We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Big Meadows Lodge(Shenandoah National Park)
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mimslyn Inn(Luray)(Great Value!)
$125
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,424)
Filter reviews
2,424 results
Traveler rating
1,018
956
300
103
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,018
956
300
103
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roomskyline drivehorseback ridingstony manshenandoah valleypremium roomgift shopceiling fanhiking trailstraditional roombeautiful viewcoffee makerdining hallget awaylive musicblackberry ice creambig meadows
Filter
Updating list...
2,190 - 2,195 of 2,424 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2011

If you enjoy comfort in a rustic style with an incredible view which you can enjoy from your personal balcony then you won't mind paying the extra money to stay at Skyland Resort. A great dining experience and live entertainment in the lounge rounded out our brief stay. Hope to come back again during a more active season.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Within hours of checking in I experienced chest pains bad enough to require immediate medical attention. I'm amazed at the speed with which the staff responded to my needs and the general manager's ability to anticipate the steps necessary to facilitate leaving on such a short notice. He was at my side in less than five minutes, and asked pointed questions so I didn't need to speak or think too much.
In my brief visit I learned that despite spotty cell service I should have no fear of emergencies, and that my family will be in good hands. (I had been concerned that in emergencies we would not have 911 access because of spotty cell service.)
I have never been so pleased with customer service in a hotel, motel, or inn as I was at Skyland Resort. I will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JARSolonVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Skyland resort is a tranquil, rustic, nature lover's paradise. If you are looking for a clean, well maintained place to stay right in the heart of shannadoah national park, this is it. If you are looking for the ritz carton this is not it. The views are spectacular. The staff are fabulous, friendly and very knowledgable. From weather conditions to hiking trails they have you covered. If you want a calm, relaxing trip where you can get back to nature this is it. This is the perfect alternative to camping. Warm showers and comfy beds. Did i mention dog friendly too!?!? My 100lb greater swiss mountain dog can come hike, and be part of the family. They even have the connection for dog hand showers in the tub (you just have to bring the tubing). The food is terrific! You must have the chicken fried steak! Do not expect fancy anything. This is a fabulous lodge!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Nothing tenders the mood, and prompts the past, like a stay at Skyland Lodge. As a visitor over the past twenty years, simplicity, solitude, and the asceticism of wood, stone, and height merge with cozy amenities like fireplaces and friendly greetings to provide a constancy of beauty. Throw in a distant display of lightning streaks, a pastoral view of deer grazing, or a warm southerly breeze while meditating on your room’s balcony -- you’ve found an earthly Elysium. Rustic rooms (and our preference to forego TV) and valley-long views induce the desire to read, write, hike, or merely contemplate with a nice Riesling. Expect a wilderness surprise, and be thankful that commercialization’s usurped by minimalism. Though a bit pricey, and the dining fare this past April did not live up to our previous year’s expectation and hype, the staff remains ever so welcoming and a delight. Come Columbus Day Weekend we’ll be back to bask in the boundless views and beauty to revive a bit of nostalgic bliss. Obviously, we’re bias.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

This is one of two updated, 75 year old smaller historic mountain resorts, and not the Ritz-Carlton or the Greenbrier. I am sorry that other visitors have had such bad experiences at this 'hotel'. The two small resorts are in the middle of one of the most beautiful national parks in the eastern U.S.A. They have recently improved (to near perfection) the 100 mile long park-way and turn-outs serving this national park. One appreciative guest that we met, a truck driver, had driven by the Shenandoah Park entrance hundreds of times on the Interstate but had never stopped. He loved the resort and wanted to return and bring his wife.

We go there annually to rest, hike with the Park Rangers, listen to the evening blue-grass and folk music, enjoy good-value traditional style food, and chat with fellow visitors (often upscale) from the USA and from Europe and Australasia. We realize that other visitors go there for romantic weekends, and want fancier activities (other than horseback-riding and mountain-climbing), as well as white-tablecloth nouvelle cuisine and fine wines. These two resorts try to serve this McMansion crowd, as well as the middle-class. (I don't think they serve much alcohol, except for several excellent wines from Virginia, California, and France, and several beers and a few retro-moonshine style drinks, including a "bear's-kiss" for kids. I think this is because of concerns for driving safety, given the number of deer on and near the roadways in the evening.)

Visitors should remember that they are paying one-third or one-fourth the cost of the Greenbrier, and that mountains are not great places for golf-courses.

From the safety of our car, we saw three bears over two days; and 75 deer.

Room Tip: Ask for upper-level room and remember those below!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymousVVVVVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews