We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Big Meadows Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Meadows Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Co. Durham
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed July 5, 2008

We stayed one night during our holiday driving the Skyline Drive and Blue Ridge Mountain Trail - we stayed in a deluxe room in the lodge - the room was large, comfortable and with a balcony that looked over a meadow and woods below and beyond down into the valley. Lovely place to watch the sunset and look out for deer in the meadow.

Would recommend anyone to stay at the lodge - just lovely.

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drybourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    398
    158
    77
    39
See reviews for
387
504
66
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Big Meadows for one night, and I believe we had a "Deluxe" room - it was very nice. On their list of room costs the Deluxe was above the Superior, we felt like we had one of the nicer rooms.

The room was very clean, new furniture, a great view (when the mist lifted) and very convenient to the main building. It was such a great stay inside the park.

The restaurant was good - especially after hiking all day, we really enjoyed our time at the taproom though later in the evening. The entertainment was a lot of fun and audience participation was a must.

We actually hiked in from Skyland, the day prior to our stay we dropped off our overnight bag so it would be there when we checked in. No problems with doing that. We were also able to leave the bag at the front desk when we checked out and hiked on to Lewis Mountain cabins. We ended up getting shuttled back later that day to pick our luggage up and head out of the park.

Overall, I think I enjoyed Big Meadows better than Skyland. The whole trip was a great experience though.

  • Liked — Proximity of the rooms to the main building, the balcony and view.
  • Disliked — Shower water pressure.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sensitiveartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finchampstead
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

Arrived and departed in thick fog, which was disappointing, but at least the lodge and the room were really attractive. The room - built all of wood - had a heavy and attractive scent of wood, was spacious and attractive, very smartly presented, and despite the presence of the excellent new TV screen, managed to maintain its traditional air of country dignity. View of woodlands out the back window over the balcony, and deer appeared in the fog the following morning.

The lodge is equally charming. The food isn't that great, but it's OK, and the overall experience is enhanced by the beautiful wooden dining room, and log burning fires.

Drinks in the bar are inexpensive, and the evening is made more charming by the live music. Staff all very obliging and friendly. A great stay - just wish I'd been able to see something from the Skyline Drive!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank Aztec_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2007

There are few places you can stay that are well maintained, comfortable and have resisted being another run of the mill hotel. This lodge is wonderful, it's so pristine and secluded, but in fact just 90 min (or so) from DC. Sure the food isn't the high point of staying here, the views and fresh air are. The rooms look like they were recently redone, and they were clean, nice wood-timber furniture.
Staying so late in the season also was great as there were no crowds, little traffic on Skyline Drive and it was very nice to take day trips
to nearby scenic points. This is a great place and is very reminiscent
of the Asilomar Convention center in California (also a great place to visit).

  • Liked — Views and fresh air
  • Disliked — Food is a bit boring
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drjil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabash, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2007

We did a one night trip to Big Meadows. We originally made reservations for Thursday, Oct 25, but that's when all the rains came. So we called to change to Sunday, Oct 28. No problems with the change. They said we will still have a standard room, but we would be changed from the original room they would have given us. First off, 2 pm on a Sunday, we had a wait just to get on the drive. We didn't expect this on a Sunday. Friday night, perhaps we would expect it. Anyway, we got to Big Meadows at 4 pm and checked in just fine. Staff at the lobby desk are nice and try to be accomodating. So we were to stay in the Blackrock cottage. The room is about 12x12 with a bathroom. There is no tv and no phone. We had our cellphone which picked up service in the main building looking out the windows. Our room was cool, but we turned on the heat and it warmed up to a nice temperature. The shower wasn't much more than a mist. Water pressure isn't strong. They do give you coffee, both regular and decaf in your room. We ate at the lodge and remember the great meals we had here before. Food was only average. One thing I remember from years past was Virginia ham and a cooked apple dish. The food is more like cafeteria food. You don't have any apple dishes on the dinner menu. Our waiter was ok, but we were given the wrong check--a more expensive meal than we ordered. He brought us back the right one. You pay at the door near the lobby desk. We didn't know this until we asked. Later that night we went down to the tap room and ordered 3 drinks. Once again, they gave us the wrong bill, which was about $15 more than our bill and we didn't order food. We are beginning at this point to wonder why they keep giving us bills that are not ours and are more expensive. Ok. Now we go to bed. Fine. At 2:20 am someone came back from the tap room. They slammed their door shut. At this point the people on the other side of us wake up (like us) and they can't get back to sleep. Well, walls are NOT thick. We couldn't hear what they said, but we knew they kept talking until 3 am. We checked out without a problem. However, my husband saw a carafe of coffee in the lobby and decided to fill his cup. It had no signs near it, so he just said to the guy, I guess this is free. The guy turns a sign around and it says coffee $2. Rather expensive for the amount you get. So while the buildings at Big Meadows are the same, things have changed.

  • Liked — Fond memories from my younger days, view from the lodge
  • Disliked — getting the bills for food mixed up, no tv in the room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank letsgonow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2007

My husband & I recently stayed one night at Big Meadows. We stayed in room 109 which was a 2nd floor room with a good view. The room was very nice and was well beyond my expectations. It looked newly remodeled and the beds were comfortable. It had all the amenities of a normal hotel room except it did not have internet . I have no complaints about the room, or anything for that matter.

We ate a wonderful dinner at the lodge, very, very delicious and filling.

Everyone was nice and the atmosphere was very relaxing. I'm sure we'll be back!

  • Liked — The atmosphere
  • Disliked — It was a bit crowded
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank kdenelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2007

My husband and 20-month old daughter met my father and his girlfriend at Big Meadows Lodge for a three-day weekend. We had reserved a main lodge cabin room and were quoted $131 a night back in March when we booked the rooms. We were quite surprised when we were told that the rates are "subject to change" and that the new rate was $167. After complaining, the manager took some of the difference from our bill, but beware that the rates are subject to change- dramatically. The room had two queen sized beds that were very comfortable. The furniture was very new and in good shape. The heaters in the rooms were very noisy but provided warm air. As other reviewers have said, the bathrooms do not have fans, so they get steamy and our bathroom window didn't open. We were happy with the coffee in the rooms and with the fact that the "view room" we had did provide a great view of sunset over the mountains. The leather chair is comfortable. The lodge food is so-so at best for the price- most dinner entrees are about $22, but please order the fried chicken entree for $11. It was the best fried chicken we've ever had, and we're not even fried chicken people. It's much better than the lasagna which is twice the price... and the chicken comes with more food (mashed potatoes, veggies, etc.). The service is on the slow side, but you probably are coming here for the beauty of the park and the beautiful old lodge. With these things in mind, you really won't be disappointed in your trip... and it is nice to stay in the park, even if it is pricey. The air and views are fantastic.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JinBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shenandoah National Park
9.4 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
984 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
47 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
23.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
9.5 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Meadows Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Meadows Lodge

Property: Big Meadows Lodge
Address: Mile 51.2, Skyline Dr, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22849
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Shenandoah National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Meadows Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Big Meadows Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Meadows Hotel Shenandoah National Park
Big Meadows Virginia
Big Meadow Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge Virginia
Big Meadows Shenandoah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing