We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Weekend”
Review of Big Meadows Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Meadows Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, VA
1 review
“Wedding Weekend”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We recently visited Big Meadows Lodge for a wedding. What a fabulous expereience. The staff was friendly, polite sincere and very accomodating. The attention to the couple getting married and therei guest was great. The staff met everyone's needs and did their best to make the occasion memorable. Awesome views and a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    398
    158
    77
    39
See reviews for
387
504
66
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We were a little unsure of staying at a National Park resort but decided, out of convenience, it was the way to go. We were very surprised that our accommodations were as nice as they were and my fear of smelling old and musty was gone the minute we walked through the door. And what was even more surprising that the room (Rapidan # 105) was, in our opinion, one of the nicer rooms to be in. It overlooked a meadow, but unfortunately any of the rooms to our left was overgrown with small trees. The view from our room allowed us to watch the deer come out of the forest and walk their way up to just below us. The manager, Sharon, went out of her way to accommodate us (we ordered the romantic getaway package and she made sure our wine and cheese was waiting for us when we expected to be there). The meal that we also received with this package was well worth the money. You got to pick anything off the menu (minus alcohol) and we were both extremely pleased with our meals. We would definately return to this resort.

Room Tip: Upper level of Rapidan and any room to the right of Room 105 I feel are the best. The view from any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Expect a rustic experience, minimize your expectations and you will be pleasantly surprised. The entire staff we encountered during our 3 day/2 night stay including the front desk, wait staff, cashier, room steward & gift shop staff were all friendly, efficient and welcoming. This lodge is in the middle of the huge Shenandoah Natl Park, much of it wilderness. We had Blue Ridge room accommodations, which had the most amenities, that is ac, satellite tv and a balcony with a view. There are rooms without these basic, necessary amenities and that would not be acceptable for us. It was clean considering you're out in nature. Noticed the dead flies on the bathroom ceiling, as another reviewer pointed out, but it's a humid summer and there is no exhaust fan so they keep the upper little bathroom window open. The hiking is wonderful and the rangers are so knowledgeable. It is not cheap, but the location can't be beat. We've stayed in Front Royal with more modern accommodations (like a pool, refrigerator, microwave, etc.) but depending on where you plan to hike you could spend almost an hour, one way, traveling on Skyline Drive to get to your milepost. After a full day of hiking, it was usually a quick drive back to the lodge, and once you park the car, you can walk to the lodge dining room and back to the room. The dining room has a wide variety of good, basic "American" style food to satisfy you for 3 days max but if you stayed longer then you might have to venture off the Park for something different.

Room Tip: If summer, you need ac or the bugs will come through the open windows Don't get a room adjoining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CityCoupleLovesParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Shenandoah National Park is a beautiful area to say the least. The Big Meadows Inn was a relaxing spot to stay the weekend. This is a older property and if you are expecting a high end hotel, go somewhere else. I stayed in a small room that had no TV, no air conditioner (It did have a small electric fan),a small bathroom with no hair dryer and small closet area. But it really didn't matter. The room was clean and had a decent bed. You are not here to watch TV or stay in your room. Get outside and enjoy the scenery. The wildlife in the area is worth the price of admission. Bears and deer roaming around the picnic area are very common. The lodge has a restaurant and I found the service and the food was hit and miss, sometimes very good and other times, not so much. Had some drinks in the taproom which were on the expensive side and the food there wasn't as good as the restaurant. They do provide free WI-FI in the main room of the lodge which was very useful to help keep up with what is going on in the real world. There is also a TV room downstairs. Hotel staff I encountered were polite and courteous. Overall, this was a relaxing weekend, hiking and enjoying the wildlife and beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AttalaRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The rooms are overpriced and dirty. We stayed in a "nicer" room but paid $200. The room did have air conditioning and a ceiling fan which was a nice surprise.

The bathroom was dirty, don't look at the ceiing, it will gross you out. The shower/tub was too small. The shower curtain sticks to you when you take a shower. They installed dispenser for shampoo and soap but put it right where you need to stand in the small shower so there was no room left.

The food in the lodge restaurant was overpriced. The service in the main restaurant was good. The waitress we had was very nice. The food was OK but made with poor ingredients. My son had a nice pasta dish. They served white toast as the bread side with the pasta. Not even a nice roll.

The food in the Taproom... UGH UGH. It was gross and overpriced. I had a hamburger. It was 2 high fat patties on a cheap white bun. Cheese cost extra, onions cost extra... The patties were undercooked. The bun under the burger had disintergrated by the time the burger was served. The service was poor.

That being said... The park is beautiful! We saw 6 bears, it was great.

Room Tip: Get the blackberry ice cream. YUM. If are staying at the lodge, eat at the wayside. Food is not m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We spent most of our three days hiking & watching wildlife.
The food was very good. (buckwheat hot cakes)
The room was comfortable for the four of us.
The deer were just below our balcony.
There was a bear cub turning over rocks just 100 ft. away. He was also in the picnic grounds area.

Room Tip: In the Big Top building, you can watch the wildlife from your patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dowagiac, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We had a great time in Shenandoah, and staying at Big Meadows made it possible to cram in lots of hiking. We stayed in Rapidan, which is a basic hotel room with rustic flare. The beds and room were big, and the view was beautiful. We would definitely stay there again, and we are fairly picky. We are a family of four (12 and 9 yr-olds) and we all had plenty of room and lots of fun. Don't go there if you are not into nature or if you expect high-end accommodations.
The Restaurant had excellent food and very nice staff, but the Tap Room downstairs had pretty awful food.
The hiking was spectacular and we even came VERY close to a few bears. The kids loved Bearfence trail because there was rock scrambling and a magnificent 360 view. Dark Hollows was also cool with some waterfall fun at the bottom.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shenandoah National Park
9.4 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
984 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
47 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
23.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
9.5 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Meadows Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Meadows Lodge

Property: Big Meadows Lodge
Address: Mile 51.2, Skyline Dr, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22849
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Shenandoah National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Meadows Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Big Meadows Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Meadows Hotel Shenandoah National Park
Big Meadows Virginia
Big Meadow Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge Virginia
Big Meadows Shenandoah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing