We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breath taking”
Review of Skyline Drive

Skyline Drive
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: 105-mile scenic drive built in the 1930's goes through the entire length of the park.
Williamstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Breath taking”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was our first trip here. We started at the Northern end and went 65 miles south. It was so peaceful and what a view. We walked a few trails(not completely) just to get a feel of it. It was everything we had heard about it. wish we had time to see the entire length. We had deer come right up to the car and walk around at the way station.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,555
    364
    69
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very pretty”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

A pretty ride with some fantastic views. The highlight of the drive was a bear in a tree. Traffic became backed up for quite a way, but it was fantastic to see the bear climb down and walk away. Pack a picnic lunch and enjoy it on one of the many pull overs while you enjoy the view.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ankeny
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“lovely drive”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We took a drive on a portion of Skyline Drive and it was wonderful. We saw a black bear mom with her two cubs right by the road. We also saw deer. This is meant to be a slow drive if you want to enjoy the surroundings. We made some stops for pictures and plan to go back another time. Unfortunately several motor cycles seemed to think it was a speedway for them. So to them - go elsewhere if you find the need to speed around each other.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelprone67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beardsley, MN
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very long, windy drive. Beautiful scenery with plenty of Overlooks for photos. Did have to stop for a bear cub to cross & plenty of deer roaming around

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A nice drive near DC”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was a nice drive through the National Park with lots of stops and overlooks. It is probably one of the nicer drives of the East Coast near a major metropolitan area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Drive also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Skyline Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing