We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful park, great lodge but old and rustic room”
Review of Big Meadows Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Big Meadows Lodge
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Beautiful park, great lodge but old and rustic room”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Big Meadows Lodge is a beautiful lodge in the middle of the National Park. The game room is relaxing and the dining room is huge and comfortable. We had breakfast and lunch there, it was delicious with a good selection of beer and with creative choices for lunch. For the room it was different. Having young children, we reserved a 2 double-beds room, we end up with a joint 2 rooms with 1 double bed and 2 twins. The configuration of the 2 rooms made it impossible to leave the 2 kids together in 1 room, if we let both bedroom doors open, there's was then a direct access to the outside of the building. Also in the rooms, there's a emergency outside door easy the open for a young kid. The rooms are dark and very rustic with and old carpet and furniture. In one of the bed, we found hair. The good point about this is that you wake up in the morning in the heart of a National Park with deers on your doorstep. There's a great hiking trail few minutes away, Dark Hollow Falls. For the price we paid (76$ prepaid reservation) is was a good deal. Note: the front desk is open 24hrs, no need to worry if you get late in the park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank courcellesqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    383
    149
    70
    36
See reviews for
374
484
65
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rockville, md
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This lodge is just that, a lodge. It is not the Hyatt and should not be reviewed in comparison . In fact, it is not as august as some National Park lodges such as in Yellowstone, but it has much of what anyone might need. The room was not only rustic, but a bit worn, it did have a good air conditioner/heater, a decent bathroom, and a functioning tv. The beds were nice and the room was clean and neat. There was even a nice balcony with a couple of chairs and a table overlooking a field where we saw deer amble. There is also a restaurant and a bar/lounge open with food till around 10pm. The food in the restaurant was good and generous (except for the flatbread with chicken covered in tasteless melted cheese). The service required just a little patience. The tap room / tavern was pleasant and carried a good selection of wine and beer and mixed drinks. Next door is a craft shop where you can pick up some handy pamphlets on trails.

Room Tip: If the weather is to be warm, ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
198 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

First, this is not a review of Big Meadows nor Shenandoah National Park which are both amazing places to visit. This is a review of a Big Meadows Preferred room. The room is only a preferred room because it has AC (which you do not need most of the time), and is expensive for what you get. We booked a preferred room due to concerns about mold and air quality in the standard rooms. The view from our first floor room was not great, since the trees obscure the mountain views. The patio furniture was old and dirty. Beds, okay. Furniture, okay. The bathroom is horrible. The shower would not maintain a constant temperature and was moldy. Super low flow shower heads too. The lodge does not provide bar soap for sustainability reasons, so you may want to bring your own bar soap. These bathroom suffer from moisture problems and must be difficult to maintain and prevent mold. Housekeeping did a nice job cleaning our room. I will not stay in the lodge again. We split our time between the lodge and a primitive campsite at Big Meadows, and, honestly, preferred the camp site. Lot's of people like this lodge; just know what you're in for. Big Meadows is one of the most beautiful and peaceful places in the world and not to be missed.... just skip on the premium (and premium priced) room. Go camping!

Room Tip: Choose a second floor room for unobstructed mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I loved our 3 night stay at Big Meadows. If you like rustic w/some updates, e.g. bathroom, you will too. Being in such a historic place, was just the Best! Friendly atmosphere. Breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: We stayed in the outlying connected rooms. Only drawback.....very thin walls. We were fine with it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliezoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in a twin bedroom in the main lodge for a night. The room is rustic but clean, it has an old style heater, coffee maker, no tv, but the shower is very modern with a low wall. There is a small room for luggage but it's hard to get in as it's quite narrow. The room door has an old-fashioned rim latch that I had trouble with at first, as I've never used one before. Wifi is available in the Great Room next to the reception area, which is just steps away if you stay in the main lodge.

The best part of this room was the view. Not the best view as in the Great Room as there were some trees in front of us, but it is great when you wake up in the morning, open the curtains and see the mountains in front of you. There is a couple of lawn chairs and table in front of each room, and we had our breakfast there. It is a common area but not very busy.

The bed was comfortable. It was cool at night (bring a sweater!) The heater was automatically turned on in the middle of the night and became too hot for us.

We booked through the park's online reservation system and got an early bird discount. There were also other discounts as well.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose the upper level room in the main lodge if you want to have a mountain view. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kutepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed in the newer lodge so we could have a view. Room was clean and adequate, but the setting was fantastic. Lots of deer and a large owl. Some people saw bear but we weren't that fortunate. The view from the restaurant and sitting area in main lodge is fantastic! A little pricey. Seniors, ask for the discount.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeleneDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level Contributor
75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is what I call a lodge - its like a trip back in time but without missing modern amenities. We chose a room in the main building without TV and even the kids did not miss it. The rooms are very old but you will find everything you'll need. WLAN is in the main room. Don't miss the breakfast - it's delicious (I had the hikers breakfast). In the evening you can see deer right in front of your doors.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shenandoah National Park
9.4 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#2 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
23.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
9.5 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Meadows Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Meadows Lodge

Property: Big Meadows Lodge
Address: Mile 51.2, Skyline Dr, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22849
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Shenandoah National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Meadows Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Big Meadows Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Meadows Hotel Shenandoah National Park
Big Meadows Virginia
Big Meadow Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge Virginia
Big Meadows Shenandoah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing