We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Landscapes and wildlife!

Fabulous landscapes, made all the more striking when contrasted with the miles and miles of boring... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Raintree_Thailand
,
Bangkok, Thailand
We saw buffalo, prairie dogs, wild horses

We arrived at South Unit entry at noon. Waited 10 minutes for pilot car to come (just enough time... read more

Reviewed September 19, 2018
Beth Brown L
via mobile
Read all 194 reviews
  
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
152
36
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
152
36
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buck hill wild horses prairie dogs the loop wind canyon national park bison visitor center north dakota painted canyon teddy roosevelt maltese cross beautiful park turkey few hours scenic drive badlands overlook
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fabulous landscapes, made all the more striking when contrasted with the miles and miles of boring flat landscape in most of the rest of the state. We especially enjoyed the 36-mile scenic loop drive, with many overlooks and lots of wildlife. The 17-minute movie in the visitor center provides a great introduction to the park. Lots of wildlife: mule deer, bison, prairie dogs, hawks, and wild horses. The Teddy Roosevelt log cabin is very interesting.

Thank Raintree_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

We arrived at South Unit entry at noon. Waited 10 minutes for pilot car to come (just enough time to make our lunch in our motorhome) and we went up on the road. Drive affords gorgeous views and we saw 10-15 buffalo up close (feeding and crossing the road in front of us). We also saw many prairie dogs (also very close to the road and so cute!)
We were 3/4 way out before we saw 6 wild horses grazing on a nearby knoll. We were back down to entrance gate within 2 hours, and so happy we did this! With my National Park pass, it was free.

Thank Beth Brown L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

There was construction on the main road that caused delays, plus the Visitors Center parking lot. I toured at the middle of the day, so there were very few animals to be found. The prairie dog towns were cute. A few tiny herds of horses, and the bison were far off the road. Parked at the picnic tables at Cottonwood (?) campground for lunch, which was a very nice experience. I hope to go back and explore all of it.

Thank jaimn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

We chose to travel through ND on our way home just so we could stop and check out this National Park. We should have allowed more time. The visitors center is very nice and getting to tour the cabin and hear about some of Roosevelt's early years was worth the stop. There was construction on the roads so we chose not to do the driving tour through the park, but hope to be back some time to do that as well.

Thank bryanedwards15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

The south unit of TR National Park is good, but a bit crowded as it’s the most popular site in the park. This is also adjacent to the small village of Medora ND (major tourist trap). My recommendations are to arrive early and complete the loop drive before hoards of tourists arrive. You’ll also have a better shot of seeing wildlife in the early morning hours.

Thank JNFII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

We spent time at the Theodore Roosevelt National Park south unit visitor center late on our first afternoon; it is a very short distance from the town center. We watched the 17-minute video and checked out Teddy Roosevelt’s Maltese Cross Cabin which has been relocated to the area behind the visitor center. We found some nice offerings in the gift shop.

The next day, we returned for a full day in the south unit -- a wonderful day! The temperatures were hot, hot, hot, but sunny skies provided great views at overlooks along the loop drive. We took short trails -- Ridgeline Nature Trail, the trail at Boicourt Overlook, Wind Canyon Trail, Buck Hill, and Skyline Vista trail. We loved the views of bison, wild horses, and badlands.

Check the park website before travel to study the park/trail map and a description of the trails and other aspects of the park.

Thank RetiredTravelerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018

We had never even heard of this park before planning our trip this summer from northern Wisconsin to Colorado. We decided to go across north Dakota for the first time, and had to see the South Unit of Theodore Roosevelt National Park. It was well worth the 3 hours we spent there. Be sure to see the Visitor center first. It Is desert, so be sure you have Sun protection and water. The scenery is austere and beautiful.

Thank Madelyn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

We were there in the late afternoon during the weekend. Traffic wasn’t bad at all. The first 6 miles of the road has been scraped off and there is construction with long delays during the week. No construction on weekends! We loved seeing the buffalo! Saw 1 mustang but he was too far away for a good photo. The loop is about 36 miles and is much longer than the North Unit. We had a great time!

1  Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

Yes they are working on the south unit roads, which may cause delays of up to a half hour. However, a little patience will pay off in a big way. Tourism is down and you will get to experience the badlands and the beautiful wildlife without feeling crowded.

Highly recommend Buck Hill, Wind Canyon and Boicourt trails. Also be sure to check out the prairie dogs and the visitor center.
We saw lots of bison as well as wild horses, deer and prairie dogs and enjoyed a picnic at the picnic grounds.

1  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018

I visited the South Unit 2x and the North Unit 1x. We like both units and found the landscapes very similar, but if in the area I would visit both again. The south unit is close to Medora which has a lot of fun things to try. The park has a nice visitors center to start your trip in the park. We saw lots of animals the first day (bison, prairie dogs, longhorns, pronghorn deer, and feral horses). However, the second day the only thing we saw was prairie dogs so got lucky day 1. There were many places to pull off and park to take pics, but many times pulled off the road for some great pics. More crowded than north unit but still not very crowded compared to other national parks. The landscapes are beautiful and similar to South Dakota Badlands but with many more trees which gave the landscape another color. If you are in the area I would check out this park.

1  Thank V9865EOmichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews