We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hard and fun”

Old Rag Mountain Hike
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome hard and fun”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This is without a doubt, the best day hike in the shenadoahs. Problem is everyone knows it. The scramble is so fun (watch out for angry rattlesnakes in the summer) I try to hike it once a year and I am never disappointed

Helpful?
Thank Campbell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    32
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Icy hike in winter”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We hiked Old Rag on New Year's Eve. Because the trail is rocky, it was particularly icy. Had much better luck on Pass Mountain, where the trail was compacted snow, with no ice.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KLFVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spectacular View”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hike starts with just a basic trail winding through the trees and brush. You start to see the random boulder scattered throughout the landscape. Then you come upon your first real challenge. These boulders are enormous. The trail is marked so you really can't get lost. Upper body strength is needed to manoeuvre some of these trails or at least a helping hand in places. There are many places along the way to stop and reflect or to satisfy your eyes with stunning views of the mountains. Take your time.
We started early in the morning and by the time we arrived at the summit, the morning was clear and beautiful. There are no toilets on the going up of the hike, but coming back there are a few places at which you can stop. The going back down part was quick and jarring on the knees, so take your time and don't let the people trying to be fast that are behind you rush you in any way. Just stand off to the side and let them pass and then continue your journey. It took us roughly 5.5 hours to complete the up and down of the trail. Give yourself at least 7 hours to make the trek. It is well worth it.
Standing at the top of the boulder on the top of the trail when the wind is whipping around your hair, makes for a moment when all care is taken away and the beauty before you is the only matter in the world.
Enjoy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Jared T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapidan, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“By the full moon”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is a very special night and a local hiker leads groups up at night each month when there is a full moon. One side is a gentle slope but on the other side you much do some rock scrambling. Most go up one side and come down the other, assuming you can arrange for your car to be waiting. Views are wonderful and people do this hike all times of year. One friend does it each year on Jan. 1 but in the winter you must be prepared for some ice.

Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The parking lot was at least 1/2 mile from the trail head, but there was plenty of parking spots. There was also 4-5 portapotty on site. We took the circuit hike (which was posted 7.7 miles, 7hrs). We started the hike at 9am, we encountered many different people along the hike. It was nice to follow those that knew where they were going. We took many water and snack breaks before we got to the rock scrambling part. By then, I was exhausted but adrenaline kicked in when you're climbing through and under these giant rocks to get to many spectacular views where you can enjoy lunch. Slimmer backpacks and hiking sticks are recommended. The rock scramble was 30-60 mins, and we stayed at the top for 30 mins to eat and rest. Breathtaking views, definitely worthwhile! Coming down the mountain went by so much faster, and the hike back on the road to the trail head was very long. We finished right around 3 pm, so it's doable for beginner hikers. Make sure you have good hiking shoes with treads. Will definitely go again with a group of friends.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank bluelilmunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Rag Mountain Hike also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Old Rag Mountain Hike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing