We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awe”
Review of Appalachian Trail

Appalachian Trail
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Garden City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awe”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Very well maintained and you feel incredible knowing your on one of the most unique and inspiring trails

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MTGny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    28
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Take the Ranger Lead Hike”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The NPS offers a Ranger led program that takes you down 2 miles of the A.T. I would highly suggest this tour. If you don't know anything about the trail, you will when you are done. The trail has great history and it very interesting to learn about it. While we only did about 5 miles of the trail in total on the whole trip, the story told by Ranger Woody was great and gave us a wonderful perspective of what people have to do to complete the 2000+ mile journey. As an fyi...many of the Shenandoah NP trails cross the AT.... We were told that the people who hike it end to end love it when they come to Shenandoah....you'll see why!!! Give it a try.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Marked well, and wide for two to walk side by side”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This AT trail is marked well. I saw no bears or snakes on it, to my happiness. I did see bears on skyline drive however.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmomkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Taking it on a day basis picking up and continuing.”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

In May the wildflowers at Thompson in Linden are world class. The rare trillioum the May apples and wild orchids are not to be missed. The trails are well marked and people you meet helpful. At Route 55 and 522 you can walk into town to rejoin civilization or stock up on groceries..

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great hiking”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have walked on the Appalachian Trail many times but never very far. It is so quiet, well marked and beautiful that I would love to go back and walk farther then I have.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gmgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appalachian Trail also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Appalachian Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing