We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
There IS beauty in North Dakota!!

Many people think North Dakota is completely flat, boring farms and grasslands, with a few oil boom... read more

Reviewed October 10, 2018
Raintree_Thailand
,
Bangkok, Thailand
A definite must visit

In my opinion, the north unit of TR National Park is the best site to see. I got there around 830am... read more

Reviewed September 3, 2018
JNFII
,
Stamford, Connecticut
via mobile
Read all 119 reviews
  
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveler rating
78
34
6
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
34
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oxbow overlook watford city missouri river scenic drive bison nature trail longhorn cattle visitor center picnic area national park prairie dog towns the oil boom north dakota great hiking quiet park two lane passing trucks
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 118 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2018

Many people think North Dakota is completely flat, boring farms and grasslands, with a few oil boom towns thrown in for good measure. But, tucked in the far west of the state is some beautify landscape. The North Dakota Badlands are all the more attractive alongside the vast openness of the rest of the state. We enjoyed the North Unit short road (14 miles) with lots of overlooks and neat geology (the cannonball concretions very interesting). Saw quite a few bison, including some close up.

Thank Raintree_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

In my opinion, the north unit of TR National Park is the best site to see. I got there around 830am and very glad I did. There’s not much of a visitor center, which is currently located just inside the main gate, in a modular trailer unit. The rangers are very helpful and informative. I was told the bison herds were up around mile 10/11 of the park road. They were absolutely right. Since I arrived well before all of the tourists did, I came across a 25-head heard and was able to spend 20 minutes alone with them. Beautiful creatures and very docile as long as you remain calm, and non-threatening.
There are many vistas, turnouts and places to hike along the way. Do not miss this site and all that it has to offer.

Thank JNFII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

The North Unit of Theodore Roosevelt National Park is about an hour’s drive from Medora. Unusually hot July temperatures caused us to discard some of our trail plans, but we still had a great few hours in the park. We had planned to hike the Caprock-Coulee Trail and the Achenback Trail to Sperati Point, but it was just too hot.

We stopped at the Cannonball Concretions Pullout where we saw 8 – 10 bison in the distance walking toward us; we watched a while and then left to give them space. We found more bison encounters -- a half dozen bison on the road to Oxbow Overlook and another bison below the trail at Oxbow Overlook.

We found nice views in the park – a good variety of grass, rock, and river. We lunched at the picnic area near Little Mo Trail and then walked the trail -- not a great trail, but it was the best we could do with low energy in the heat. Whatever the temperature, mobility, and ability, anyone can find much to appreciate at the North Unit.

Thank RetiredTravelerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

Don't miss this extraordinary, scenic wonderland! Opportunities abound to see bison, deer and other wildlife! Slow down and see the wonderment of our world!

Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

We did both the North Unit and South Unit in 1 day. The North is much shorter but was equally thrilling because we had a large herd of bison cross the road in front of us. We drove up from Rapid City SD and it was well worth the drive.

Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

The north unit is beautiful. Only a bit farther north than the south unit, but somehow a bit greener, which makes the contrast of colors and geologic layers even more beautiful. We had read that the north unit was great for views, but not wildlife. However, we saw plenty of prairie dogs, and an entire herd bison. We parked at the pull off for the Caprock Coulee nature trail, and then hiked to the prairie dog town, which was about 1.5 miles. A few of bison wandered over the trail we were on and were close enough that we had to back off to the side to give them space. The prairie dogs are shyer here because they see fewer people. But if you have time to just sit and wait, then they come out. I think one reason for comments about less wildlife in the north is that in the south unit, the prairie dog towns are right along the road. That brings the wildlife generally closer to the road, and so more visible even if you don't get out of your car. The prairie dog towns in the south unit are also much larger than the one we hiked to, so more bustling. Here, however, it was just us and the prairie dogs. Two different experiences, both lovely.

Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

It was well worth the extra drive to see this beautiful section of the park. We felt like we practically had the place to ourselves. At many pullouts we were the only car or one of just a few. The view at River Bend Overlook and the cannon balls by the Buckhorn Trailhead should not be missed. We also enjoyed the a Little Mo Nature Trail and the Oxbow Overlook.

We saw a lot of bison, including a big guy who wallowed in the dust right by the road. Also saw longhorn cattle at the river.

Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018

As part of a tour of North Dakota's National Park sites, visited both sections of the Theodore Roosevelt Park. I had previously been to the South Unit and would return there after visiting the North Unit.

Arriving from the North, I entered the park, showed my park pass and received the park brochure. Some construction was occurring near the visitor's center (a trailer) when I arrived. The NPS personnel were helpful and willing to answer any questions I had and they suggested a few stops.

I believe the main road through the park is about a 28-mile drive out and back, unlike the South Unit's main road which is loop tour. Several areas where one can turn off to visit a few other areas exist, including the campground. Like the South Unit, the landscape is similar with the eroding landscape creating various changes to the environment. The eroded bluffs/cliffs are interesting to look at. Some unusual accretions can be found along some of the bluffs, including one are where a pullout is available. These accretions look like balls/bumps and can be easily seen.

Additionally, several overlooks provide an opportunity to see the river, however, both require a little bit of walking to see (not sure if they are easily handled by a wheelchair) one overlooks the rivers, the other overlooks the oxbow of the river.

A variety of wildlife exists in the park, however, I only saw some birds and the bison.

Overall this is a great place to visit; less crowded than the South Unit.

Thank wewhynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018

We visited both the North and South Units and found them very similar. The north unit is a little smaller and there was much fewer people here (but neither was crazy busy). Beautiful landscapes but not as many pull offs to park, but easy to pull off road to take pictures. Unfortunately, we didn't see any wildlife on our trip through the park. Similar to South Dakota Badlands but with much more trees.

Thank V9865EOmichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

Having just visited the south unit yesterday - we decided to go north today for a comparison.
We thought the north was so much more interesting - rock formations more varied and like Badlands in South Dakota
We felt the south unit lacked that
Also had a great engagement with a large herd of bison
All in all- worth the drive

Thank jfadds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews