We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lol.travel
Trip.com
Algotels
StayForLong
Expedia.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,696)
Filter reviews
2,696 results
Traveler rating
1,087
1,040
354
137
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,087
1,040
354
137
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining room skyline drive premium room stony man horseback riding gift shop hiking trails ceiling fan traditional room valley view get away the wait staff big meadows coffee maker trout blackberry ice cream pie dining hall
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
372 - 377 of 2,696 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2017

We have stayed at Skyland in a traditional room (Appledore Bldg.) on 2 separate Fall weekends on the 2nd floor. The WOW view on the back private balcony of the Shenandoah Valley,VA room won't soon be forgotten. Lay back and relax and watch TV while enjoying the view, from the balcony or the bed, and know that the room, provides all the comfortable necessities imagined for a hotel cabin. And, once you settle in your room, lock up your car and walk to breakfast, lunch or dinner thru the lit wood trail to the Skyland Dining Room, or reserve your place to sample VA wines with light snacks. Or, stroll into the Mountain Taproom for dinner, snacks or drinks and enjoy nightly live entertainment from a variety of genres. Also in the dining building you'll find a delightful gift shop for necessities and/or souvenirs. Next to the dining building, is the Lodge where you check-in, and there's a huge room with a floor to ceiling window view of the Shenandoah Valley with a billowing fireplace, tv and various activities (games, puzzles, books, etc.). If you want to drive or hike the area, pick up a sandwich or snacks and beverages at the Grab-N-Go kiosk at the Lodge. Also, plan to explore the roadways on Skyine Drive, without leaving the park, where you'll see various other Lodges with Restaurants and Food, Grocery, Gas and Gift Stops. And don't forget your camera, for the many photo opportunities on Skyline Drive, as well as spotting a bear, or a deer while experiencing the various nature and wildlife of the area. We've only been in the Fall, but I'm sure the Lodges offer great fun and activity from Spring thru late Fall. ENJOY!

Room tip: Tip...Get a second floor room for the best Shenandoah Valley view.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y5942VImarxygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Nick S, General Manager at Skyland, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2017

Hello

Thank you for your comments and the great rating that you provided us
Please visit us again in 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2017

Probably a typical room for a lodge in a national park. The staff was friendly, the restaurant was good, and the entertainment (a team of cloggers) was really fun. We can't write about the views because the weather was not conducive for seeing much of anything, but the room was clean and served us well.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lgottlieb45
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Nick S, General Manager at Skyland, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2017

Hello

Thanks so much for your comments during your recent stay and we appreciate the 4 star rating that you provided us . Please visit us again in 2018 !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2017

We had a balcony room (not to far from the check in area) and a great mountain view. Understanding this is an old resort that has had recent updates will keep you from being disappointed. We were very pleased with our room, as it had obviously been recently updated and was very nice and accommodating. Opening and closing the room blinds were a bit daunting as they are very heavy. The heater is awesome and kept the room nice and warm. There was an extra blanket and pillow even though the ones on the bed were already enough. Water pressure was surprisingly good. Diner was good, food was good although our breakfast service was very poor. The diner breakfast buffet is really nice and offers a great assortment and omelet station (although they use way too much oil in the omelets imo). The walls are rather thin and the hotel paperwork clearly states the quiet hours and we had no problems. Overall we were very pleased with our stay and the cost.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bonnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Nick S, General Manager at Skyland, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2017

Hello Bonnie

Thank you for your comments and the great rating that you provided us. We hope that you will return in 2018 !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2017 via mobile

Let’s face it: the Shenandoah National Park just can’t be beat for natural relaxation and inspiration—the views are spectacular and endlessly rolling: never ever be in a hurry. For the numbers of visitors, Skyland does a great job and food and accommodations are better than adequate. Don’t go looking for five star conveniences, but a very charming 3-4 star experience depending on your expectations—you’re in the mountains folks! Beautiful!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ArlingtonVaSonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Nick S, General Manager at Skyland, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2017

Hello

Thank you for your comments and we appreciated the 4 star rating that you provided us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay. Historically significant location and buildings. Good restaurant. Good value. Stayed warm although it got down to 10 degrees.
Was disappointed that we didn’t get a room with a good view even though it was almost empty when we checked in and we stayed for 3 nights.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank BudE830
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Nick S, General Manager at Skyland, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Hello Bud

Thank you for your comments and we hope that you will visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews