We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So !glad we overcame our fear”
Review of Bearfence Mountain

Bearfence Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular scenic area.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So !glad we overcame our fear”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is only 1.2 miles, but a 50 plus years old we found it scary and challenging. Longer than 30 minutes but less than an hour. There is one rock that's about 2 feet wide and right next to a 50 foot fall, with a fairly challenging climb. Wow, we were both glad we did it because the reward was a view that's spectacular. Both directions, east and west had beautiful valleys that went on for miles. About 3500 feet elevation. Need hiking boots but sneakers will suffice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Lovethebeach100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    27
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“easy, although somewhat scary climb with rewarding views”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Along with my sons I have enjoyed this rock scramble for many years. While not an exhausting climb, there are some breathtaking drop offs. As young children my two sons enjoyed it. As adults today it still provides a good time.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TingJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruckersville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Short but challenging; spectacular views.”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My brother and I hike this one pretty frequently. It's very short--I think the sign says an hour and a half, but if we're really booking it we can get it down to 30 minutes. So it's a good one for a morning hike when we have to be at work in the afternoon or something like that. Very convenient.
There's an uphill walk which gets you good and warmed up, then there's a nice stretch of good rock scramble, which is super fun, then a short and easy hike back. All in all, less than two miles, but the rock scramble still keeps it challenging.
Our first Bearfence hike was in early March, and the rock scramble was covered with ice and pretty dangerous...I wouldn't recommend that unless you've done rock scrambles before and are looking for a challenge. However, when the rocks are dry, it's a bit more tame. Easy enough that most children could probably handle it, but I wouldn't recommend bringing the very young ones. You be the judge of your kids' fitness level.
Anyway, I'd recommend this one for sure. Lots of fun, a good challenge and workout, and you don't have to commit to hours of hiking to get some gorgeous views.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank sdecourcey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“great view after the effort!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

There is a portion over rocks that needs to be traversed carefully and when the rocks are dry; but the view at the top is great. Young kids seem to bounce along easily; an older person in decent shape can make it up. Someone who had a hip replacement was not able to make it up. The young hikers seem to find it fairly easy and of course taller people with a longer reach seem to find this easier. There are places where you have to find a spot for your foot, hold on while you find the next spot to place your foot. It is easier to have a person help pull you up in one spot. The top is not a platform, but rather just the natural rock, so no hand rail; but a gorgeous 360 view and sense of accomplishmet. It took us under 2 hrs. for the round trip from the Bearfence mtn parking.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank WaterviewSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, VA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Short Hike Yet Challenging Rock Climbing”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

On our last day at Massanuttten, we wanted to go a quick hike before the long car trip home. We did a quick search on Tripadvisor and stumbled upon Bearfence Mountain. All the reviews are quite accurate. We've gone on several hikes throughout our years visiting the mountains and this is by far the most scenic view you could find. Once to the top, a 360 degree scenic view awaits you. Mind you, you have to climb a few rocks to get there, but it is well worth it. If you hike the trail and come to the rocks, don't stop there. Follow the blue makers over the rocks and keep climbing until you get to the top. You will be glad you did. If you are not sure footed, don't try the hike with the rock scrabbles as they will be too treacherous for you. If you are sure footed, go for it. No hiking experience required. There are times you might have to pull yourself up, but at 53, I didn't have any problems. The 1.2 mike hike took us about 1 - 1.5 hours to complete. Access to the hike located at milepost 57 (if I recall correctly) is through the Skyline Drive.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Phelpsda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bearfence Mountain also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Bearfence Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing