We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For nature lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Meadows Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Big Meadows Lodge
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For nature lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

If nature and relaxation are what you value then this is it. It is an old lodge so if you want fancy look elsewhere, but the view is spectacular and the common area is charming full of rocking chairs facing a huge window. We stayed in the lodge and our bath was newly updated. the food is good, service can be spotty at times but the staff is all personable and fun. Lots of deers around and the occasional bear at a distance. Great hiking trails all around.

Room Tip: loved staying in the lodge with the nice bar and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    382
    147
    69
    35
See reviews for
373
479
65
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

I loved staying at Big Meadows Lodge. It was clean, comfortable, and convenient. We upgraded to a superior room. The second floor was nice because we had a balcony. I saw bears right from my balcony. I also enjoyed sitting at Big Meadows (behind the Visitors Center) at dusk and see all the deer. I sat quietly and several deer came fairly close to me (but not too close!).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraRobBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

It's not your modern hotel but it has everything to need. You're here for nature, not to spend time in your room. The atmosphere is awesome... Take hikes, breathe fresh air, search for wildlife. Just enjoy the freedom and the wonderful outdoors and outdoor sounds. The lodge has a wonderful great room with a big fireplace that is wonderful on a chilly day, puzzles and games for children and adults to play with. Taproom in the basement, nice dining room, a camp store and The Wayside for lighter meals. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. We normally tent camp here but always like the change of staying in the lodge or a room in the outbuildings. I think it's a great experience for children... No TV.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S9613RVkarenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
293 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

The term Lodge is a misnomer since most of the accommodations are in out buildings. The units are very rustic, but clean and have all of the basic amenities you need that includes a good basic bathroom with dispensers that contain soap, shampoo, etc.). However, the units are a bit sparse, but this is what one would expect in a park. The lodge itself is very nice, the staff is excellent and well trained. and in the back there is a great view of the valley below. Also, there is a decent American style restaurant that serves local wine and basic American food. Nothing fancy, but good and solid. Overall, it was a good experience, but please don't expect this to be like a hotel.

Room Tip: If you want to be in the lodge rather than an out building, make sure to ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookiebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

The people are friendly. The hikes are easy to steneous and much to see. There are many places to unwind and relax. Our room had a fire place that was just wonderful. The entertainment in the Taproom is fun.

Room Tip: If you want a fireplace you should choose a room that offers one. They supply the wood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had a lovely time at Big Meadows, we arrived very late, at 12.30am and the hotel staff were very helpful. We even stayed longer then we had planned and staff helped us transfer our luggage to a cabin.
Food in the restaurant is very nice and the staff are all very friendly. The trails nearby are fantastic. If you don't mind heights and like a challenge go to bearfence and walk up the blue trail, you are right near the edge so take care, but you get 360 degree views. Amazing

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesville, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

The room was clean and pleasant, though it had some minor maintenance issues which knock the rating down from a 5. It has the feel of a rustic cabin experience, but with all of your necessary basic amenities. The lodge building itself was like some of the lodges we have stayed at in western parks such as Glacier. The setting of the lodge was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shenandoah National Park
9.4 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
23.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Meadows Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Meadows Lodge

Property: Big Meadows Lodge
Address: Mile 51.2, Skyline Dr, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22849
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Shenandoah National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Meadows Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Big Meadows Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Meadows Hotel Shenandoah National Park
Big Meadows Virginia
Big Meadow Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge Virginia
Big Meadows Shenandoah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing