We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a stunning part of the world with amazing wildlife”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Skyline Drive

Skyline Drive
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: 105-mile scenic drive built in the 1930's goes through the entire length of the park.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a stunning part of the world with amazing wildlife”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We spent a day driving through Shenandoah national park which was unreal. We saw a mummy bear and her two cubs playing right next to the road, Deer and birds of prey, just brilliant. It's so easy to get to from Washington DC. If you are near there make time to do it it's just amazing. It is $15 to enter the park for one car.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,530
    360
    66
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful and we saw BEARS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I just came back from driving down Skyline drive, we did the whole drive and absolutely LOVED it!! We saw two bears along the way. It was a beautiful day and we stopped off at several of the lookouts to get out of the car and take some pictures! I absolutely recommend making this trip!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shellb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
218 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Take your time and stop at all the gorgeous overlooks while you're driving. Every season has something different to offer. Sometimes you can see the deer and bears roaming. Just be careful!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PattyG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Skyline Drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We did this as part of a tour and had a hire car. We drove from Washington and it was easy to find however as it was a weekend we had to queue to access the park. We stopped at the first ranger station to use the facilities and purchased a CD to talk us through the skyline drive as we went along. This turned out to be real value for money and gave us so much information along the way. The trees were turning so it was very colourful but we were disappointed with the lack of wide life we saw.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Taz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Saw a cub!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

My bestie and I decided to do Skyline Drive to get to Front Royal. It was very very foggy on some parts of the road. In the middle of the road in the dense fog was a cub!!!! It ran into the woods as soon as it saw us!! I have never been soo scared and in awe at the same time!! Will go back again.

Helpful?
Thank Chrystal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Drive also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Skyline Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing