We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathe in that fresh air!”
Review of Skyland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skyland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2010

If you are after a couple of nights of luxury accommodation with all the trimmings, don’t stay in a National Park. Go to a sanitised spa somewhere. If you’re after comfortable lodgings in the heart of the Shenandoah National Park with nature and fresh air then this will be right up your street.

We had room 75, which was a ‘traditional room 2’. The room looked as though it has been designed in the early days of the Park, and had changed little since, which I loved. The room was very clean with a huge comfy bed, big table and chairs, and a patio with chairs and the most perfect view over the park and onto the mountains. The room had a ceiling fan which did a great job at keeping the room cool, even with the outside temperatures hitting 90.

But the best thing about the room was the location. It’s right in the middle of Skyland Drive, so there’s no travelling to enjoy the Park. Because of the windy nature of the road, getting anywhere can take a fairly long time, so if you stay in one of the towns outside of the park, you are going to waste significant amounts of time getting to and from your accommodation.

We ate in the restaurant; the food wasn’t great and a bit pricey, but the service and views were fantastic. But then I’ve never met anyone who visits a National Park for the food.

If I ever visited Shenandoah again (and it’s well worth a visit) I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BloodyHollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,281)
There are newer reviews for Skyland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,161 - 2,167 of 2,281 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2010

I loved my stay in the Shanadoah Lodge and would come again in a minute.The overall atmosphere was great, the lobby and dinning room were up to my expectations, the entertainment which i didn't expect was very good, a nice surprise.The staff at the front desk knowlagable friendly and helpful,the staff in the dinningroom area too.When we needed assistance from the room cleaning staff (we booked the room for 3 people and ond had 2 towels), they were not as helpful. The general upkeep of the rooms themselves was not what I expected for the price I payed.There is much room for improvement in the rooms themselves.All the rest was exellent.Thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmeeei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

It's a 2 star accommodation in my opinion. The rooms are old and less then average. But clean. No standard facilities like radio, mini-bar, internet etc. But you here for having a breath taking view from you terrace from Shenandoah NP! That's the reason you want to stay here in a green environment. The food in the restaurant is great, that surprised us.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Responded to post card ad for spring special. The room rate and special discounts were quite good. Weather was a bit inclement, but were still able to hike several trails. The food and food service in the lodge restaurant were outstanding and a good value. Enjoyed the experience so much that we added a third night to our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rxstorecowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Attended the Chef's Table dinner on May 28th, the food and the service was excellent.
Despite the rain we had a beauitful evening and a great breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda_perry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

I have traveled extensively in the US to National Parks but had never been to the Shenandoah area. Skyland is an old resort and knew it was going to be rustic. That's what I like about traveling to the National Parks the nostalgia, the history, getting back to nature! The hiking, nature, scenery, the old cabins and lodges that's what it's all about, for me at least.....if I wanted cushy, clean, updated and luxurious I could stay home!!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruce21861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

Lovely countryside retreat on the middle of skyline drive. Staff were really friendly and food was ok. Rooms are basic but clean but when you are in this beautiful area and paying this price it's acceptable. Go up the Stony Man Trail from the hotel, the views at the top beat any of the ones you see from the road and it's an easy trail which will only take about 45 mins to an hour to complete there and back!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marsbar999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shenandoah National Park
6.8 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
993 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
49 reviews
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
134 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
20.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyland

Address: Skyline Dr Mile 41.7, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shenandoah National Park
Price Range: $151 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Skyland 2*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Skyland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyland Resort Luray
Skyland Hotel Luray
Skyland Resort Virginia
Skyland Virginia
Skyland Resort Shenandoah
Luray Skyland Resort
Skyland Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing