We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildlife and waterfalls”
Review of Dark Hollow Falls

Dark Hollow Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wildlife and waterfalls”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Great hike. Steep but our 7 year old did it! We even met elderly hikers who conquered it. Key is take it slow , especially so you can see all the wildlife. We saw deer and a baby raccoon!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    114
    25
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Market, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This is a beautiful hike and quite worth the walk and energy it takes. Our son and his children also hike down and fly fish here. It is so beautiful all the way down to the fall and once you get to the falls it is breath taking.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank gmgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“We saw a bear”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We took this hike. It was a good starter hike. Along the way back up we saw a black bear and with 20 other people standing around and watching the bear it was very exciting to see a bear and feel safe. The hike back up is not bad at all.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depew, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“going down easy ...”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a nice family oriented trail that leads to a pretty waterwall. Going down is easy but coming back is all uphill. The trail does have some rocks and roots you have to watch for, but my grandkids (5 & 7) handled the hike well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mother Nature for the win!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Terrific payoff at the end of a short hike.

The hike itself is under two miles roundtrip if you take the direct trail. Be advised it is very steep. The return leg is all uphill. We were advised to get to the trailhead early in the day because the hike is so popular. Very good advice. We started down the trail a little before 9 a.m. and we had the falls all to ourselves. On the way back up we passed numerous folk on the way down. Driving past the Dark Hollow parking lot after lunch on our way to another hike we noticed that the parking lot had a lot of cars in it.

If you want a longer hike or don't want to do the uphill return leg you can keep on going via a fire road that will swing you back out to Skyline Drive but it does require walking along the drive for a mile or so to get back to the parking lot.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MitziMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dark Hollow Falls also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Dark Hollow Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing