We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy on a wet day”
Review of Big Meadows Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Big Meadows Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Onwards on our tour through Virginia we came across this beautiful place. The main bonus were the log fires and these were lovely, and an extra star for lighting first thing in the morning as well as late into the evening. We could have stayed in the sitting room all day. It was a really great place to read and relax but unfortunately check out was at 1100 so we had to move on.. The room was quiet small but very cosy warm and clean. The views were breathtaking (well would have been if we could have been able to see them!). It was very misty and raining. Nevertheless this was just what we were looking for as a welcome retreat. It was a bit pricey but you generally are paying for location and novelty factor - great choice for evening meal, breakfast was not included but the food overall was very good quality. Staff very welcoming and worth the stay. Skyline Drive is a beautiful driving experience.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank NettieDearmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,146)
There are newer reviews for Big Meadows Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

848 - 854 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed in the Crecent Rock suites at Big Meadow. Room was very nice with fire place nice bath and bed, balcony and cable. If you like hiking you can go wrong, specially, if you are just an average week end hiker as I am.

The morning air was just so crisp and pleasantly cool that I really enjoyed our early morning walks before breakfast in the lodge.

The sun on the afternon hikes was very nice and warning.

Room Tip: Stay in the suites as the old cabins are not really up to current standards and there are no TV in c...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonFScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Big Meadows is a great location. Easy walking, beautiful sunsets and well located along Skyline Drive.

The hotel itself seemed expensive for very basic facilities. We paid over $150 for a room that was clean but essentially spartan. Not very comfortable beds, poor lighting, and a bathroom that was well.....just functional. I'm not sure if the more expensive rooms are much better nor of the price difference. But I wouldn't recommend the bottom of the range!

The Lodge itself was much better, with a big room with comfortable seats. The restaurant is good - not fantastic - and i would say above average prices. They seems terribly short on staff the night we ate there, although the waiter was friendly, and helpful despite being very pressured. The bar is quite nice so all isn't lost.

There are lots of deer around the chalets and not far from big meadow we say several groups of black bears.

I'm not sure if you want to stay on Skyline Drive, if there are better options but this isn't a patch on the Mimslyn Inn in Luray.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonstok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I took a couple of days off mid week to celebrate our life together in an environment of peace and quiet. The air was crisp, deer were everywhere, and the hikes were the perfect antidote to a hectic daily existence. We watched the sun set from our room, and it made for a glorious end to our day. The staff members at the Lodge were perfect - polite, friendly and not pretentious at all. The breakfasts were delicious - even the coffee! We took a drive over to the Luray Caverns on one of the days, and that was mind blowing in itself! Highly recommend that, too! Only thing I might add is that upon entering our room, we were blasted by the smell of bleach, but it was nothing that an open balcony door couldn't resolve. I must say, the rooms - and especially the bathroom - were very clean!!!

Room Tip: I think they're all great, but I think pet owners get cabins instead of rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svetpesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

You're in the middle of a national park, and you pay the location (who is not so exceptional).
We're not sure to want to remain to sleep on the park, and we have not booked in advance (but in the days before we're looking on the web and you had prices starting 130 USD with breakfast).
It was a sunday in the beginning of september, we're not scared to not have availability.
We arrived and we asked the best price: 155 USD without breakfast! As you have free wifi on the lobby, I went to the web and I booked the room at 130 USD with breakfast.
Very not "guest friendly" .
We saw 2 dears close to the buildings.
You pay as a luxurious hotel to sleep in a cheap and old motel! Beds, carpet, bathroom... everything need urgently to be changed!
Restaurant is good, also for dinner and for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guido C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have stayed in several national parks hotels in the past, without a doubt the front of house staff here were the least welcoming, and in one case bordered on rude. Although the same could not be said of the restaurant and bar staff who were always friendly and polite.

We stayed in an original cabin. In other parks when we have stayed in the older type of accommodation we have always enjoyed it, they had the feel of the period, whereas this cabin was ok but felt past its best and in need of some care. Also for unknown reasons one day during our stay the cabin was not made up, no big deal but never happened to us in a park's hotel before.

None of this would stop us staying here again because the main reason we choose any national park accommodation is for the location and proximity to the park - and in this respect Big Meadows is as excellent as the others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Made a last-minute decision to do the Skyline Drive, hike, and spend a weekend there. This lodge was perfect for our purposes. We felt lucky to snatch the last room available, but unfortunately, this was also the least desirable room in the entire lodge (# 23) because it is the only one situated above the kitchen with its very noisy exhaust. The room was clean and simple.
Dinner was excellent (especially the perfectly prepared salmon on corn grits), the bread was served hot, and the Virginia wines good and reasonable.
Service was very friendly and helpful.
Great area for hiking.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room with a view on the FAR side from the kitchen.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpontaneousH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shenandoah National Park
9.4 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
993 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
49 reviews
10.2 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
134 reviews
23.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
9.5 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Meadows Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Meadows Lodge

Address: Mile 51.2, Skyline Dr, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22849
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Shenandoah National Park
Price Range: $156 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Meadows Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Big Meadows Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Meadows Hotel Shenandoah National Park
Big Meadows Virginia
Big Meadow Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge Virginia
Big Meadows Shenandoah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing