We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Ridge mountains, Shenandoah River...Life is good there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skyline Drive

Skyline Drive
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: 105-mile scenic drive built in the 1930's goes through the entire length of the park.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blue Ridge mountains, Shenandoah River...Life is good there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great mini-vacation for DC/Baltimore residents. About a 2-3 hour drive and lots to do. Plenty of trails and the park service offers many resources to support options. The drive through the mountain was nicer than we would have imagined it could be in the summer time. Most folks venture out this way in the fall to see the changing of the season and leaves. But summertime was a great visit as well. We saw plenty of wildlife -- deer and bear! Amazing!
There was a one time entrance fee that allowed a week access to the mountain roads.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,257
    281
    54
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Beautiful, inspirational scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our family enjoys the Fall foliage here each year from beginning to end. Each overlook is unique. Big Meadows is especially fun to frolic in and watch all of the wildlife.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leslie_80_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Perfect Fall Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The drive through the mountains is absolutely breathtaking. The sunrise and sunset's here are amazing. I wish we had gotten here a little later to see the leaves change...they make for an incredible vista. During this trip we took part in a ranger guided tour talking about the volcanic history of the area. It was very informative, I had no idea some of these areas existed in the park. We plan on going back again this week to explore more of the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We initially entered Skyline Drive at Thorton Gap and drove to the Northern end. Beautiful views and with the numerous overlooks that allow you to see all of the valley it is worth the drive. The wildlife that roams along the way is also great we saw 3 bears, one which ran in front of us across Skyline. Great trip just allow for extra time in your trip as the speed limit is only 35.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tasha9914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive in the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The drive has so many overlooks to stop at and gaze at the beauty of the mountains. Also along the drive there are several campgrounds, picnic grounds and hikes to enjoy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank wahoohick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Drive also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Skyline Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing