet (just what we were looking for after hiking 60 miles the previous week). The River Walk, along the Virgin River was beautiful and kind to sore muscles. Of course, since it was so pleasant, it was also very crowded, so take it as an easy stroll and you will find it to be much more pleasant. The Watchman hike is much less crowded and provides an interesting view of the canyon walls, wildlife and flora. Well worth the effort on the trail, even though the view at the turn-a-round isn’t much (as far as other areas of the park are considered). The only other trail we partook in was the Emerald Pools. Short hike, but I was not impressed. I’m sure it is a much more spectacular site in the spring and early summer, but by early October, the water flow was a trickle and a little sad. Everyone hiking in water boots through the Narrows wanted me to start planning our next adventure at Zion! That seems like it is the hike to take. The other “must” hike at the park is Angles’ Landing. If you looked up at the summit, with binoculars, from The Bend, you can see tons of people making their way along the chain of the last leg! Seems like a most popular hike!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank hikerbepw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zion's Main Canyon also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Zion's Main Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing