We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regulars go here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lewis Mountain Cabins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lewis Mountain Cabins to your Saves list
Lewis Mountain Cabins
Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park, VA   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Regulars go here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a small campsite. If you choose a campsite on the outer portion; then you have more privacy. Sites 16 and 14 are best, then 15. The AP trail is just behind these sites. When we were there sites 31, 30 side had more noisey campers. We arrived here on a Wed, and picked 16. The center sites are like being in a fishbowl. I would avoid these sites if possible. There is a small expensive camp store, showers for reasonable pay, laundry. It was mostly quite for my side until Friday. Then the weekender's arrived and were not quiet at the 10 pm quiet hr. After mentioning this on my way out; I learned The hosts and rangers want your feedback on noisy campers and need to know which campsites are the noisey ones. When they walk around sometimes the campers become quiet and then later return to making their noise. The idea for the national parks campground is tranquility. The ranger is the one who enforces the quiet hours and needs specifics. They support the idea of sleeping in order to hike over partying all night, but they need to know.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
9 Thank WaterviewSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We (2 adults and a small child) had a one night stay here in early August before moving on to Skyland Resorts, and I wished we could have had another night. Ours was a 2-bedroom cabin with a connecting bathroom.

I agree with the reviewers who described their stay as "high-class camping." How often does camping mean a stay in an historical cabin built with chestnut wood (including the floors), iron-framed mattress beds, electricity, a private bathroom w/showers, and your own front porch and back patio for eating and relaxing in? The water was hot when you turn it on, the towels were thick, and the beds comfortable. Granted the floors could have been swept cleaner, but I came in with a "camping" mentality and just kept my sandals or socks on when I walked around the room. We had a downpour overnight and the cabin sheltered us from the elements. The surrounding woods were beautiful and the air clean. It was so quiet we felt like the only ones here. The scent of the air in the morning was fresh and sweet, and we enjoyed a lovely campfire the night before. Special compliments go to Randll, who checked us in and provided stories and bits of history about the cabins.

The one thing you need to be aware of is that there is no dining service nearby unless you drive several miles to the north or south, or down to the valley - outside the park boundaries. Because I was unprepared for the rain that continued into the morning, starting a fire and cooking breakfast was a particular challenge, but I was determined to cook the eggs I brought. Bringing a propane stove as a backup measure would have made things a lot easier. We'll be more prepared the next time, and -yes, there WILL be a next time!

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabin 1&2 (2 BDRs sharing a connected BTH) which is next to the picnic grounds, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OperaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I had read mixed reviews about Lewis Mountains' cabins and campsite, but I was very pleasantly surprised with what we found!

I was traveling with my parents and we arrived after hours (around 8.30 or so) on a Friday evening. The warden on duty in the camp shop (there's someone available 24 hours a day) was extremely welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed for the night. We stayed in cabin 10; it was clean, well furnished and more comfortable than other National Park accommodation I've stayed in. The warden was very apologetic about the "single" cabin (which contained a fully full-sized bed), and insisted on bringing a camp bed so that I didn't have to sleep on the floor--our usual set-up for 3-man trips!

We stayed for a couple of nights and I would certainly return again--what greater recommendation can there be!

Room Tip: Room 10 is good, if you have a choice, it's a little set-back from the road and has fairy lights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We were here in July 2011 and loved the cabins. We love the making-food-on-the-grill aspect of camping, and like to explore the area for most part. We have been tent campers in the past, but prefer cabins when traveling with parents (like in this case). We stayed in connecting cabins 5-6. Cabins were basic but had all the necessities, clean linens, towels, and other small necessities. The nice steel box on the back, to store food was quite good! the store manager is really really nice and accommodating and loves to tell Bear stories.
You cannot beat the location. You are on skyline drive in a matter of 30 seconds and on the top of the mountain!! It is close to such beautiful sunset points (our favorite-The Point overlook and Hazel mt overlook) for sunset and Big meadows lodge is less than 10 miles for a spectacular sunrise. We even went to Luray caverns which is an hour's drive. You can see a lot of deer and we also saw a bobcat! we did not hike at all, so did not see any bears, but hikers did claim that they saw a few on some of the hikes. Butterflies were also present in surprising numbers and varieties (which made really nice subjects for my dad's newly found love for DSLRs!
We will certainly be back here to stay when visiting Shenandoah!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twofunlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

I just returned from a (1) night stay with my husband and infant daughter--we stayed in cabin 9. Overall, the cabin was better than expected. Inside it has a nice "woodsy" log cabin feel and was pretty clean (yes, there are cobwebs in places and it is a little worn, saw a few large ants but no spiders, mice or anything gross/scary). The bathroom and shower were the best part of it, very clean shower and very hot water for showers was available)--it was nice to have a sink in the bathroom too. The cabin was nice and cool inside, we ended up even having to turn on the radiator for a little bit at night..but then turn it quickly off because it gets pretty hot. There is no fridge or oven, we did nicely (for 1 night) with a small cooler...I can't imagine how you can keep things cooler for much longer though.. and a Coleman propane stove outside. We did not use the bear-box and kept the food in the cabin (off the floor). The bed and bedding were ok, we did bring our own pillows though. The camp store (very close to the cabins) was a nice surprise too, they had everything you could possibly need while camping or "cabining", my husband was happy about the beers for .99 cents; all the prices seemed pretty reasonable though, considering. The staff at the camp store were very kind and helpful too.

Room Tip: 1 and 2 bedroom cabins = same price!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank TabbyCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

I could only find one review on the tent cabin from a few years ago but the description was right-on. Wooden structure on cement floor - two steel bunk beds with mattresses on the inside along with two old wooden chairs and a pot-bellied stove. A cold water spigot, critter proof trash can, bear-box, picnic table and fire pit all outside. There are cold/warm water showers with toilets and sinks available (shower is $1 for five minutes) at the camp store as well as a separate building toilets and sinks in the middle of the campground. We only bought ice and a postcard at the campstore and prices are just a bit higher than outside. Wood was $5 for a small bundle but it was perfectly seasoned and smelled so good. Deer came around in the evening and especially at dawn. Folks checking into the campground after 9pm on Friday night had no campground etiquette with car lights on and loud talking but it didn't seem to scare the large critter I heard snuffling in the woods behind our cabin (never saw it though). Bugs were around early morning to early evening - no biting, just irritating flies and gnats. Attempted the Bearfence Rock Scramble which to me is climbing rocks and quite difficult-perhaps I'll try again in the fall after I pump up a bit. The host, campstore staff and rangers all very friendly but why wouldn't they be when they're surrounded by such beauty. Will probably get a cabin next time just to avoid the bugs and have a private toilet.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Needsumnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

My husband and I rented a cabin at Lewis Cabins in Shenandoah National Park. It is about 2.5 hours from downtown DC. When we got to the park we were greeted by park rangers at the southeast gate entrance. They were friendly and helpful. It was a $15 fee to have a car for up to one week. We drove for a a couple miles up Skyline Drive and made a right towards the Lewis Cabins Campsite. It was an easy check in, and before we knew it we were starting our fire in our own fire pit. Each cabin has it's own outdoor covered patio, bear-proof food cabinet, and table and chairs. you just need to bring/buy firewood charcoal, matches, and cooking utensils (pots, pans, spatula, tongs, aluminum foil, etc).

The cabin was not as rustic as I imagined, but still very charming. There is a small private bath with a stand up shower room, a fairly big closet, and a dresser drawer. The cabin is also heated for cooler fall stays.

In case you do forget something, there is a small souvenir store with some packaged food, snacks, drinks and a few staples.

There are a ton of trails to hike and views to see. We did the waterfall trail about 5 miles north from Lewis Cabins. We then had lunch at the the Skyland Resort.

We only stayed one night, but wished we could have stayed for at least one more. It was so relaxing, quiet, private, and romantic. Since we live in DC, it is very rare to hear crickets and see stars. It was a very enjoyable short trip. We would definitely like to come back, perhaps with a bigger group of friends and enjoy the fire pit together, but we can retreat back to our own private cabins.

Helpful?
4 Thank kristineiscool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shenandoah National Park
7.7 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 8 in Luray
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
5.2 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
6.3 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#3 of 8 in Luray
3.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
17.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
6.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lewis Mountain Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lewis Mountain Cabins

Address: Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park, VA
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Shenandoah National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 32 site campground with laundry and shower facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Lewis Mountain Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lewis Mountain Campground Hotel Shenandoah National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#