We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic copper mining site”

Kennecott Copper Mine
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Kennicott Glacial Lake Stand Up Paddle Board Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A massive copper mine which closed in 1938.
Harstad, Troms, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Historic copper mining site”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

A beautiful historic mine site in the middle of a fantastic national park. The rangers were very helpful in giving tours and although the mill was closed for construction the story of the preservation construction work is an additional engineering feat. We took a walk to root glacier as toured the site within one day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    21
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of the best locations”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Getting here is hard. 200 miles on the paved road, then 60 miles on a dirt road. Staying in McCarthy is mandatory but rewarding. Once here, the mine buildings are fabulously preserved and the guides were extremely friendly and informative. If experiencing rugged Alaska without getting too rugged, is on your agenda, this is the place to do it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank aiscifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“30th Anniversary Alaska Trip”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were only at the mine for a short time as we had to make sure we caught our flight back to Chitina. As a result we were not able to take the guided tour and just walked around the mine. The areas that had been restored like the general store were wonderfully done. The signage and the history of the mine was incredible. With some engineering background I was amazed at the feat of constructing the mine originally and even more so with the work that is being done to restore it. The views of the mountains and the glacier from the mine were fantastic. We hope to return to Alaska in 2 years and will definitely try to return to the mine to take the tour and see the progress on the restoration.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank as3dgfad6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Interesting tour to take”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Paying for the tour is the only way to get inside some of the old mining buildings (although my house is as old as these buildings!). This place produced billions of $ in today's money - the most prolific copper mine in the world (they said). What is more amazing is how they managed to build the power station etc when they were in the middle of nowhere and even when the power plant burnt down, they rebuilt it in days. There was even a school, hospital ...Takes 2 hours drive on the dirt road, then a bus up to the mine from the foot bridge.
After the tour, do the root glacier trail (easy). Watch for bears.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SkiingHeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ks
Level Contributor
331 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Take the tour. It's fascinating!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

There are several historic mines in Alaska, and Kennecott is one of the most imposing and interesting. Take the guided tour, because there is much to learn and the guides are quite knowledgeable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kennecott Copper Mine also viewed

McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
Kennicott, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
 
Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve, AK
Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Kennecott Copper Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing