We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Meadows Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Big Meadows Lodge
minneapolis
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I highly recommend this lodge. Our room wasn't fancy, but the location in the wooded mountains with fantastic views just can't be beat. There is a large community room that was great for relaxing. Food in the dining room was very good. If you want to reconnect with nature and relax, this is the place.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a mountain view. That didn't bother us because we didn't spend much t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inthevalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    382
    147
    69
    35
See reviews for
373
479
65
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed in number 110 in the wooden cabins with fireplaces. the room was really cosy, nice lighting and comfortable bed with the fireplace being the highlight. Was a really great experience coming back from hiking all day to dozing in front your own roaring fire. great location as is at mile 50 on the skyline drive so great access to all of the walks.

There are only two areas for improvement. This is specific to our room but the bathroom really smelt of damp, i think the tank in the toilet may have been leaking. Also the food in the main resturant is very average and quite overpriced, but i guess this is what you expect in a national park.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AJMurrells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flesherton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were travelling up the Blue Ridge Parkway with Australian friends and had the good fortune to stay at the Big \meadows lodge. We did not have reservation so did not stay in the main lodge. It was only a short walk to the main building. Our room was quite rustic with few amenities but seemed quite appropriate for its location and the historical nature of the building. The price did not seem unreasonable for the location.The surrounding scenery is spectacular. The offerings on the lodge restaurant are excellent and we all thoroughly enjoyed our various dinners. Bluegrass entertainment was offered in the evening which we loved.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bepate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
107 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Big Meadows Lodge was exactly what we wanted after a week of meetings in DC. Yes, Lodge is old – it’s on the National Historic Register. Some of the rooms date back to the 1940s and are small, they are rustic and some even don’t come with TVs! They are clean and comfortable with great views. We stayed in the lodge and were perfectly happy. It is a wonderful place to relax after a day of hiking and exploring with a beverage (on the wide deck that stretches across the back of the lodge) and watch the sunset.

Wifi is available in the Lodge’s Great Room next to the reception area, and restaurant. It’s a nice space with great views but it gets crowded quickly on rainy or stormy days. The restaurant is fine with a short but adequate menu that should satisfy all but the pickiest of eaters - worked well for us after a day of exploring the park. The downstairs Tap Room was great with live local entertainers every night we were there.

Like others have said if you’re looking for a 5 star experience - Big Meadows Lodge is probably not for you. But if like us you like things simple and rustic, this place is great - comfortable, clean, basic accommodations, with decent food, and good local entertainment that is located in the middle of a National Park with fantastic views - we’ll be back when next in the area.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roadgeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed in the Lodge for one night while on the Skyline Drive. Didn't have a prior reservation and they were busy so we apparently got the last room available. It was very expensive, but we thought it would be a nice experience.
The room was a bit depressing, small and dark and old fashioned, but it was clean enough. Views were average considering the location. But our complaint was that we were woken up through the night by - we think - the generator and water being pumped into the lodge. It kept us awake from about 01.00 am till 05.00 am. Outside of this there was the silence we'd expected. We did advise reception in the morning but she pleaded ignorance that anyone else had this experience. It was very disappointing, by far the most expensive but the worst sleep of 15 places we stayed during our holiday.
The food was good and the staff in the restaurant and tap room were great. The evening entertainment was excellent. The Skyline Drive is stunning but this place is a rip off, would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Big Meadows for two nights and overall great time. The facilities we very clean and everyone is very helpful. There is a lot of wildlife around which adds to the experience making it that much more enjoyable. Great location on Skyline to numerous great hikes. I woukd stay again overall wonderful time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasha9914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surry
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. Was great having two rooms and a livingroom for the 5 of us. Food was good, rooms fun, beds very comfortable. Rocking chair porch was a nice touch. Were able to see two bears!!! Staff great and very friendly. Enjoyed guitar and singing after dinner. Good location down the parkway. We would definately come back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shenandoah National Park
9.4 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
23.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
5.5 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Meadows Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Meadows Lodge

Property: Big Meadows Lodge
Address: Mile 51.2, Skyline Dr, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22849
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Shenandoah National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Meadows Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Big Meadows Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Meadows Hotel Shenandoah National Park
Big Meadows Virginia
Big Meadow Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge Virginia
Big Meadows Shenandoah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing