We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Skyland Stables” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Skyland

Skyland
Shenandoah National Park, VA
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Highest altitude in the park.
Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Skyland Stables”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Very enjoyable, easy one-hour ride along a wooded trail. Our guide Dillon ensured we stayed on track.
The horses were all well behaved and knew the trail well.
No opportunity for scenic photography.
Horse stalls were just large enough for the horse to turn/lay down. However, they appeared to need cleaning/fresh bedding.
Didn't see fresh water.
Two of the horses were coughing (allergies?).
One of the horses on our ride was 20 years old. I'm not a horse person so not sure what is considered 'old'.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PMFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    61
    24
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful October Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

First Visit , and I picked the most wonderful day. Weather was perfect. Colors had not peaked however, not as brilliant in color, but was a wonderful peaceful adventure, The drive is approx. 104mi one way. You can stop at the scenic view areas along the drive to take pictures. Also there were some picnic stops along the way just to take in the views and enjoy nature. There is a fee to get in. Do not remember the specifics,but the website list everything.

Great Day in the Mountains........

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Solo200758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
344 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We always pop in for a bite to eat when travelling on the skyland drive . its has improved over the years and I heard they are looking to move the diner to the back of the building to overlook the flat lands over this christmas shutdown

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bvlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Skyland stables”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I am disgusted at the state of the horse stalls here. Clearly not been mucked out for a long time. The staff cheerily dragged the still saddled,ungroomed horses into a foot of solid manure to clearly stand in until the next ride. No pasture to be seen.
I seriously hope some other horse people comment so that this will be remedied. Our guide had just started but the other two should stop lounging around and help these poor beasts.
The poor coughing horse behind me barely made it back from stumbling. It breaks my heart obviously it used to be a decent place judging from former reviews.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
141 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A room with a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Amazing view of the Shenandoah Valley from our room. Rooms are very cute and very clean. Each of us received a little jar of raspberry jam as a welcome gift. Definitely recommend this cute little motel.

Helpful?
Thank Turpy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyland also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Skyland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing