We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Big Meadows Lodge(Shenandoah National Park)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Big Meadows Campground(Shenandoah National Park)
Lewis Mountain Cabins(Shenandoah National Park)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,429)
Filter reviews
2,429 results
Traveler rating
1,019
959
300
104
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,019
959
300
104
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roomskyline drivehorseback ridingstony manshenandoah valleypremium roomgift shopceiling fanhiking trailstraditional roombeautiful viewcoffee makerdining hallget awaylive musicblackberry ice creambig meadows
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 2,429 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile

We traveled as two parents with two children fourth grade and fifth grade. We stayed in the Laurel building in room 104. The room is quite large and has a patio. We were very comfortable. However the floor is just a little bit dirty and the bathroom is tiny with tired fixtures. However everything worked very well. The room above us had a very thin floor so we heard every step they made. However we were so tired from having such a great hiking that it really wasn't a bother. The restaurant has fantastic food very high quality. The staff that you encounter at every step of the way through the park is incredibly helpful and friendly. I highly recommend this for a family vacation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, General Manager at Skyland, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Hello Deborah

Thank you for your comments and for the great rating that you provided us. Please visit again soon



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile

We spent one night in Skyland back in June. We took our dog with us and booked a pet friendly room online. Our building was a Franklyn ( one store ) which is little bit far away from the office and dining room, but location was nice and we still had a great view from our balcony.
Room was pretty clean and looked updated , bathroom was still an old - style one; room had a flat screen TV , coffee maker and a small fridge. Walls were thin and we could hear some of our neighbors. Car parking was just near the entrance to our room, ice machine was outside , a short walk. We walked around the resort, my son played at the playground. I wish playground to be updated, same old stuff every year and not very safe at my opinion. We ate breakfast next morning at the main dinning room.
We had no problems during our stay, I only was upset that extra charge for a pet room hasn't been mentioned to me at check in and I thought it was already included into a room rate. My e-mail confirmation has no info about that charge as well, you need to look at the web site to see all charges.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank Tatiana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, General Manager at Skyland, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

Hello Tatiana

Thank you for your comments and we apologize that the pet fee was not communicated to you upon check in

We hope that you will visit us again in the near future


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017

This is a special place high up in the area at 3680 feet. It can be suddenly cloudy and wet. It was a welcome relief after very hot and humid DC. Our room was 149 on the upper deck of a block of wooden rooms overlooking a great view. We sat on our balcony and loved the changing light of the evening facing west and watching the sunset. The walls of the rooms are thin and you can hear dogs barking and children shouting, people conversing. That was a pity! The decor is a bit tired and the furniture a bit bedraggled and old. The dining room is expensive but it's a captive market - too far to be bothered to drive off elsewhere. It's a steep climb back up the path to the main block to get dinner. You could drive it as you can park right outside your hut. Beware that some of the bigger and more prestige cabins are in leafy glades and have no views! It's the view you are paying for. The food was very canteen style - high on fat and carbs. Lovely thick slices of turkey meat but covered in thick glutinous processed salty gravy and very overcooked veg. We had starters and mains and a bottle of water which came to €85 for us two! We didn't have breakfast. We didn't go to the caves at Luray as we felt that there was a long time to queue - when we arrived we were told it was about 20 mins - loads of crowds it was a wet day. The caves cost €54 for two which seems dear? Ah well, we missed them. We loved Shenandoah but probably wouldn't stay again. The wifi is really bad - hardly possible at all, understandably. Glad to ditch my mobile for 48 hrs. We went off and found an amazing Store nearby in Luray - called Peebles. It's all designer stuff v low cost, like TKmax in the UK.
During the night we slept in the v comfy beds - like logs! But awoke in the middle of the night to the sound of a chipmunk grappling with our little bin and running off with a banana skin ! Probably best to keep the door to the balcony shut ? Be aware there is no AC. It was all a great experience, but a one off. I just wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Try 149 for the view
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, General Manager at Skyland, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

Hello

Thanks you for your comments and for the great rating that you provided us !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile

We'd reserved and paid for a 'preferred' room. Arrived after dark and started to unpack then quickly realised that we were in a pretty basic room. Had to pack up and trail all the way back to the office to get moved to the correct room. No apologies were offered and then the same thing happened at big meadows! Renovated rooms are really nice but the others seem very basic and overpriced

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank travellingscoobies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, General Manager at Skyland, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017

Hello

We apologize that you were not provided a preferred room and that our desk staff offered no apologies
We hope that you will return so we can meet/ exceed your expectations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in a renovated room in the "Bushytop" cabins which are about a 10-minute walk from the office and dining room. Really loved the view from the terrace.
Water in the sink was blocked on our arrival but was fixed the next day. Room could be cleaner in my opinion but of course you cannot compare with city hotels. Wifi was not available in the cabin but there was wifi at the office and the dining room with acceptable speed.
Great place for an outdoor experience.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, General Manager at Skyland, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017

Hello RW

Thank you for your comments and we hope that you will visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews